Old 03-26-2007, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 23,748.00
Rep Power: 0 addybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legend
Default Cultural Artifacts of Naija

Does Naija have any cultural artifacts that have history behind them? And before anyone says anything, what I meant was buildings, arts and documents such as what UK, Sweden, even Egypt have. The times I have been there I have not seen anything on such caliber, that are worth lots of money or that has traceable history behind it.
Now if you look into the history and buildings of London, you can see castles, as an example, that have been around for centuries, kept updated, they have history that is kept and you can read of people that have lived in it, built on it and such.

If there are such things of importance in Naija, where are they?

A man's steps are directed by the LORD. How then can anyone understand his own way? Proverbs 20:24

Love like there is no tomorrow

and you make someones day happier

You probably wouldn't worry about what people think of you if you could know how seldom they do. by Olin Miler

Few things can help an individual more than to place responsibility on him/her and to let him/her know that you trust him/her. by Booker T. Washington

Man is still a savage to the extent that he has little respect for anything that cannot hurt him. by Edgar Watson Howe
addybaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

I'm not an expert but National Arts Theatre at Iganmu in Lagos, comes to mind. That building is pretty spectacular. Have you actually seen the carvings on the outside of that building....very impressive.

Also the Obas palaces in Benin have been around for centuries. I'm sure there are many more.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 03-26-2007, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 666,871.24
Total Points: 688,802.14
Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Originally Posted by addybaby
Does Naija have any cultural artifacts that have history behind them? And before anyone says anything, what I meant was buildings, arts and documents such as what UK, Sweden, even Egypt have. The times I have been there I have not seen anything on such caliber, that are worth lots of money or that has traceable history behind it.
Now if you look into the history and buildings of London, you can see castles, as an example, that have been around for centuries, kept updated, they have history that is kept and you can read of people that have lived in it, built on it and such.

If there are such things of importance in Naija, where are they?

Just a lil history on the Brits in Nigeria (Bastards they are).......You do know that at the time when the Brits conquered Benin, they sacked them and took numerous artifacts to England.....
Old 03-27-2007, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 23,748.00
Rep Power: 0 addybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legendaddybaby is a legend

Thanks for the places mention, will go there when next in naija. Anymore places?
Britian did many things but what is naija doing to keep its history?

A man's steps are directed by the LORD. How then can anyone understand his own way? Proverbs 20:24

Love like there is no tomorrow

and you make someones day happier

You probably wouldn't worry about what people think of you if you could know how seldom they do. by Olin Miler

Few things can help an individual more than to place responsibility on him/her and to let him/her know that you trust him/her. by Booker T. Washington

Man is still a savage to the extent that he has little respect for anything that cannot hurt him. by Edgar Watson Howe
addybaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 07:51 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Err.....you can't just drop by the Oba's palace in Benin oh. Don't even try it....I love my Bini people but we can be a little fanatical with traditional ways of doing things, and dropping by teh Oba's palace is not exactly kosher.

National theatre is a must see though.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 03-27-2007, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 1,235,795,937.12
Total Points: 1,395,357,992.97
Rep Power: 5791875 harcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legend

They are all at that museum in London. Priceless artifacts that date back to 15something.....
See her eyes like Abaji's ocean. Is there anything so reflective and expressive in the hinterland?
See her lips as luscious as palm kernel.
Dis na original daughter of Wohinghi. They don't make them like this north of Imo river.
harcourtgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Sunbo's Eredo in Ijebu Ode....which took more labor than the great wall of China

All the traditional palaces around the country

The "bronzes" (priceless) from Ile-Ife and Igbo-Ukwu
Old 03-27-2007, 04:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
NR's wine

Bank: 91,902,793.91
Total Points: 170,876,591.61
Rep Power: 21474853 minglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legendminglemoon is a legend

Originally Posted by anddar
Sunbo's Eredo in Ijebu Ode....which took more labor than the great wall of China

All the traditional palaces around the country

The "bronzes" (priceless) from Ile-Ife and Igbo-Ukwu
most of these histotical so called artifacts and excavations have been stolen and sold for money..i visited igbo ukwu 2 yrs back ,saw it in a messy and sorry state.......too much appalling stories told by the curators.......well.as regards history on arts in 9ja...all u can get are stories and pictures to keep u busy--naija's definition for ''fun''
So long as u didnt tottally lose ur breaths,
We can construct friendly sentences using simple future tenses.

..................jes the E-me.
minglemoon is offline   Reply With Quote