Old 06-03-2007, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 9,918.53
Total Points: 11,563.12
Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend
Default Hey I need a good peppersoup recipe

i'm planning on using assorted meats... goat meat, gizzard, hearts, liver?, and tripe and stuff... my aunty gave us some peppersoup spice but how do you use it? and i need a recipe step by step thanx.
Old 06-03-2007, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

steam the meat, add the peppersoup spice and pepper chikena
there is really not that much that goes into making good peppersoup, especailly if u have the right ingredients
Old 06-03-2007, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 39.60
Rep Power: 73817 daffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legenddaffodil is a legend

Originally Posted by omoge86
i'm planning on using assorted meats... goat meat, gizzard, hearts, liver?, and tripe and stuff... my aunty gave us some peppersoup spice but how do you use it? and i need a recipe step by step thanx.
o.k. ontop of the seasonings (i hope it's that brownish-yellowish mixture) you should have one large onion and salt for taste. me i prefer pepe soup with fish, african chicken, and beef instead of goat. so you just put water in a large pot, add the seasonings and salt and bring to a boil. then add the chopped onions. after the water returns to a boil, then add your strong chicken first. then add the beef. add the fish last because it takes the shortest to cook. if i have time i sometimes fry the beef before adding it
daffodil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mami Wata

Bank: 1,902,669.48
Total Points: 1,979,676.03
Rep Power: 3212561 bettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legend

You can't mess peppersoup up now..

water, chopped onions, i also like to chop up habanero peppers.. add your meats in based on cooking time.. spice to your taste.. add pepper soup spice..

towards the end, add some efirin(nchanwu).. it really brings the flavors together..

~~~~~~~

Jesus take the wheel..

bettybogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 07:17 AM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 10,304.56
Total Points: 11,839.56
Rep Power: 0 tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema

@poster since you said you needed a step by step, but like bettybogus said its vary hard to mess up peper soup.

Main Ingredients
(1) Goat Meat -- 1.0kg (whole leg - makes serving for 10 or more adults)
(2) Onions -- 40g (Two whole bulbs - optional)
(3) Fresh or dry Hot Peppers -- 3g (8 African or Jamaican)
(4) Salt -- (to taste)

Spices:
(5) Black Pepper -- 2mg (2 teaspoons)
(6) Uda -- 1 pod
(7) Uzuza leaves (5 fresh leaves)
(8) Ncheanwu leaves-- (3 or 4 stems)

The Preparation:

Cut the goat meat into small bite-size pieces. It is not necessary to de-bone the meat as you will be cooking everything together and the juices from the bone helps to enhance flavor.

Rinse the meat in clean water. Season it with black pepper and set aside.

Pound the uda and uzuza together in a small mortar using a pestle. This can also be accomplished with a small electric blender.

Repeat the above process with the red peppers (African or Jamaican).

Separate the Nchanwu leaves from the stems. Discard the stalks and wash the leaves in water to remove dirt or clinging garden matter.

Shred the nchanwu leaves into 1/2 to 1/4 in bits. Set aside.

Peel and slice up the onions. Set aside. Traditionally, no onions are added to the pepper soup. Some later day cooks use it. I find that the use of onions does not hurt. The choice is yours.

The Cooking:

Place the seasoned meat in a large cooking pot, add salt and onions. Place on the stove (do not add water), cover and bring to a steam boil under medium heat.

Let the meat cook for about 10 minutes in its own juices.

Stir once and keep covered, but do not let the meat go dry.

Add the ground African peppers. Be careful now! This ingredient is the reason why this dish is called pepper soup. It is highly pepper hot! For hot pepper-intolerant people, substitute more black pepper or use milder variety of fresh red peppers.

Add additional six cups of water. Stir and cook for another 10 minutes.

dd the uda and uzuza ground. Stir some more and continue to cook under high heat. Cook until meat is well done and tender (about 10 minutes more). Add an extra cup of water if necessary. Do not let the soup get too thick.

Just before you take down the pot from the heat, add the shredded nchanwu leaves, cover and turn off the heat. Let stay and keep covered for another 5-10 minutes.

Stir and ladle into serving bowls. There should be enough to make a bowl each for 8-10 adults
tamunobelema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:20 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

English names please
Originally Posted by tamunobelema
@poster since you said you needed a step by step, but like bettybogus said its vary hard to mess up peper soup.

Main Ingredients
(1) Goat Meat -- 1.0kg (whole leg - makes serving for 10 or more adults)
(2) Onions -- 40g (Two whole bulbs - optional)
(3) Fresh or dry Hot Peppers -- 3g (8 African or Jamaican)
(4) Salt -- (to taste)

Spices:
(5) Black Pepper -- 2mg (2 teaspoons)
(6) Uda -- 1 pod
(7) Uzuza leaves (5 fresh leaves)
(8) Ncheanwu
leaves-- (3 or 4 stems)

The Preparation:

Cut the goat meat into small bite-size pieces. It is not necessary to de-bone the meat as you will be cooking everything together and the juices from the bone helps to enhance flavor.

Rinse the meat in clean water. Season it with black pepper and set aside.

Pound the uda and uzuza together in a small mortar using a pestle. This can also be accomplished with a small electric blender.

Repeat the above process with the red peppers (African or Jamaican).

Separate the Nchanwu leaves from the stems. Discard the stalks and wash the leaves in water to remove dirt or clinging garden matter.

Shred the nchanwu leaves into 1/2 to 1/4 in bits. Set aside.

Peel and slice up the onions. Set aside. Traditionally, no onions are added to the pepper soup. Some later day cooks use it. I find that the use of onions does not hurt. The choice is yours.

The Cooking:

Place the seasoned meat in a large cooking pot, add salt and onions. Place on the stove (do not add water), cover and bring to a steam boil under medium heat.

Let the meat cook for about 10 minutes in its own juices.

Stir once and keep covered, but do not let the meat go dry.

Add the ground African peppers. Be careful now! This ingredient is the reason why this dish is called pepper soup. It is highly pepper hot! For hot pepper-intolerant people, substitute more black pepper or use milder variety of fresh red peppers.

Add additional six cups of water. Stir and cook for another 10 minutes.

dd the uda and uzuza ground. Stir some more and continue to cook under high heat. Cook until meat is well done and tender (about 10 minutes more). Add an extra cup of water if necessary. Do not let the soup get too thick.

Just before you take down the pot from the heat, add the shredded nchanwu leaves, cover and turn off the heat. Let stay and keep covered for another 5-10 minutes.

Stir and ladle into serving bowls. There should be enough to make a bowl each for 8-10 adults
Old 06-04-2007, 08:33 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

where can one find this pepper soup spice?
Old 06-04-2007, 09:32 AM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 10,304.56
Total Points: 11,839.56
Rep Power: 0 tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema tamunobelema

you can get pepper soup spice at your local naija/african store.

@ english names
nchanwu is efirin or scent leaves its Basil
uda is iru , its like locust beans, it has a strong smell to it
uzuza
i dont know what that is in english, but you can use utazi if you find it also.

You can cook pepper soup without this 3 things, all these do is lend to the flavor and smell. sometimes when i make pepper soup i dont add them its a matter of prefrence.
tamunobelema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 10:29 AM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

@ english names
uzuza

You can cook pepper soup without this 3 things, all these do is lend to the flavor and smell. sometimes when i make pepper soup i dont add them its a matter of prefrence.
i think we have uda .. is it black seeds in a black bean like pod?
and for peppersoup spice my aunty gave us the whole ones... thanx
Old 06-04-2007, 10:29 AM   #10 (permalink)

@ english names
uzuza

i think we have uda .. is it black seeds in a black bean like pod?
and for peppersoup spice my aunty gave us the whole ones... thanx
Old 06-04-2007, 12:20 PM   #11 (permalink)

thanks you are a doll. You have been repped

@ english names
uzuza

Old 06-04-2007, 01:40 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

@ english names
uzuza

Uda is not iru oh...it is kinda like black pepper, but in a pod...u break it to let the taste and smell enter the peppersoup
Old 06-04-2007, 01:41 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by omoge86
i think we have uda .. is it black seeds in a black bean like pod? and for peppersoup spice my aunty gave us the whole ones... thanx
yup
Old 06-04-2007, 08:11 PM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Yeah, I think this thing is regional. Different areas use different spices. You ppl's own sounds like meat stock.

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:34 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Clockwatcher
Yeah, I think this thing is regional. Different areas use different spices. You ppl's own sounds like meat stock.

exactly