LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
#526 (permalink) |
it's a tough call to make. basically uv gotta weigh the love and communion of your family and relatives versus standing your ground and having the love of your life... i don't know but an adage in my place says placing yourself between the tongue and the hard pallate is a dangerous position to occupy.
while we're at it, can anyone give me a candid representation of where the osus actually originated from? reading through the thread it's like everybody seems to have their different opinion on their origin?? i've asked my mum and she doesn't seem to know very much of the origin. but she says that the ancestors were used as kind of sacrificial lambs, in that they were used to abate impending doom and things of the like about to befall the village. so they kinda bore the brunt of the curses and whatnot. i guess in the process their lineages must have been cursed as well? i've also heard that these ancestors also had to serve at the gods' shrines. But i still want to understand exactly where said people came from, as in what singled them out to be picked for such practices? were they just like everybody before? and how old is this practice? does it date far far far back or has it just been in the last, say, 100 years? @Rotimi, osus are not cast out from the village, they live in the same village but on a different side than the non-osus. they are also usually separated with some kind of leave that shows them as outcasts. in my language, the leaf is called Aboshi. @Chickram, who/what is alusi? |
#527 (permalink) | |||
alusi = idol gods.
This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper Quote:
Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^ ![]() Rest in peace D4Dude.
|||
#528 (permalink) | |
Crazy Bitch
![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
#529 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: May 2001
so there is OSU among Delta Igbos.
Aka chukwu na ebulum agha. chineke bu onye na azom. Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN Never take someone 4 granted, hold every person to your heart, because u might wake up one day and realize that u have lost a diamond while u were 2 busy collecting stones. |
#530 (permalink) | |
Aka chukwu na ebulum agha. chineke bu onye na azom. Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN Never take someone 4 granted, hold every person to your heart, because u might wake up one day and realize that u have lost a diamond while u were 2 busy collecting stones. |
#531 (permalink) |
so sad. Personally, i don't know what i will do in his situation, but before i start a relationship with an Igbo guy i always ask if he is an OSU, not that it matters to me, but i rather know than not know so that i will make an informed decisions whether to fight my family if they say no to our relationship or just do what they want.
#532 (permalink) | |
Crazy Bitch
![]() Join Date: Jun 2005