Old 04-03-2007, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 38,246,978.82
Total Points: 38,290,988.82
Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend
Default Where Are the Gones and Flutes?(Igbo People)

"As the Nigerian music scene undergoes a major flux, Igbo musicians need to make a musical statement like they have succeeded in Nollywood and other art genres. The same way the "Ulli School" proponents( like Uche Okeke ) revolutionized painting and visual arts in the past, contemporary Igbo musicians need to go back to their roots and dig up some musical heritages that are turning into mere vestiges of the past. We need people who would play around "ogene music" in the studio of their mind to produce a hybrid of Jazz like Fela did to present "Afrobeat" to the world. We need men that will transform the great music of the Mbaise people, called " Egwu Abigbo" into one that is appreciated internationally. We need visionary musicians who would fuse the traditional gongs (ekwe), drums ( ogele) and bass drum (udu) with piano and guitar to produce a hybrid sound that will make the world go red with envy. We need men who would do what Lagbaja did in his geat song "Far Away", by fusing traditional Yoruba musical instruments with Western Orchestra to produce an eclectic sound ( Africano) that enthuses the ear and soothes the heart. Are there no more Igbo men who would blow the "oja" (flute) that rouses the masquerades (nnukwu mmanwu) and tears the atmosphere? Can we not give the world an "oja" tune in place of a clarinet's? Nigeria is in dire need of such men and women who would redefine the music scene by injecting the rich musical heritage of the Igbos into the contemporary "Naija Sounds". Until then, we will keep appreciating the creativity exuded by other tribes in Nigeria who have re-defined contemporary African Music in Naija!
"

http://www.nigeriansinamerica.com/ar...tes/Page1.html

Where?

Old 04-03-2007, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 666,871.24
Total Points: 688,802.14
Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Ok....when I first began reading the article......I thought the mood of the article was that most other tribes are not partaking in the Nigerian music scene.....atleast that was what I thought....but now I realize this is just a shout out to Igbos....oh well.....I guess we must enlist the federal character in the music industry as well......
Old 04-03-2007, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by Rotimi
Ok....when I first began reading the article......I thought the mood of the article was that most other tribes are not partaking in the Nigerian music scene.....atleast that was what I thought....but now I realize this is just a shout out to Igbos....oh well.....I guess we must enlist the federal character in the music industry as well......
u wanna elaborate?

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Federal character is a gesture to have the major tribes represented......check our football.....there's always atleast one Hausa on that field.....regardless if he sucks or not....kinda like Affirmative action....
Old 04-03-2007, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Federal character is a gesture to have the major tribes represented......check our football.....there's always atleast one Hausa on that field.....regardless if he sucks or not....kinda like Affirmative action....
music is a diff thing all togeda. it aint like football neither is it like the movies(Nollywood). its either u have it or u dont! w. Football its a team thing. u cant say dat about Music nor Movies my dear.

besides this article is basicaly about the Igbos neglecting their roots where music is concerned. and the tittle did infact state (Igbo pple). now why will u be assuming dat its a "federal character" based article?

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-03-2007, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

I didn't assume anything......article is tryna urge Igbos to make their music....all well and good..

all i said was a joke.....if Igbos aren't in it....then stipulate that they must be......it's a joke jare.....abeg........buy a sense of humor.....I'm selling them cheap cheap....
Old 04-03-2007, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,973,055.18
Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

its comming back in a big way these Owerri boys are doing great music now.
like da guy that did Ol Skool and his latest Far Back

Tony one Week did his thing too.

in early 2000s Baba Fryo had an ogene remix to denge Pose
Old 04-03-2007, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)

cool. i reall think we shud. will def bring out some tight stuff mehn. theres a reason why dey were there in the 1st place. dey only need to be contemporarized dats all. we shudnt completely abandon dem.

i also apllaud Obiwon 4 his "get 'em off me" joint sha w. the whole "ilu" hook.

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-03-2007, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)

I didn't assume anything......article is tryna urge Igbos to make their music....all well and good..

all i said was a joke.....if Igbos aren't in it....then stipulate that they must be......it's a joke jare.....abeg........buy a sense of humor.....I'm selling them cheap cheap....
article is not urging dem to make music rather introduce our root. thank u very much

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 04-04-2007, 01:46 AM   #10 (permalink)

decipher that however u want to....I wrote it to mean.....input themselves, their language, culture and all else in it......is it just ur eyes or u lacking comprehension....

and anyway.....who's gonna buy it ?.....It sucks

Old 04-04-2007, 01:46 AM   #11 (permalink)

cause I know how u could get....wanting to put on the whole "Armor of Igbo"
Old 04-04-2007, 05:54 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

decipher that however u want to....I wrote it to mean.....input themselves, their language, culture and all else in it......is it just ur eyes or u lacking comprehension....

and anyway.....who's gonna buy it ?.....It sucks

egbe buru gi infact, akiri tapiakwa gi isi

Old 04-04-2007, 07:40 PM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 375.35
Rep Power: 46800 Aziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legendAziri is a legend

i watched this naija movie with saint obi, i think it's called the king's palace or sumthin... the ubo played in the movie was like .... i want an ubo
Aziri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:49 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Obiagely
i watched this naija movie with saint obi, i think it's called the king's palace or sumthin... the ubo played in the movie was like .... i want an ubo
wow! havnt heard dat in a loooooooooong while

Old 04-05-2007, 03:18 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Wendydoks
wow! havnt heard dat in a loooooooooong while

Cause no one else wants one.....Hahahaha.....

and pls, I replied in English, can't we reach an understanding and effectively communicate?.....

don't make me come display Yoruba for you now o......ur eye go pepper u o