Old 05-01-2007, 12:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 3,900.00
Rep Power: 4191536 coBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legend
Default Weird stuff on my USB Stick!

okay,
so whats happening here?....

i have a 2 Gigabyte USB stick.

on it I have about 7 directories.
one of these directories shows a capacity of 42 Gigabytes
and the other shows a capacity of 72.5 Gigabytes.

strange innit ?
.....and whats more: i cant delete any of these weird directories. ("source cannot be found" )

one more thing: the properties of my stick show me that the stick has a total capacity of 2 GB, of which 1.5 GB are used up......

some background info:

I was trying to copy some files from my HD onto the stick....
while i was doing this i created 2 sub directories for later use.

then, i marked some files (already on the stick) to be copied into the newly created directories.....

upon opening one of the newly created directories i discovered some 20 - 30 random files and directories already existed inside (with weird hieroglyphics as file/directory names)....

any tips?

I'd appreciate it

-C.

Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.

-confucius
coBra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
uli®

;;

Last edited by uli®; 05-02-2007 at 10:51 AM..
Old 05-02-2007, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by coBra
okay,

strange innit ?
.....and whats more: i cant delete any of these weird directories. ("source cannot be found" )

one more thing: the properties of my stick show me that the stick has a total capacity of 2 GB, of which 1.5 GB are used up......

some background info:

then, i marked some files (already on the stick) to be copied into the newly created directories.....

upon opening one of the newly created directories i discovered some 20 - 30 random files and directories already existed inside (with weird hieroglyphics as file/directory names)....

any tips?

I'd appreciate it

-C.
strange sha...but have u tried formatting the drive....if u cant then thta is even stranger
Old 05-02-2007, 09:12 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,278,100,513.40
Rep Power: 21474865 djmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legend

try Shift + Delete
djmightymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 4191536 coBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legendcoBra is a legend

plugged the stick in on a different system, and all the strange files had mysteriously disappeared....

anyhow i just formatted the shegge, and all seems well.

thanks for the help peeps!

-confucius
Old 05-06-2007, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 807.85
Rep Power: 0 rush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legend

any tips?

I'd appreciate it

-C.
Very cool. Next time, capture the screen, print it, frame it and hang on your wall.

http://www.last.fm/user/rush3k/
rush3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 9,667.30
Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend

okay,

strange innit ?

some background info:

any tips?

I'd appreciate it

-C.
It will happen again, your FAT is bad.
Old 05-12-2007, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 731.48
Total Points: 1,966.48

Next time run
Code:
chkdsk/f
on the disk
Zahymaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 1.15
Total Points: 1,246,716.24
Rep Power: 21474866 aba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legend

your usb drive might have U3. plug it in and try running this: http://www.u3.com/uninstall/files/u3%20uninstall.exe

edit: disregard, just noticed you were able to format it.
Old 05-13-2007, 05:07 AM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 rush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legendrush3k is a legend

Originally Posted by aba made
your usb drive might have U3. plug it in and try running this: http://www.u3.com/uninstall/files/u3%20uninstall.exe

edit: disregard, just noticed you were able to format it.
i hate that U3 stuff. it displaces drive numbers so my gaming files point to the wrong drive when my flash drive is plugged in ... speaking of which, i've run two flash drives to their max read/write capability which is about a million read/write cycles ...

Last edited by rush3k; 05-13-2007 at 05:09 AM..
Old 05-18-2007, 07:37 AM   #11 (permalink)

Okay,
this USB stick is about to drive me nutz!
(its the same one i formatted a while ago)

copied a directory onto the drive from my PC....
only to find out when i plugged the shegge to my notebook (to transfer the data) that the directory was corrupted (can neither be opened nor deleted)....

i tried the whole stuff all over again
this time opened it and checked to make sure it wasnt corrupted from the onset before transfering:
.....the directory and all the files in it were okay....

unplugged,...then went to my notebook to transfer the file...and the same shit all over again.

cant erase or open the stuff. now i have two hideous corrupted files on my stick....

whats causing this crap?.... my PC or the flash drive?
hell, i cant be formatting this stick every other day naw!

seriously, I'm close to chucking this thing in the trash....

abeg rush3K, Mike, Aba made, chxta etc ...got any helpful advice here?

i go appreciate am

-C.

-confucius
Old 05-18-2007, 08:28 AM   #12 (permalink)

Okay,
this USB stick is about to drive me nutz!
(its the same one i formatted a while ago)

copied a directory onto the drive from my PC....
only to find out when i plugged the shegge to my notebook (to transfer the data) that the directory was corrupted (can neither be opened nor deleted)....

i tried the whole stuff all over again
this time opened it and checked to make sure it wasnt corrupted from the onset before transfering:
.....the directory and all the files in it were okay....

unplugged,...then went to my notebook to transfer the file...and the same shit all over again.

cant erase or open the stuff. now i have two hideous corrupted files on my stick....

whats causing this crap?.... my PC or the flash drive?
hell, i cant be formatting this stick every other day naw!

seriously, I'm close to chucking this thing in the trash....

abeg rush3K, Mike, Aba made, chxta etc ...got any helpful advice here?

i go appreciate am

-C.
you're on a windows box, right? before i toss it out, i'll do a "chkdsk flash_drive_letter:" and observe what it spits out .... check here for the switches that can help you fix it up

Old 05-19-2007, 12:46 AM   #13 (permalink)

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by rush3k
you're on a windows box, right? before i toss it out, i'll do a "chkdsk flash_drive_letter:" and observe what it spits out .... check here for the switches that can help you fix it up
rush3k!
u still the man!

chkdsk worked,....

PS: thanx also to chxta + Zahymaka....

i shoulda listened to ya'll from the onset....

cheers

-C.

-confucius