Old 05-02-2007, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 426.71
Total Points: 1,082,039,011.86
Rep Power: 21474916 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Default building an SQL server from scratch abeg help

Hi guys
abeg i have a lil project im working on. i intend to deploy sql server for testing purposes.
Need a simple walkthrough document i can use for reference.
Im going to download the trail product and install on xp and linux. wait o, e be like say u no fit install on xp shebi na windows server 2003 or win2k?

feedback is much appreciated ooo, cos this gives me a £££££ payrise

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,278,100,513.40
Rep Power: 21474865 djmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legend

Both SQL 2K and 2K5 will run on windows with no issues.

A few Gotchas:
The enterprise edition for Full blown SQL 2K will not install on XP. You will have to install the developer edition. I think on 2K3 you can install the enterprise version. I doubt you can host SQL server on a unix/linux box, but i might be wrong.

SQL server is not free. however the free versions (MSDE and SQL 2K5 Express are both free). The database engines are the same in both the free versions and the full enterprise versions. The only difference is that in MSDE, which is the free version of SQL2K, the Physical size limit of the DBase is set at 2GB and there is a governor that restricts the number of concurrent transactions in the threadpool to 10. Once you begin executing more than 10concurrent transactions, Performance suffers.

In SQL 2k5 express, which is again the free version of the full server version, MS increased the size limit to 4GB, and opened up the freeway, thus removing the restriction on the number of concurrent transactions. However the amount of memory you can reserve for use has been limited to 2GB which is really not bad considering it's free .

Refer to the msdn site for how to setup a SQL server or i can walk you thru it live for a 500K vbux . it's a walk in the park.
it can indeed increase your earnings sha, but it can get boring and repetitive too.
djmightymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mami Wata

Bank: 1,902,669.48
Total Points: 1,979,676.03
Rep Power: 3212561 bettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legendbettybogus is a legend

Do you have XP home or Professional?
SQL Server requires Professional.. cos IIS comes standard on Pro..
Anyways.. you can work around this..
Download and install:
SQL Server 2005 Express Edition
&
SQL Server Management Studio Express

It doesn't have the full functionality that SQL server does, but it works just fine for development purposes..

~~~~~~~

Jesus take the wheel..

Last edited by bettybogus; 05-04-2007 at 04:10 AM..
bettybogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

^^yeah i have SQL express on my laptop and it works perfectly.

Old 05-07-2007, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 426.71
Total Points: 1,082,039,011.86
Rep Power: 21474916 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

thx got it

want to work with some sample tables. im not a dba just use it to trigger queries for testing purposes. but i dey set up enviroment too

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote