Old 07-24-2007, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
ROTY

Bank: 4,956,132,786.33
Total Points: 5,006,389,336.77
Rep Power: 21474871 shakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legend

Default HAIR HELP!!

ok, I have pretty long natural hair.... and I am frustrated right now as to what to do with it. I am tired of wearing braids.... and i have gone to all tose other websites and gotten some styling advice etc. so, I have twisted it atimes, worn it out in fro, etc. but I am soooo bored with the texture its not even funny.

my lil sis whose natural hair is even longer than mine is finally succumbing to the pressure and is gonna get it relaxed in about 2 weeks. I am tempted but not yet ready for such permanence.

one of my friends has advised me to get it pressed and see how I like it.... so, I might do that. only issue is, I have o idea what pressing entails.

what is pressing?
how long does it last?
what does my hair look like afterwards?
how long can I wear it before it reverts back to the "poof"
are there any chemicals involved?

oya.. someborry, help a sista out...
shakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 79,715,525,776.81
Total Points: 79,715,561,846.81
Rep Power: 21474866 Isi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legend

pressing is using a hot comb to straighten your hair.. if done properly it can last for ~2-3 weeks...you will need to "train" your hair so it stays pressed longer...

you hair will look like it is relaxed, it is a bit high maintainence (but then again that is subjective)

there are no chemicals involved..you just have to be careful who does your hair or they'll burn your hair off..

it costs b/t $45-$60 to get it done (depending on who/where etc).

Starting out, you might need to go every week till your hair is trained, after that, bi-weekly should be fine..

i don't have any relaxer in my hair ( i wear it pressed ) and it looks just fine..

you just have to be careful not to "sweat it out" or it'll poof up fast

(there are things you can do to prevent that)

happy pressing

tweets, sigh!

" you can not do dirt without getting dirty"

Temp Sig:

...Que sera, sera.

Last edited by Isi eri; 07-24-2007 at 09:48 PM..
Isi eri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)

wetin do weave ? u no fit do weave na to rotate btw weave , braids and ur own hair

Old 07-24-2007, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 1,556,243.90
Total Points: 1,557,224.72
Rep Power: 1313414 bree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legend

Originally Posted by Isi eri
pressing is using a hot comb to straighten your hair.. if done properly it can last for ~2-3 weeks...you will need to "train" your hair so it stays pressed longer...

you hair will look like it is relaxed, it is a bit high maintainence (but then again that is subjective)

there are no chemicals involved..you just have to be careful who does your hair or they'll burn your hair off..

Starting out, you might need to go every week till your hair is trained, after that, bi-weekly should be fine..

i don't have any relaxer in my hair ( i wear it pressed ) and it looks just fine..

happy pressing
wow, you're good

--------------------------------------------------
bree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 52.00
Rep Power: 0 2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!

Originally Posted by shakara
ok, I have pretty long natural hair.... and I am frustrated right now as to what to do with it. I am tired of wearing braids.... and i have gone to all tose other websites and gotten some styling advice etc. so, I have twisted it atimes, worn it out in fro, etc. but I am soooo bored with the texture its not even funny.

my lil sis whose natural hair is even longer than mine is finally succumbing to the pressure and is gonna get it relaxed in about 2 weeks. I am tempted but not yet ready for such permanence.

one of my friends has advised me to get it pressed and see how I like it.... so, I might do that. only issue is, I have o idea what pressing entails.

what is pressing?
how long does it last?

Be careful cuz pressing (or using any form of heat) on hair can be just as damaging as perms. Ask any of your friends if they know someone who does a good 'press' job. If you live in the DC area you should go to the Dominican hair salons they do an EXCELLENT job and get your hair as straight as can be (plus they are cheaper than the rest)

And if you want to try a different style..well depending on your hair texture, try B Curly by Aveda. When my hair is wet or has any moisture the curls are much bigger and looser but once it dries up..it goes POOF. B Curly keeps your hair curly all day without the frizz.

Ive been natural for 4 years and will never go back to perms.
Old 07-25-2007, 05:43 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474872 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

Natural hair seems like a lot of work. For someone that sweat a lot like me, it would suck if I have to worry about sweating on my scalp. It's something that I can't control.

My curly hair style is very easy going. It's gets wet if I sweat on my neck but not so obvious once dry, I can sweat on my scalp as I want too without worries.

U have to find a style that doesn't stress u, it helps a lot.

Originally Posted by Isi eri

happy pressing

Old 07-25-2007, 06:29 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

Go to the dominicans, they do fabulous blow drys. But in the summer heat blow dries dont last. I get perms 2x a year, 3x max and i alternate with braids, my curly messy fro, wearing my hair like my avvie ( which was supposed to be straight, but the summer humidity and heat will not allow no matter how much perm i put in), and straight in the winter.
Old 07-25-2007, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
ROTY

Bank: 4,956,132,786.33
Total Points: 5,006,389,336.77
Rep Power: 21474871 shakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legend

@ ISI ERI- thanks ma.. for the explanation. it makes me feel more at ease.. I am trying to convince my sister to try it also instead of a perm....

@NENE- God forbid bad thing. I have tried weave 4 times in my life glued in twice and sewn in twice and I HATE them!!! cannot stand weaves. makes my hair itch like mad ! I wanted to kill myself.... so no weaves.... I would rather do braids...

1bIG &Pynk-- yup yup!! a fried of mine has a dominican hairdresser she recommended and that where i'm going.. imma take my sis there too for whatever she decided to do....

@2biglips- abeg... where can I find the B curly thingy.. sounds interesting and sumn i might wanna try..... how curly does it get ur hair? how long does it last? and WHERE CAN I GET IT?
shakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:06 PM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 52.00
Rep Power: 0 2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!2biglips is a rep whore!

@ ISI ERI- thanks ma.. for the explanation. it makes me feel more at ease.. I am trying to convince my sister to try it also instead of a perm....

@NENE- God forbid bad thing. I have tried weave 4 times in my life glued in twice and sewn in twice and I HATE them!!! cannot stand weaves. makes my hair itch like mad ! I wanted to kill myself.... so no weaves.... I would rather do braids...

1bIG &Pynk-- yup yup!! a fried of mine has a dominican hairdresser she recommended and that where i'm going.. imma take my sis there too for whatever she decided to do....

@2biglips- abeg... where can I find the B curly thingy.. sounds interesting and sumn i might wanna try..... how curly does it get ur hair? how long does it last? and WHERE CAN I GET IT?

It depends on your hair texture..the softer it is the longer it last. and you can find be curly at any aveda store or online at aveda.com
Old 08-08-2007, 03:59 AM   #10 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,300.80

i hope you know that "training your hair to make it last longer" is actually burning the layers and breaking down the shafts of your hair. presses do not usually lasts 2 or three weeks in the heat unless you stay in cold weather,

i love my natural hair, but you might like the burned look and havings your hair not go back to its natural state...

just saying
And what does it mean, to have some bad hair
Is it always the hair, that needs some repairs
Good hair and bad hair, what does all this mean
Is this all just some myths, or something we dream

Please tell us my sistahs, why is Afrikan hair bad
It started from childhood, oh how dreadfully sad
The torture, the heat , the burns, and the jerks
Everythang was tried, to see what would work

Now hair comes in textures, not good bad like grades
Has none?n to do with grades, how we have been played
We want ?good? hair, that?s what Black women say
But Black women have ?good? hair, don?t wish it away

So what my sistahs, does "good" hair really mean
Its hair that is healthy, at its best and its clean
Get ?bad? hair out, of your vocabulary and mind
Cuz its time for a new attitude, that you should define

Black women should define, their ?own? beauty that?s good
And change their ideals, from adults back to their childhood
Caucasian beauty, is not beauty to enshrine
Our lips, hips and skin, are much more defined
Why crave the Caucasian?s standards, that are vastly well known
When our own natural beauty, has vitality and life of its own
lizadora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 04:10 AM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 3,525,575.88
Total Points: 3,547,789.48
Rep Power: 2663350 faseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legendfaseda is a legend

Originally Posted by lizadora
i hope you know that "training your hair to make it last longer" is actually burning the layers and breaking down the shafts of your hair. presses do not usually lasts 2 or three weeks in the heat unless you stay in cold weather,

i love my natural hair, but you might like the burned look and havings your hair not go back to its natural state...

just saying
Lizadora Can i have access to your facebook hair album biko i need inspiration and if i could come to houston to have u do my hair i would.
Old 08-14-2007, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

what is pressing?
how long does it last?

i dont recommend you relax your hair...ever!

Pressing doesnt entail any chemicals, jus straightening out the hair @ v. high temperature
Old 08-15-2007, 01:11 AM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Shakara, I feel your pain. It's like I woke up one day and my hair was whoaaaa!! Anyhow, I usually braid, or I twist, or I do a twist out, or I carry my hair in a puff, or I carry it out like that. Then the whole cycle again. I don't recommend using hot iron. The harsh heat might 'straighten' your naps and it won't be the same again... that's if you care sha. Me, I don't see myself going back to chemicals. A big combination of cheapness and the fact that I can wash my hair whenever I want
Lizadora, me too, I want pictures