Old 07-16-2007, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend
Default Blessed Fr. Tansi Iwene (1st African "Blessed" pending to be a "Saint".

Shot at 2007-07-16

September 1903: A baby boy is born to Tabansi (name meaning "continue to bear evil patiently") of Igboezunu-Aguleri and his wife Ejikwevi of Nteje. This child was given the name Iwene (in full, Iwemmaduegbunam, meaning "let human malice not kill me"). He has three brothers: Ifekwunigwe ("there is strength in numbers"), Obadiegwu (later baptised as Vincent), Ekemezie (Stephen); and a sister: Obianma.

1909: Small Iwene is sent by his parents to the "Christian village" of Aguleri to live in the house of his maternal aunt and uncle (Robert Orekie).

7 January, 1912: Iwene is baptised and given the name Michael.

1913: Michael is taken to Onitsha to begin his primary education at Holy Trinity School.

1919: He obtains First School Leaving Certificate at St. Joseph's School, Aguleri. This certificate makes him eligible to teach.

1920: He begins to teach at Holy Trinity School, Onitsha.

1924: He returns to Aguleri to become the headmaster of St. Joseph's School.

1925: He enters St. Paul's Seminary, Igbariam.

1932: He becomes Procurator at the Training College.

1933-1934: Period of probation at Umulumgbe (Eke).

19 December 1937: He is ordained a Priest by Bishop Charles Heerey in the Holy Trinity Cathedral, Onitsha. His two other companions are: William Obelagu and Joseph Nwanegbo.

1937 - 1939: Father Michael Tansi is assigned to Nnewi as Assistant Priest to Father (later Bishop) John Cross Anyogu.

1939 - 1945: He becomes the pioneer Parish Priest of Dunukofia. He founds pre-matrimonial women centres of St. Anna (those already married in traditional way) and St. Mary (those not yet married).

1945 - 1949: He is transferred to Akpu/Ajalli as Parish Priest.

1949 - 1950: He is assigned to his hometown as Parish Priest.

1950: He begins his monastic journey with a pilgrimage to Rome.

2 July 1950: Accompanied by Archbishop Heerey, he arrives at Leicester, in the Cistercian Monastery of Mount St. Bernard, England.

1950 - 1952: Oblate of the Monastery

1952: Novice

8 July 1953: He takes the simple vows, becoming Brother Cyprian

8 July 1956: He takes the solemn vows.

20 January 1964: He dies at the Royal Infirmary of Leicester.

22 January 1964: Requiem Mass and burial of Brother Cyprian in the cemetery of the Monastery.

20 January 1974: Commemoration of the 10 anniversary of his death. Mass at Holy Trinity Cathedral. Archbishop Francis Arinze begins the spade work on the the possibility of promoting the cause of Tansi's beatification.

20 January 1986: Inauguration of the Onitsha Archdiocesan Tribunal for the Cause of Fr. Tansi by Archbishop Stephen Ezeanya. Request is made for his remains to be brought back to Nigeria.

12 September 1986: His remains are exhumed.

19 September 1986: His remains are flown to Nigeria.

17 October 1986: After a solemn concelebrated Mass, his remains are reinterred at the Priests' cemetery beside Holy Trinity Cathedral Onitsha. First major miracle obtained through Fr. Tansi. A girl with advanced stage of cancer is instantly cured.

5 May 1990: Final public session of the Onitsha Archdiocesan Tribunal for the Cause of Fr. Tansi after a concelebrated Mass at the Holy Trinity Field, Onitsha.

21 May 1990: Archbishop Ezeanya submits the Acts of the Archdiocesan Tribunal for the Cause of Fr. Tansi to the Congregation for the Cause of Saints in Rome. This marks the beginning of the beatification process.

22 March 1998: Pope John Paul II travels to Onitsha to beatify Fr. Cyprian Michael Iwene Tansi.

hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 08:45 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,062,191.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

damn alot of people died when the pope came down. My Prince doc died too or heat exhaustion. it took place at oba right.
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 07-20-2007, 05:31 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 28,985,667.76
Total Points: 29,015,294.98
Rep Power: 21474862 Bende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legend

yay! fingers crossed!

Old 07-21-2007, 04:40 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by fancy
damn alot of people died when the pope came down. My Prince doc died too or heat exhaustion. it took place at oba right.
i dnt remember where it took place. but u kno he came twice tho. one in '85 and then in 1998. i didnt even c him even tho iwas there peeps were running to c him and i jes kukuma stayed where i was under the shade biko. If i wanna c him, TV dey

@TheBendelite yep, hopefully soon sha. dey r still waitin on anoda miracle to seal the deal i believe. its aout time!
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html

Last edited by Nwashigi; 07-21-2007 at 04:42 AM..
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)

the first Nigerian, not the First African

there was St Mulumba of Uganda and one other Saint (cant remember his name anymore)
Old 08-06-2007, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by Boss
the first Nigerian, not the First African

there was St Mulumba of Uganda and one other Saint (cant remember his name anymore)
oh wow! dint kno dat. he was a chief turned xtian? hmm......

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote