Old 05-23-2007, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 6,540.32
Total Points: 6,570.02
Rep Power: 842490 DCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legend
Default Linksys Router Wahala

I keep getting this "Can not connect to PPPOE server" each time I try to setup an internet connection. The Linksys wireless router was working perfectly the first time I installed it. My internet connection works well with the cable modem (without the router). I don parambulate inside the settings to make changes...surfed thru sites to resolve the problem. any ideas techies?

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity / to accept the things I cannot change; / courage to change the things I can; / and wisdom to know the difference. / Living one day at a time; / Enjoying one moment at a time; / Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; / Taking, as He did, this sinful world / as it is, not as I would have it; / Trusting that He will make all things right / if I surrender to His Will; / That I may be reasonably happy in this life / and supremely happy with Him / Forever in the next.
Amen.

--Reinhold Niebuhr

Trust in the LORD with all your heart / and lean not on your own / understanding; / in all your ways acknowledge him, / and he will direct your paths.

Proverbs 3, 5-6

Originally posted by ibbey
Possibilities that you will own ur own business in the near future??
Originally posted by *~Aisha~* Anyways yes i'm going to own my own multibillion dollar company in the very near future. Do you want my autograph now?
DCExplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 02:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
que

Old 05-23-2007, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 1.15
Total Points: 1,246,716.24
Rep Power: 21474866 aba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legend

if you dont use pppoe switch to dhcp in your router settings
Old 05-23-2007, 03:12 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 842490 DCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legendDCExplorer is a legend

i try ur idea...d thing yarri. I go improvise sha

Originally Posted by aba made
if you dont use pppoe switch to dhcp in your router settings

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity / to accept the things I cannot change; / courage to change the things I can; / and wisdom to know the difference. / Living one day at a time; / Enjoying one moment at a time; / Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; / Taking, as He did, this sinful world / as it is, not as I would have it; / Trusting that He will make all things right / if I surrender to His Will; / That I may be reasonably happy in this life / and supremely happy with Him / Forever in the next.
Amen.

--Reinhold Niebuhr

Trust in the LORD with all your heart / and lean not on your own / understanding; / in all your ways acknowledge him, / and he will direct your paths.

Proverbs 3, 5-6

Originally posted by *~Aisha~* Anyways yes i'm going to own my own multibillion dollar company in the very near future. Do you want my autograph now?
Old 05-23-2007, 05:54 PM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 807.85
Rep Power: 0 rush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legend

search for that error message, there's people with solutions on the internets.

http://www.last.fm/user/rush3k/
rush3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Bank: 80,870,671,406.80
Total Points: 81,873,241,486.80
Rep Power: 11047517 Anygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legend

Here's your resolution

1. Determine your protocol ...call your cable operator or check your welcome package (without it you will just be wasting your time.

2. Log into your router console (check your router manual)..it should be http://198.0.0.1 (or something like that)...have your userid/password handy
3. Point to the correct protocol ...see step 1
4. Configure WEP keys (optional)...totally up to you.
5. signout of the console
6. Reboot computer
7. Voila! u're connected

Think Blue

"So misunderstood, but what's a world without Anygma"
Anygma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:15 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 2470000000 Arinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legend

PPPoE is usually for DSL connections.
Old 05-29-2007, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
G.Q

Bank: 109,497.05
Total Points: 110,535.52
Rep Power: 311395 G.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legendG.Q is a legend

That's true, but as aba made said, and in my case I gotta use dhcp. It probably depends on the service privider. my router and dsl modem both have internal ip addresses.

Originally Posted by ND
PPPoE is usually for DSL connections.

BISH, there are other sources of protein you know. Get off ma nutz.
G.Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 12:49 AM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,957.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

Who's your isp? What type of dsl modem do you have?( Depending on the modem, you may have to put it in bridge mode...but you did say it was working fine w/ the router b/f...so, guess that's not it)

In addition, have you powercycled your whole setup sequentially( comp off, modem off, router off, 3-5 secs, turn comp. then modem,wait for modem to regain norm. light status, router on)?
Old 06-02-2007, 03:13 AM   #10 (permalink)

na Westell DSL modem i dey use o. i go still dey hussle d shege

The Serenity Prayer

Amen.

--Reinhold Niebuhr

Proverbs 3, 5-6

Old 06-17-2007, 12:33 PM   #11 (permalink)

I got it working...the thing come pafuka again...the patience wey I get dey amaze me sometimes

The Serenity Prayer

Amen.

--Reinhold Niebuhr

Proverbs 3, 5-6