Old 07-06-2007, 02:35 AM   #121 (permalink)

Rep Power: 756306 Onyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legend

Originally Posted by Nwashigi
The predominating attitudes and behavior that characterize the functioning of a group or organization.

so u r tellin me dat Igbo culture is dominated by violence? becos u hear a case or two doesnt make it an Igbo culture. we will always have our flaws. so does everyother culture! my beef w. u is branding it an Igbo CULTURE!!! for anything to be deemed a culture, it oughta be accepted by the people in general! violence is nowhere condoned by the Igbos. geez!
Something does not have to be celebrated to be accepted. Just the fact that happens frequently and people turn a blind eye to it means that they are condoning it.

Old 07-06-2007, 02:38 AM   #122 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Onyiiboy
Something does not have to be celebrated to be accepted. Just the fact that happens frequently and people turn a blind eye to it means that they are condoning it.
some pple turn a blind eye to it. d oesnt make it an Igbo thing. prolly ya pple's thing. infact, its an African problem. but u have decided to brand it an Igbo problem. generally men r not allowed to touch the females in Igbo culture. the man is dealt w. whenn dat happens. maybe its not the same w. ya pple. but dnt brand it an Igbo culture. make una check ya pple!
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 02:40 AM   #123 (permalink)

Rep Power: 756306 Onyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legend

why do u think dat violence is in Igbo culture? biko ans. dat.
"Wife beating has become much more severe and frequent with the breakdown of the African socio-cultural system. The social limits on men are often non-existent as the extended family system continues to break down and women become marginalized." - N.Y Times International 1989

Old 07-06-2007, 02:41 AM   #124 (permalink)

some pple turn a blind eye to it. d oesnt make it an Igbo thing. prolly ya pple's thing. infact, its an African problem. but u have decided to brand it an Igbo problem. generally men r not allowed to touch the females in Igbo culture. the man is dealt w. whenn dat happens. maybe its not the same w. ya pple. but dnt brand it an Igbo culture. make una check ya pple!
You know you just contradicted yourself in your first couple of sentences right?

Old 07-06-2007, 02:42 AM   #125 (permalink)

Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

"Wife beating has become much more severe and frequent with the breakdown of the African socio-cultural system. The social limits on men are often non-existent as the extended family system continues to break down and women become marginalized." - N.Y Times International 1989
where in there did dey say na Igbo culture? ya head jes dey shack u sha.
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
Old 07-06-2007, 02:42 AM   #126 (permalink)

You know you just contradicted yourself in your first couple of sentences right?
nope! i kno wat i said. it is a problem in Africa as a whole! but its not an Igbo culture! TWO DIFF THINGS!
Learn simple Igbo
Old 07-06-2007, 02:43 AM   #127 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Bank: 52,144,950,425.78
Total Points: 52,145,759,274.20
Rep Power: 2470000000 mel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legend

Originally Posted by Isi eri
so what part of the igbo culture is responsible for igbo men being violent than other nigerian men?

in case you forgot this is what you said
According to Lord Spiritual Onyiiboy,Spirituality is the problem.
And that also means/includes anything outside CHRISTIANITY..
So,the Yorubas,Urhobos,Hausas and other ethnic groups have less domestic violence issues cos they operate outside "plain christianity and still indulging all traditional customs practised pre-co era.

What a man has,
what he can offer having what he has,
what he can do when he does not have,
and what he can't or won't do with what he has
- defines the man.
.... Mel, inspired by Starlomor
mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 02:47 AM   #128 (permalink)

nope! i kno wat i said. it is a problem in Africa as a whole! but its not an Igbo culture! TWO DIFF THINGS!
So...are we exempted?

Old 07-06-2007, 02:50 AM   #129 (permalink)

Originally Posted by mel
According to Lord Spiritual Onyiiboy,Spirituality is the problem.
And that also means/includes anything outside CHRISTIANITY..
So,the Yorubas,Urhobos,Hausas and other ethnic groups have less domestic violence issues cos they operate outside "plain christianity and still indulging all traditional customs practised pre-co era.
It is not "the" problem, but its is one of the problems. But I mean when you have a religion that is so unnatural, it is bound to make existing problems even bigger.

Old 07-06-2007, 02:59 AM   #130 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Rep Power: 2470000000 mel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legend

So...are we exempted?
We aint exempted don't mean we are worst culprits and by the reason of christianity as u say.
Have u ever considered that morality is an individual thing not necessarily connected to ones spiritual beliefs and/or his/her community?
Okay lemme agree that the other ethnic groups beat their spouses because among other things they operate under the PLAIN CHRISTIANITY?

What a man has,
- defines the man.
Old 07-06-2007, 03:01 AM   #131 (permalink)

It is not "the" problem, but its is one of the problems. But I mean when you have a religion that is so unnatural, it is bound to make existing problems even bigger.
ok. so it is safe to say that YOU Onyiibboy is a wifebeater since
1. u dnt kno how to speak ya friend
2. u have allowed the alien culture take over ya spirituality.
3. not only have dat^^ happened, u have also leberated yasef from christianity on ya baiday.

i pity ya future wife
Learn simple Igbo
Old 07-06-2007, 03:01 AM   #132 (permalink)

Bank: 79,715,525,776.81
Total Points: 79,715,561,846.81
Rep Power: 21474866 Isi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legendIsi eri is a legend

If Igbo men are more violent then other Nigerian men, I would say that some of the causes would include:

1. The lack of accountability for such action that would lead women feeling helpless
2. The extreme loss of cultural values due to Westernization

so let me get this right, westernization is to blame for igbo men being more violent?

why are you back talking? first you said that it was in igbo culture to be violent, now you are claming it is because of westernization...which one is it?

were other tribes not also affected by westernization? how come they are not violent

regarding the first point you mentioned, that is not limited to igbo men, we live in a male dominated world where women across the board feel helpless..so for you to imply that women being treated bladly is exclusive to igbo culture is simply ludicrous...

you are igbo right? is it in your family's culture to beat up on their wives and mothers (Yes or NO answer please thank you)

tweets, sigh!

" you can not do dirt without getting dirty"

Temp Sig:

...Que sera, sera.
Isi eri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 03:02 AM   #133 (permalink)

Learn simple Igbo
Old 07-06-2007, 03:04 AM   #134 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Point of correction sir,NO religion/way of life whatever peeps call it these days,is natural.Theres always a higher realm.

What a man has,
- defines the man.
Old 07-06-2007, 03:05 AM   #135 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Isi eri
so let me get this right, westernization is to blame for igbo men being more violent?

why are you back talking? first you said that it was in igbo culture to be violent, now you are claming it is because of westernization...which one is it?

were other tribes not also affected by westernization? how come they are not violent

regarding the first point you mentioned, that is not limited to igbo men, we live in a male dominated world where women across the board feel helpless..so for you to imply that women being treated bladly is exclusive to igbo culture is simply ludicrous...

you are igbo right? is it in your family's culture to beat up on their wives and mothers (Yes or NO answer please thank you)
i asked him the same thing, em neva respond.
Learn simple Igbo