Old 05-26-2007, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 38,246,978.82
Total Points: 38,290,988.82
Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend
Default So the Igbo "ch" letter has been changed to "c"...

its a bit confusin sha. dey r trynna make spellin berra also by havin us spell exactly how we hear it if not close enuff. so which means "Onitsha" is now spelled as "Onica" again, the "c" is pronunced as "ch".And "Awka" is now "Oka" . i think its weird o. but i think its kinda good. it will jes confuse us a lirru but i doubt pple's names will be changed tho. u kno, like "Cinyere" (chinyere) "Cima" (chima), "Cisom" (chisom). damn! even words like "ecice" (echiche), "cee" (chee) jes to name a few.

so dat was how i saw this igbo word "enyouce" and am like "is dat igbo"? i cudnt pronunce it 4 notin. until it hit me! dat word is actually "enyouche"(imagination) am like damn! its gon take awile tho 4 pple to accept this change.

Igbo pple wat dp y'll think about the NSO(New Standard Orthography)? gud or bad? how does it help us? cos am yet 2 gerrit

Ps. btw why is "sha" in Onitsha change to "c" tho? jes becos the "sh" there is pronunced as "ch" ? dey shudnt have. Igbo is quite complicated sha. i agree.

Last edited by Wendydoks; 05-26-2007 at 03:07 AM..
Old 05-26-2007, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 5,256.70
Total Points: 41,748.40
Rep Power: 352448 smoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legend

Link pls!!!!

WHEN U CAME TO LIFE, U WERE CRYING WHILE OTHERS LAUGHED....LIVE LIFE SO THAT WEN U DO LEAVE, U WILL BE LAUGHING WHILE OTHERS ARE CRYING.....
smoothchyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

Originally Posted by smoothchyc
Link pls!!!!
oh my bad. i got dat from an igbo book. its a new edition igbo book. 1998. is dat old or new?

Old 05-26-2007, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 5,256.70
Total Points: 41,748.40
Rep Power: 352448 smoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legend

U might want to re-check the credibility of the author...It's questionable especially since this kinda news isn't in the air...May I pls have the tile of the book and the author?

Originally Posted by Wendydoks
oh my bad. i got dat from an igbo book. its a new edition igbo book. 1998. is dat old or new?

WHEN U CAME TO LIFE, U WERE CRYING WHILE OTHERS LAUGHED....LIVE LIFE SO THAT WEN U DO LEAVE, U WILL BE LAUGHING WHILE OTHERS ARE CRYING.....
smoothchyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:22 AM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 0.01
Total Points: 1,571.51
Rep Power: 0 sandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legendsandybabe51 is a legend

The author must be smoking on somthing.. Which one is onica? Biko
sandybabe51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:30 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by smoothchyc
U might want to re-check the credibility of the author...It's questionable especially since this kinda news isn't in the air...May I pls have the tile of the book and the author?
yeah i was shocked when i read it. book was published by yale University Press(dnt kno if it matters tho). its actually an Igbo-english dictionary

Author - Micheal J.C. Echeruo

Name of Book - Igbo-English Dictionary with an English-Igbo Index

Copyright 1998 by Yale UNiversity.

also, the "N" letter with the dot on top has been moved from the front of the letter "NW" to the back of the letter "NY". somthing about a berra and resonable alphabetical order.

@sandybabes i kno rite? onica. dat dnt even look rite AT ALL!

Old 05-26-2007, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)

but really, cud there be a good reason 4 the supposedly change? u kno like how the germans pronunce W as Z? so our C is now Ch? also see how the yorubas pronunce there S as sh. but my own be say, isnt it WAAAY too late 4 this change tho?

Old 05-26-2007, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Bank: 52,144,950,425.78
Total Points: 52,145,759,274.20
Rep Power: 2470000000 mel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legend

there is no change...dat dude must have smoked sumtin mixed with shit

again onitsha is pronounced " onicha "

What a man has,
what he can offer having what he has,
what he can do when he does not have,
and what he can't or won't do with what he has
- defines the man.
.... Mel, inspired by Starlomor
mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 6,140.23
Total Points: 7,766.58
Rep Power: 1070741 hugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legendhugobros is a legend

so far,so good...no changes have been made.
hugobros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 07:19 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

In some old prayer book I once saw, Chukwu is Cuku. But that was a long while ago. In Latin, c is pronounced ch. In French, tsh makes the ch sound. If you bear in mind that the British weren't the first in Nigeria, then that spelling makes sense for Onitsha.
But noone, as far as I know, uses Prof. Echeruo's method these days.
Old 05-27-2007, 06:03 AM   #11 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by tomapep
In some old prayer book I once saw, Chukwu is Cuku. But that was a long while ago. In Latin, c is pronounced ch. In French, tsh makes the ch sound. If you bear in mind that the British weren't the first in Nigeria, then that spelling makes sense for Onitsha.
But noone, as far as I know, uses Prof. Echeruo's method these days.
i dint think so. it was jes a suggestion and if the NdiIgbo dont wanna indulge the idea, it will certainly die off. and i doubt we wanna. so yeah, bye idea but nice try

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 08:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
d4dude

this a fat lie from the pit of hell
Old 05-27-2007, 09:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 642.24
Total Points: 483,860.12
Rep Power: 21474889 laco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legendlaco is a legend

drug addicts should be banned from holding a writing device.
Old 05-28-2007, 03:37 AM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by laco
drug addicts should be banned from holding a writing device.
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 11:53 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 6,540.32
Total Points: 6,570.02
Rep Power: 842490 DCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legend

lol @ Onica.. the changes won't take effect...Igbo's love their language so much

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity / to accept the things I cannot change; / courage to change the things I can; / and wisdom to know the difference. / Living one day at a time; / Enjoying one moment at a time; / Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; / Taking, as He did, this sinful world / as it is, not as I would have it; / Trusting that He will make all things right / if I surrender to His Will; / That I may be reasonably happy in this life / and supremely happy with Him / Forever in the next.
Amen.

--Reinhold Niebuhr

Trust in the LORD with all your heart / and lean not on your own / understanding; / in all your ways acknowledge him, / and he will direct your paths.

Proverbs 3, 5-6

Originally posted by ibbey
Possibilities that you will own ur own business in the near future??
Originally posted by *~Aisha~* Anyways yes i'm going to own my own multibillion dollar company in the very near future. Do you want my autograph now?
DCExplorer is offline   Reply With Quote