African Chikito #1
![]() Join Date: Apr 2006
On August 15 2007- a planned "Iwaji", new yam festival will take place in the greater Los Angeles area....
New yam is a festival celebrated in the Igboland to recognize annual fresh havest of yams. This is usually right after the rainy season...Ma extended family back at home celebrate with dance, food, tall tells, night tells, mmawu..etc.I need ideas of what to include in the festivties... can yall help me with some ideas? thanks in advance ![]()
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
depending on if it's an outdoor festival and how big you want the event to be,
food/snacks (the regulars)- isi ewu, nwkobi, ugba, palm wine, suya etc etc entertainment - cultural dance, african market place, live music, have vendors etc, kiddie corners (like kids making their own "african" masks, cutsey things like that) there are really many things you can do esp in LA, you might want to share a little bit of what you have in mind that way people can suggest different things
African Chikito #1
thanks gurl,
I haven't decided yet on making it outdoor or indoor but I was thinking something big done both outdoor and indoor...
i think you should do something outdoors..
it'll be more fun + attract more people (esp if you are looking to make $$ from the event)
#5 (permalink) | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2001
include some oliver decoque, pepper soup. for the kids: a pinata/apple bobbing, fashion parade...
I these helps
The hope of a secure and livable world / lies with disciplined nonconformists who / are dedicated to justice, peace and / brotherhood. Martin Luther King Jr., "Strength to Love" The Serenity Prayer God grant me the serenity / to accept the things I cannot change; / courage to change the things I can; / and wisdom to know the difference. / Living one day at a time; / Enjoying one moment at a time; / Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; / Taking, as He did, this sinful world / as it is, not as I would have it; / Trusting that He will make all things right / if I surrender to His Will; / That I may be reasonably happy in this life / and supremely happy with Him / Forever in the next. Amen. --Reinhold Niebuhr Trust in the LORD with all your heart / and lean not on your own / understanding; / in all your ways acknowledge him, / and he will direct your paths. Proverbs 3, 5-6 Quote:
African Chikito #1
not lukin to make dollars but to establish a cultural celebration.
thank you guys for ya responses @DC- for sure Oliver to dey, Oriental bros go dey, Osadebe go dey and more ![]()
i think you should make it an outdoor event..keep us posted... ![]()
African Chikito #1
no particular LA site has been choosen yet. still in the works
#10 (permalink) | ||
i am not good w. event planning sha. i really suck @ it. sowwie
but plz dnt 4get some igbo high life music o. very important. cope dat mama G's new joint. also ONyeka Onwaenu's "ekwe". u fit add Osuofia sef get some good home movies. infact go and start searchin out classics like IGODO and RATTLE SNAKE 1-3 will def be euntertaining. if u also lucky u fit fetch LIVING IN BONDAGE and TABOO. good conc Igbo movies rite thurre 4 relaxation while sippin on nkwu![]() 4 appetizer, cook "ukwa". might be bad 4 events but its a gud appetizer tho
This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper Quote:
Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^ ![]() Rest in peace D4Dude.
#11 (permalink) |
HuH???????
Osadebe [/QUOTE]On a serious note....Hire me to cook/clean all you want to be eaten on that day...U won't regret it!
To live in the hearts of those who love you is to live forever....You lived your life as Jesus would... I PROMISE to strive to do the same.. LOVE YOU FOREVER MOM....OGECHIKAMMA UGWUEGBULEM ....I now understand what your name truly means.. WHEN U CAME TO LIFE, U WERE CRYING WHILE OTHERS LAUGHED....LIVE LIFE SO THAT WEN U DO LEAVE, U WILL BE LAUGHING WHILE OTHERS ARE CRYING..... Last edited by smoothchyc; 05-25-2007 at 12:32 AM.. |
yep!
To live in the hearts of those who love you is to live forever....You lived your life as Jesus would... I PROMISE to strive to do the same.. LOVE YOU FOREVER MOM....OGECHIKAMMA UGWUEGBULEM ....I now understand what your name truly means.. WHEN U CAME TO LIFE, U WERE CRYING WHILE OTHERS LAUGHED....LIVE LIFE SO THAT WEN U DO LEAVE, U WILL BE LAUGHING WHILE OTHERS ARE CRYING..... |