Old 05-31-2007, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Default Does Igbo really sound like Chinese?

At least 3 people(foreigners) have said this to me, when they've heard me speak it.

I don't hear it
Old 05-31-2007, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 28,985,667.76
Total Points: 29,015,294.98
Rep Power: 21474862 Bende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legend

lmao, Ibibio and Efik sound more like Chinese to me

Old 05-31-2007, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
H.N.I.C

Bank: 65,231,699,426.33
Total Points: 65,231,812,545.67
Rep Power: 21474880 Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat Blaccat

Ave always said it

Dn't respect believes but evaluate reason.

Blaccat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 9,667.30
Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend

I don't think so. If I were to pick a Nigerian language that I would say sounds like Chinese, I would pick Yoruba as they are both highly tonal languages, no other reason, and no insults intended.
Old 05-31-2007, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Scipio Africanus

Bank: 55,494,094.87
Total Points: 55,802,187.12
Rep Power: 8738244 Drake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legend

no.

are these foreigners Asian or White? 'cause White folks can barely differentiate between what they see, much less hear...
Old 05-31-2007, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 28,985,667.76
Total Points: 29,015,294.98
Rep Power: 21474862 Bende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legend

Old 05-31-2007, 12:32 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

White.
Old 05-31-2007, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Scipio Africanus

Rep Power: 8738244 Drake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legend

well that answers your question.

and oh, somebody move this thread to the Cultural Forum please.

mods do your job!
Old 05-31-2007, 12:37 AM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,278,100,513.40
Rep Power: 21474865 djmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legend

djmightymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Scipio Africanus

..and why are you speaking Igbo to White folks? or what do you happen to be doing that they are nearby and hear you speak it?

I only ask because we aren't like the Yorubaa that will speak in their native tongue even if 75% of the ppl around no go understand, as long as 1 person dey wey go speak am
Old 05-31-2007, 12:44 AM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

I don't think so, when u listen to chinese ppl talking u notice that their words and the sound is usually elongated at the end, the last word is usually drawn out, that is not the case with igbo. I don't think it sounds like yoruba either. The closest language i can think of is calabar/akwaibom and all those languages from that region.
Old 05-31-2007, 12:45 AM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 69,220.30
Total Points: 71,621.05
Rep Power: 343969 kalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legendkalabar boi is a legend

*SMH* @ replies. To be ignorant na disease.

Aiming all the way up ... Naija 4 life.
UY CITY KONNECT/ GAINT RECORDS
WWW.MYSPACE.COM/ILLMYK
www.mytruspot.com
www.radiopalmwine.com
www.underdarock.com
kalabar boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:46 AM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 3,081.91
Rep Power: 0 sturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legendsturvs is a legend

i think igbo does have some high tone sounds tho... but those white friends could say the same if they heard any other nigerian language. u know our languages sound like we're singing sometimes.

Sturvs is a nigerian sharing and voting website where users can share music, videos, articles and also promote events and services for FREE.
sturvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:47 AM   #14 (permalink)

Rep Power: 10308491 Efizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legend

maybe sha...cos they both sound like they talking with their nose

Originally Posted by tomapep
At least 3 people(foreigners) have said this to me, when they've heard me speak it.

I don't hear it

Old 05-31-2007, 12:49 AM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Originally Posted by sturvs
i think igbo does have some high tone sounds tho... but those white friends could say the same if they heard any other nigerian language. u know our languages sound like we're singing sometimes.
ehmmmm NOPE...singing ke? have u ever heard an intense convo btw two yoruba ppl?