Old 04-19-2007, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Bekee

Bank: 141,863.54
Total Points: 155,980.09
Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

Unhappy About "Puff-puff"

how come my puff-puffs never come out spongy and..u know.. kinda elastic..the way a true puff-puff shd feel when u bite into it?? I've tried everything...followed steps correctly...but I just aint feelin the puffs I've been makin mennn...

I ate some puffs they served at some event last sunday and I almost wept...they were soooo good ..oh my gosh! spongy..holes inside them..just perfect.

I need help plzzzz....

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Xpensyv_Bodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 01:31 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,973,055.18
Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

lol lol
make sure u use fresh yeast something u bought not over 1month old from store even if u never open da pack. U can tell how da puffpuff will be before frying sef depending on how da dough riseses. milk is cheap, u can use that as part of ya wet ingredients too, might help with taste too. but for ya wahala with da 'puff", its a yeast problem
Old 04-19-2007, 02:28 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 3,908,385.68
Total Points: 3,918,990.72
Rep Power: 3131628 hotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legendhotchoc is a legend

Originally Posted by Odogwu
lol lol
make sure u use fresh yeast something u bought not over 1month old from store even if u never open da pack. U can tell how da puffpuff will be before frying sef depending on how da dough riseses. milk is cheap, u can use that as part of ya wet ingredients too, might help with taste too. but for ya wahala with da 'puff", its a yeast problem
^^what he said!
hotchoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Bekee

Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

Originally Posted by Odogwu
lol lol

*covers face*
kai...but I got packets of yeast at home thats good till nov-08...u mean i can't use them?

gosh..ok..I'll stop at walmart this morning and get some more. I dey use milk too. hm..we shall see. thank u

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 04-19-2007, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

hahhahahahahah ndo

I made some few weeks ago and they were

no worries i go come show u how

Old 05-03-2007, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Bekee

Talking

So I tried again. This time I nailed it...but I found out from a puffpuff professional that if you really wanna get that classic naija puff-puff taste...u gotta leave the milk and egg alone.

Just..

Yeast
Flour
Sugar
Some water

That's it...and I can attest to that! here's my effort

my dough was elastic like whoaahhh

I forgot to take pics of the insides...(to show the holes/sponginess) The whole thing was gone b4 I could turn the stove off

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 05-03-2007, 04:36 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

humm puff puff abi na buns?

nice sha

Old 05-03-2007, 02:39 PM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 2470000000 Arinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legend

Next time use a real camera. One can't really tell if it's puff puff, buns or even akara sef.
Old 05-03-2007, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
CEO Brostonics Inc

Bank: 0.73
Total Points: 3,011.03
Rep Power: 434135 bigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legend

anotehr thing to do is shape it more by scooping it up on the sides of the bowl it forms better
Old 05-03-2007, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Now that you say it, whoever makes puff puff with eggs? Glad that it turned out fine. Hope you got some, yourself.
Old 05-03-2007, 10:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Bekee

Default see hating

Originally Posted by AriChenna
Next time use a real camera. One can't really tell if it's puff puff, buns or even akara sef.

sharap osiso! wetin stop u from buying me camera for easter?

**Tomababy....thank u jare. about the egg..nne I don hear all kins of recipe..everybody wan enrich dem own..ehehe!

**Sophie..na style u carry dey laff my puffs abi? okwa ya?

**ok oo BigM...I go try am again...the tin na anya-anya too much..na water I been dey touch for hand begin grab am..hehehe

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 05-04-2007, 12:58 AM   #12 (permalink)

ahu di oke onu...no worries...i will make some for u later

Old 05-04-2007, 04:27 PM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

Originally Posted by tomapep
Now that you say it, whoever makes puff puff with eggs? Glad that it turned out fine. Hope you got some, yourself.
hmmmm abi oh eggs kwa.....oh well i give mine a touch of cinamon sha. thats jsut unique for me and it works. I get strong nose for yeast so i need to eliminate it small
Old 05-04-2007, 04:28 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bigmomma
anotehr thing to do is shape it more by scooping it up on the sides of the bowl it forms better
i jsut dust my palms with flour. works for me

i need egg roll recipe
Old 05-05-2007, 06:08 AM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1978495 Shylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legend

lmao @ american puffpuff.