Old 06-14-2007, 07:52 PM   #31 (permalink)

Originally Posted by anddar
It's funny how we could talk about caste system and untouchables in India and shake our heads,
but stuff like this goes down in our own country
Each system has its own factor used to discriminate...the indians have castes, the nigerians have tribes/wut not, the haitians have Skin tone...etc
Old 06-14-2007, 07:52 PM   #32 (permalink)

Bank: 666,871.24
Total Points: 688,802.14
Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Damn....20 ppl on this thread...yep, whoever said it was right....plenty pages ahead
Old 06-14-2007, 07:52 PM   #33 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Originally Posted by kulata
Like Akara Osu

Igbo and Yibos sef

Medieval people

Yorubas have their own as well, if I was to bring an Ijebu girl home, some people would talk o
Old 06-14-2007, 07:52 PM   #34 (permalink)

Total Points: 9,667.30
Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
A little background, my cousin moved here as a teenager and met his fiancee after college. Now, he's a medical doctor and they've been dating for freaking 6 years. Everyone knows the girl as per most of my family live in the same town. Wedding suppose be this December na im my family go do Ikwu-aka (introduction) and they found out the girl is an Osu. Okay. Now, some of my family, even the ones in America oh, are telling the guy not to marry the girl. Like Even my cousin don dey listen to them as in "Oh, what about my children? What kind of legacy should I give them if I make them Osu?" I am looking at this guy, he's a freaking Doctor for God's sake No be say the girl na AIDS+ or that she has SS and he's SS or something of that nature. No, she's Osu!! I am losing respect for this guy who is like a brother to me. The girl self no know wetin hit am. E be like say her parents never told her. Damn Some of my family say make e marry, some say "Tufiakwa!! Lai, lai" Me I dey wonder why person wey dey live for America, even if you live for Naija self, go dey worry imself about Osu :frustated Na this kin thing dey keep us backwards. Anyhow, sorry for the rant but I'm so goddamn frustrated that in this day and age, something like this go dey happen to otherwise educated folks :frustated
Your cousin must be on drugs.
Old 06-14-2007, 07:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Allomancer

Bank: 7,641,373.06
Total Points: 7,690,893.18
Rep Power: 3695605 Turums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legend

Originally Posted by Lord Angrizzle
so what exactly is it about it that makes her so terrible as a potential wife?
the drama that comes along with it.

Most of the drama will come from the guy's family, as per, dem no want. His friends prolly couldn't care less. And I know his boss don't give a shit. But if he gets completely disowned and cast out, then he gets cut off from his family. Some people choose their wives over their families, but God forbid she has an accident soon after the wedding and dies, and he's left alone and familyless, then what??? Or worse, he dies before he can have something built up to leave behind for his children. They don't get any of what he would have gotten from his family. And in Igboland, girls don't get squat from their dads (unless they actually right a will), so it's not like they will get anything through their mother's line.

Dude looked into the future, and made his choice. We can rant and rave, but it's his life.

Best Independent Film of the year. Buy the DVD at http://www.nighttofly.com
Turums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:53 PM   #36 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Originally Posted by GodMother
yep my cousin too dumped her ex cos he was a "shopona"..
her dad was advisor to kofi annan and her moms was big shot in the UN...and they said no.."No shopona" in our lineage.

Exactly, not just Igbos
Old 06-14-2007, 07:53 PM   #37 (permalink)

Rep Power: 6377664 Kikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legend

Originally Posted by GodMother
yep my cousin too dumped her ex cos he was a "shopona"..
her dad was advisor to kofi annan and her moms was big shot in the UN...and they said no.."No shopona" in our lineage.
shopona?
Old 06-14-2007, 07:53 PM   #38 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

okay i saw dis interesting article

http://www.kwenu.com/publications/ma...osu_system.htm

Old 06-14-2007, 07:53 PM   #39 (permalink)

Location: land of the Omarichas...........being his Queen and treated as one of a kind
Bank: 116,623,393.90
Total Points: 116,639,927.16
Rep Power: 21474883 Indecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legendIndecent Omaricha is a legend

ok, sharrap pple! moral of the Osu thingy be say......as per d lirru knowledge i have of these things.......an Osu na outcast and their lineage waz dedicated 2 a god. basically any1 married 2 them automatically makes him/herself one 2geda with their kids......

igbo parents are very particular abt it coz of wen u wanna come back 2 ya papa hse as in them no go let u as per say u don belong 2 d village anymore.....

i didn't know peeps still believed in it shaa....but if d dude no wan do again make d chic just carry go.....e go berrra
Y'all better take note
Indecent Omaricha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:54 PM   #40 (permalink)

Rep Power: 6377664 Kikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legend

Yorubas have their own as well, if I was to bring an Ijebu girl home, some people would talk o
what is wrong with ijebu?
Old 06-14-2007, 07:54 PM   #41 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Jaemellah
shopona?

Smallpox god
Old 06-14-2007, 07:55 PM   #42 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

"One very fundamental impression that must be corrected about Osu is the general notion that they are outcast. This is one of the “suicidal” statements that were associated with the system by the missionaries and, to date, many people still refer to them as outcasts. Outcast is someone who has been driven away from home, from friend, or from society. (See Oxford Advanced Learners Dictionary.) The definition is not by any means associated with the osu concept. If they are outcast, then I will draw the conclusion that Catholic priests who have so dedicated their lives to the services of the Church are outcasts; the Levites who were consecrated and separated as Osu Chukwu are also outcasts. Or, do you think otherwise? Words like these have given people very wrong meaning of osu.

The Osu concept is everywhere in Igboland and just about everywhere worldwide. I am pleading to Ndiigbo at home and abroad to correct this impression that has rocked our society. The major problem is whether there is a solution for those people whose forefathers, for fear of slavery, involuntarily assumed the Osu status.

Old 06-14-2007, 07:55 PM   #43 (permalink)

Bank: 492.95
Total Points: 637.75
Rep Power: 76496 GodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legendGodMother is a legend

yes ke...like may shopona strike you...
Originally Posted by Jaemellah
shopona?
WE AIN NO FRIENDS...WE R NOT COOL LIKE THAT..
BUT ,NOW WHAT DO YOU WANT THE GODMOTHER TO DO FOR YOU??

IYA GBOGBO WEN!!!
EYIN ODOMODE WONYIN...ESHORA YIN... MAMA IS IN THE HOUSE......KIDS BEWARE!!
GodMother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:55 PM   #44 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Originally Posted by ND
All these fake Ibo/Igbo/Yibo ppl from the Delta sef *smh*

OSU = Osun state university
So because I am Delta Ibo that means my cousins have to be Delta Ibo?? For all you know, my aunt married a yoruba guy and my cousin is Yoruba and the girl is from Imo State. I'm not saying that's what it is but you don't know... anyhow, Godmother, there is nothing wrong with dating a guy for 6 years. She was young when she met him. She's still in her mid-20's so she can still find a guy to marry but she wants HIM. Me, I no get am. If my cousin come marry non-Osu and God forbid, dem no get pickin nko?? Is that better??? Or if dem go adopt and the pickin na Osu. Ehen Me I don't get this sha. The girl is so devastated and my cousin is so sad, he feels like he is pulling the family apart. And I don't get it, most folks in my family are über-educated AND have lived here for over a decade Hmmm..., na things like this dey kill us for Naija
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 06-14-2007, 07:55 PM   #45 (permalink)

Bank: 262,794,606,378.72
Total Points: 264,335,877,373.34
Rep Power: 3440006 Lord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legend

Smallpox god

are u freal? each disease get its own god?

This space is available for rent