of late when i relax my hair, the thing just no go gree do. i use Dark and Lovely Regular... but i noticed after like a week or so it starts looking like i haven't done it. lately, it's like my hair has become even more stubborn. i relaxed my hair last week monday and it barely responded... by end of the week it was back to natural again
... so i know ur meant to do it like 6 weeks apart or sumthin, but i just had to do it again, so i did it on saturday.... it looked alright for a while, and now today, saturday, exactly a week after, the hair is due again, and i mean REALLY due. should i do it again?![]() lol... i don't know what to do. or maybe i should upgrade to Super? but isn't that supposedly dangerous for the scalp? btw, i initially thought the problem was with where i was buying the relaxer from, maybe it was an imitation, but iv but from 3 different places lately with the same result. |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
i have been in ur shoes for a while....my hair just didn't want to relax at all. I had to use dark and lovely super. Even then sef....some parts weren't fully done. My own is my hair gets seriously frizzy after a week so it looks like i have natural hair or somn.Upgrade to super but make sure you try to protect your scalp.
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
I agree with Hotchoc and when u do retouch( if you're doing it urself) make sure u massage it deeply and and smooth it out with a comb.And don't let it dry like that, apply leave-in-conditioner or something to make it soft even as it dries.I hope that helps.
You should definitely not relax again, over processing will damage your hair and make ivery dry and brittle.
Try switching to a different brand, sometimes hair will become resistant to a certain type of relaxer(my friend always has to switch every few months because her hair stops responding to certain brands). Try African Pride...it's pretty good. Also how do you dry your hair after relaxing? Try a wet roller set. The hair will dry straight and silky and then you can comb the curls out if you don't like curls. Or even a wet wrap set will help it dry straight. This being said, I don't relax my hair myself, I go to the salon, and it lasts 2 months.
Sweetheart
Please yu guys should stop using dark and lovely...try using pink or oliveoil
that is the best relaxer for black people and when you do relax your hair, make sure you let it stay for as long as the instruction entails... and yea I have the best conditioner in the whole world...I'll be back with the name
Hey YESO! Nuttin dey shele, dis na d original certified naija J.Lo gba bee...na nuff RexPect "Primus inter Pares" no shakin! YOU CUD HATE IF YU WANT BUT YOU'RE WASTIN TIME! Lopezino is now a born again...No more bitchassness
![]() Join Date: Nov 2002
Lopez is right, to keep your hair healthy it is suggested to change products every so often, I personally (though not relaxed) change product every 6-8 months, by that time whatever I bought shoulda run out too...lol
Give your hair a one month break and try something new.... |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
it also depends on the kinda style u do sha cos i always do "flat wrap". dats becos i find it easier 2 take care of. so the trick is also to find wat hairstyle u can maintain. ![]() oh btw visit the salon more often. if u cant, try African pride or Motions
Res ipsa loquitur The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them with our own image - otherwise, we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them. Love comes to those who still hope, even though they've been disappointed, to those who still believe, even though they've been betrayed, to those who still love, even though they've been hurt before. |
![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
errrrmmmm.....i wouldnt suggest it....please i take god beg you just fork over the 40 or 50 bucks and go get proffesional help ...biko...
....before you end up bald...![]()
There are three elements to what may be described as a happy life: * a life that is fully utilized (i.e. a life of awareness and purposeful activism), * a life that is dedicated to a higher cause, * and a life that is lived in balance. While you will inevitably gain and lose, everything you lose may be regained, except one thing, time. Dr. Maher Hathout "The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr." Prophet Muhammad(PBUH) |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
![]() my advice to thread starter...have someone do it for u
![]() Join Date: May 2002
I use AT-One Botanicals relaxer and it's pretty good, lopez is right the deep conditioner usually helps a LOT, i'll be back with the name
If my father has stolen, I will... ** Attend the very best school in the world and walk shoulder high (Educational Investment) ** Organize charity fund just like the 'better life For Rural Women' and government officials will contribute more (...talk about the rich getting richer) ** Own properties in choice countries/ locations and drive 'tear rubber' vehicles (property Investment) ** Be the toast of the town where musician will sing praise me (Social well being) ** Owning a jet or airplane wouldn't be an issue (Ease of transportation) ** Streets/avenues will be named after me (grass root investment) ** Arrange prayers for my father in churches and mosques to ward off evil spirit and untimely death (Spiritual upliftment) ** Advice my father to marry more wives and take more chieftaincy tittles across the board (evenly distribution of wealth) ** Donate 'chairs' to tertiary institutions for under privilege children ** Have shares in blue chips companies ** Wouldn't have to struggle in life But my father didn't have the opportunity to steal otherwise I wouldn't be in diaspora searching for the proverbial green pastures. http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/...s-a-thief.html |
#14 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
African pride(super) helped when i had this problem. LOL, i remember my mom taking it so personal, hehehe i love my momma too much. So yes, change your relaxer, and pleaseeeeee stop doing it yourself, get it done professionally. Their flat irons do wonders as well, like Nimotalai said, when it's done properly, it should last really long...ndo.
#15 (permalink) | ||