Old 04-25-2007, 10:05 PM   #121 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by AriChenna
Gov. Peter Odili is from a part of Rivers state that speaks Ukwuani. Does this now make him an Ukwuani man and not a 'Rivers' man?
umm...not a good example. might be supportin Phatom's point but def not ans my ?tion sha.

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:06 PM   #122 (permalink)
*Confirmed Sexist*

Bank: 15,511,645,322.73
Total Points: 15,511,650,822.73
Rep Power: 21474910 dibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legend

...@Wendy telling Phantom to read the thread before posting....of all ppl to make that comment. Abeg, wendy, follow your own advice from time to time.

...i don't get the wahala over this 'Igbo or not Igbo' thing. If someone says they are not Igbo, then I don't consider them Igbo, whether or not they are a lost and misguided splinter group.

- Billy Joe Shaver

www.nighttofly.com - support our naija film makers.
dibia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:07 PM   #123 (permalink)

Bank: 636,471,389.98
Total Points: 1,700,618,762.70
Rep Power: 21474871 Sir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legend

Originally Posted by Clockwatcher
And also, let's not forget that they are some Igbo-speaking groups in Delta State who do consider themselves Igbo however, some other groups do not. The Delta Igbos might consider their ancestry and ethnicity to be Igbo, while the other groups i.e. Ika who also speak an Igbo-like language won't consider themselves Igbo because their ancestry, ethnicity, heritage is not Igbo.

And just because one's ancestry can be traced to a certain tribe doesn't mean that the present day people will consider themselves of that tribe. Take Onitsha ppl for example. They do trace their ancestry to Edo but today, they consider themselves Igbo even though they do acknowledge their ancestry.
Knowledge.

"What is demanded today is Christianity without the system that has been built around it in the West." -Isaac Delano, "One Church for Nigeria"(1945)

Originally Posted by Bubus View Post
I wonder how we will explain NR to our kids.
Sir Koan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:07 PM   #124 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by AriChenna
Disregard my last quote (deleted), I thought it was Wendy I was quoting
and?

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:09 PM   #125 (permalink)

it's like asking a man from Cotonou if he's french because his name is Pierre and he speaks all 5 dialects of french...u dig?
Old 04-25-2007, 10:10 PM   #126 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

not always. certain words may have diff meanings.

and stop usuing this languahe thingie as a base. My /tion is reall, why dont dey consider theirsefs igbo when some of them do? why do those that call theirsefs IGBO do so?
:frustated

My name means apple in Finnish and some kind of fish in Swahili (or a Kenyan langauge) but no one will ever claim that Isoko is similar to Finnish or Swahili.

I said their language IS similar so the meanings will obviously have to be similar.

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:10 PM   #127 (permalink)

And also, let's not forget that they are some Igbo-speaking groups in Delta State who do consider themselves Igbo however, some other groups do not. The Delta Igbos might consider their ancestry and ethnicity to be Igbo, while the other groups i.e. Ika who also speak an Igbo-like language won't consider themselves Igbo because their ancestry, ethnicity, heritage is not Igbo.

And just because one's ancestry can be traced to a certain tribe doesn't mean that the present day people will consider themselves of that tribe. Take Onitsha ppl for example. They do trace their ancestry to Edo but today, they consider themselves Igbo even though they do acknowledge their ancestry.
still isnt ans. my ?tion. quit this rubbish! why dont dey have a certain name 4 theirsefs? @least the Onitsha pple are now bearing "Igbos" not "Edo". so why cant the delta Igbos dat dont consider theirsefs igbo bear some other name?

whenu have pple from same group(Delta Igbo) claiming dey r Igbos and anoda pple from same group claiming dey aint, then theres a prob!

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:12 PM   #128 (permalink)

:frustated

My name means apple in Finnish and some kind of fish in Swahili (or a Kenyan langauge) but no one will ever claim that Isoko is similar to Finnish or Swahili.

I said their language IS similar so the meanings will obviously have to be similar.
worevva! my point still holds. like i said, not "always".

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:13 PM   #129 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dibia
...@Wendy telling Phantom to read the thread before posting....of all ppl to make that comment. Abeg, wendy, follow your own advice from time to time.

i saw dat coming sha but umm..yeah, the point she was making was already hinted. worevva!

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:14 PM   #130 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474871 Sir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legend

still isnt ans. my ?tion. quit this rubbish! why dont dey have a certain name 4 theirsefs? @least the Onitsha pple are now bearing "Igbos" not "Edo". so why cant the delta Igbos dat dont consider theirsefs igbo bear some other name?
A. Maybe they "forgot" their name over time (as igbo began to dominate their language and naming). It happens.

B. Maybe they have a name, but just don't want to tell you

whenu have pple from same group(Delta Igbo) claiming dey r Igbos and anoda pple from same group claiming dey aint, then theres a prob!
Are you sure both sets of ppl (those claiming and those not claiming) are from the same villages/aareas etc? I doubt Delta igbo is one huge monolithic, homogenous bloc.

"What is demanded today is Christianity without the system that has been built around it in the West." -Isaac Delano, "One Church for Nigeria"(1945)

Old 04-25-2007, 10:16 PM   #131 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Arinze has told you time and after time that he's neither Igbo nor Delta-Igbo but is in fact Ukwuani. You are the one who is calling him Delta Igbo.

Arinze, I do get confused with the whole Kwale/Ukwuani/Ndokwa thing sha...

Ndokwa = LGA, Ukwuani = Language, Kwale = people?

Why can't you be creative like Isokos and be:
Isoko = LGA, Isoko = Language, Isoko = people?

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!

Last edited by Clockwatcher; 04-25-2007 at 10:18 PM..
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:20 PM   #132 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Koan
A. Maybe they "forgot" their name over time (as igbo began to dominate their language and naming). It happens.

B. Maybe they have a name, but just don't want to tell you

Are you sure both sets of ppl (those claiming and those not claiming) are from the same villages/aareas etc? I doubt Delta igbo is one huge monolithic, homogenous bloc.
ok. this is some jokebuhahahaaaa.....

well yeah, dey r usually from t he same "bloc". also, read the post by gchild82. he is from same place the other dude was from(Asaba).

do u kno how fraustratin dat ish is? u r from same plz as the other and person A is going "i am an Igbo from Delta" a nd the other is going "i am not Igbo but i am Delta Igbo) same damn place! and u r lookin @ them like ok? which way?

its like askin two siblings if thier parents r home and in unison dey give u conflicting ans.

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:22 PM   #133 (permalink)

Arinze has told you time and after time that he's neither Igbo nor Delta-Igbo but is in fact Ukwuani. You are the one who is calling him Delta Igbo.

Arinze, I do get confused with the whole Kwale/Ukwuani/Ndokwa thing sha...

Ndokwa = LGA, Ukwuani = Language, Kwale = people?

Why can't you be creative like Isokos and be:
Isoko = LGA, Isoko = Language, Isoko = people?

well, why arnt dey an ethnic group? and why r some of dem callin theirsefs igbos? dats the ?tion i want ANSWERED!!!!!

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:23 PM   #134 (permalink)

and plz, Arinze is jes a CONFUSED individual. dont use him to argue no point here biko!

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:25 PM   #135 (permalink)

ok. this is some jokebuhahahaaaa.....

well yeah, dey r usually from t he same "bloc". also, read the post by gchild82. he is from same place the other dude was from(Asaba).

do u kno how fraustratin dat ish is? u r from same plz as the other and person A is going "i am an Igbo from Delta" a nd the other is going "i am not Igbo but i am Delta Igbo) same damn place! and u r lookin @ them like ok? which way?

its like askin two siblings if thier parents r home and in unison dey give u conflicting ans.

Yeah, I can see how that's frustrating.