Old 03-19-2007, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 756306 Onyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legend
Default Why do Christians attack Astrology when...

It was used over and over again in their very own Bible?

And God said, "Let there be lights in the expanse of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as SIGNS to mark seasons and days and years, and let them be lights in the expanse of the sky to give light on the Earth." And it was so. (Gen. 1:14-15)

And there shall be SIGNS in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the Earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring; Men's hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the Earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken. And then shall they see the Son of man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. (Luke 21:25-27)

Can you bring forth the Mazzaroth (the zodiac) in their seasons or lead out the Bear with its cubs? [an astrological constellation] (Job 38:32)

And of course, one cannot forget:

After Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the time of King Herod, Magi[a] from the east came to Jerusalem 2and asked, "Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star in the east[b] and have come to worship him." (Matthew 2:1-2)

The Magi were astrologers from Persia who read the sky and knew that the messiah had been born. If they were able to use astrology to find out that the Savior had been born 2000 years ago, why is it suddenly bad for us to read the stars today (especially when Christ said that there will be signs in them)?

Old 03-19-2007, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21368018 monblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legend

nobody said u shldnt read d stars
jus dat ppl use it playfully today
for entertainment nd financial reasons

plus
some less educated peeps
think its jazz
esp in naija

Old 03-20-2007, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 756306 Onyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legend

Originally Posted by monblaze
nobody said u shldnt read d stars
jus dat ppl use it playfully today
for entertainment nd financial reasons

plus
some less educated peeps
think its jazz
esp in naija
If that is the case then why is it condemned by so many Christians as being "occult"? And for the record, its not just used primarily for entertainment or financial reasons.

Old 03-21-2007, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 1,283,790.94
Total Points: 1,287,390.95
Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

Onyiiboy, thats not the same as reading the stars to predict your future. The bible is clearly aganist using soothsayers.
BlueBeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 01:33 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BlueBeauty
Onyiiboy, thats not the same as reading the stars to predict your future. The bible is clearly aganist using soothsayers.
So what you are saying is that it was wrong for the Magi to use the stars to predict the coming of Christ? Because that was in fact using astrology to predict the future.

Last edited by Onyiiboy; 03-21-2007 at 01:37 AM..
Old 03-21-2007, 01:42 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

Originally Posted by Onyiiboy
So what you are saying is that it was wrong for the Magi to use the stars to predict the coming of Christ? Because that was in fact using astrology to predict the future.
The Magi were idol worshippers and what good came out of their prediction? Herod used it for bad. I don't see how that equates to its okay.

The devil tempted christ & it was recorded in the bible, it never implied that it was okay.
as the steady beating drums.
Old 03-21-2007, 01:52 AM   #7 (permalink)

The Magi were idol worshippers and what good came out of their prediction? Herod used it for bad. I don't see how that equates to its okay.

The devil tempted christ & it was recorded in the bible, it never implied that it was okay.
Idol Worshippers? Who told you this misinformation?

Old 03-21-2007, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)

Idol Worshippers? Who told you this misinformation?
Simple, they weren't identifed as God worshipers, they came from the east to worship the king of the Jews...
Old 03-21-2007, 02:08 AM   #9 (permalink)

Simple, they weren't identifed as God worshipers, they came from the east to worship the king of the Jews...
1. Do you know where in "the east" they were from and what religion they practiced?

2. How were they able to accurately know when and where the messiah would be born by looking at the stars if Astrology is wrong?

3. Why did Jesus matter to them?

4. If "worshiping the king of the Jews" is idol worship, then doesn't that make you and other Christians idol worshipers as well?

Perhaps you should find the answers to these questions before you declare a group of men you know little about to be "idol worshippers" that were practicing "immoral things".

Old 03-21-2007, 02:26 AM   #10 (permalink)

1. no
2. just means it can be accurate not that it is good to practice or use it. The devil can make you rich don't mean its good.
3. perhaps the birth of all kings matter to them, ever thought of that?
4. Jesus is worshipped as the messiah not the king of the Jews in an earthly sense. As a matter of fact, in that sense he never really became the king of the Jews , hence the reason why Jews today are still looking for their king & messiah.

Never said it was immoral, just that the bible does not support its use. We can even go as far as to say the bible discourages its use. I am never out to judge other peoples practises. Just want to be clear about what the bible does or does not support.
Old 03-21-2007, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)

1. no
2. just means it can be accurate not that it is good to practice or use it. The devil can make you rich don't mean its good.
3. perhaps the birth of all kings matter to them, ever thought of that?
4. Jesus is worshipped as the messiah not the king of the Jews in an earthly sense. As a matter of fact, in that sense he never really became the king of the Jews , hence the reason why Jews today are still looking for their king & messiah.

Never said it was immoral, just that the bible does not support its use. We can even go as far as to say the bible discourages its use. I am never out to judge other peoples practises. Just want to be clear about what the bible does or does not support.
1. Perhaps you should do some homework before making such an incorrect statement

2. Terrible analogy, they were not committing any sin by using astrolgoy (which I already stated was mentioned extensively in the Old Testement and proclaimed by prophets themselves...including Jesus)

3. Also incorrect, and if you knew who they were then you would know why what you said is incorrect

4. Most likely, folks misinterpreted what they meant by "king of the Jews", especially if they didn't know who they really were or what they believed. And for the record, regardless of the reason that you worship Jesus, you are still worshiping him, and that makes you an idol worshiper just like you claimed that they were

5. Where did Jesus say that astrology was bad?

Old 03-21-2007, 03:13 AM   #12 (permalink)

1. maybe so I’ll get on that, and will humbly recant if I need to, but don’t think I’ll need to, being called ‘wise men’ is still not the same as worshippers of the Jewish God. There were so many gods being worshipped back then & kings were worshipped too.
2. I still bed to differ that the form of astrology practiced then is different from what is practiced now. And I don’t mean the kind use to predict the weather or an eclipse.
3. if you say so
4. You are free to call worshiping Jesus, idol worship, muslims do that to. But if you worship Sango worshiping Christ too, doesn’t eliminate the fact that you are an idol worshipper.
5. where did he say it was good? & don’t say Luke 21 cause its irrelevant, it is not saying ‘use the starts to predict the future’. It is pointing out signs of his return everyone will be able to see it not just star readers. When it’s cloudy we all know its about to rain.
It is not meant to predict his return cause he also said no one can predict his return.
Old 03-21-2007, 03:33 AM   #13 (permalink)

1. maybe so I’ll get on that, and will humbly recant if I need to, but don’t think I’ll need to, being called ‘wise men’ is still not the same as worshippers of the Jewish God. There were so many gods being worshipped back then & kings were worshipped too.
2. I still bed to differ that the form of astrology practiced then is different from what is practiced now. And I don’t mean the kind use to predict the weather or an eclipse.
3. if you say so
4. You are free to call worshiping Jesus, idol worship, muslims do that to. But if you worship Sango worshiping Christ too, doesn’t eliminate the fact that you are an idol worshipper.
5. where did he say it was good? & don’t say Luke 21 cause its irrelevant, it is not saying ‘use the starts to predict the future’. It is pointing out signs of his return everyone will be able to see it not just star readers. When it’s cloudy we all know its about to rain.
It is not meant to predict his return cause he also said no one can predict his return.
1. Good, it would be best to learn about them before your next response so that it can be a more constructive conversation
2. Oh really? How much do you know about astrology? You should probably learn more about that before your next response too.
4. Can you show me any place in the Bible that Jesus said to worship him? And who did Jesus worship?
5. Well my sister, last time I checked, signs are meant to be read (which is what Astrology basically is). What interpretation do you have for that particular verse? And for the record, I do know what signs he was speaking of.

Old 03-21-2007, 04:07 AM   #14 (permalink)

1. Good, it would be best to learn about them before your next response so that it can be a more constructive conversation
2. Oh really? How much do you know about astrology? You should probably learn more about that before your next response too.
4. Can you show me any place in the Bible that Jesus said to worship him? And who did Jesus worship?
5. Well my sister, last time I checked, signs are meant to be read (which is what Astrology basically is). What interpretation do you have for that particular verse? And for the record, I do know what signs he was speaking of.
2. I know a few people who practice it as a form of religion (although they won't call it that), it closely related to using mediums, they also believe in spells to heal & pretty much practice soothsaying. This is what Christianity is against. If you are taking about a different form of astrology i.e. simply reading the stars to predict weather or an eclipse, like I said before Christianity is not against that. I simply don't see anything in the bible supporting the use of starts to predicts whether you will be successful, get married, or win the lottery.

4. please define worship & we can talk. I don’t not consider Christ God, but I pay reverence to his words. He said miracles can be done in his name Mark 9:39, he also said in John 16: 23-24 that the father will give whatever is asked in his name.

5. good for you! guess you can predict his return even though he clearly stated that no one can; not even him. As for the practice of reading the starts, instead of scuffing the line maybe you should define what you mean by astrology. I’ve pointed out what I understand it to be more than just simply ‘reading the stars’. What the bible is against is the use of mediums & spirits to predict ones future -soothsaying. Christians are expected to look to God for the future, not pay a gypsy to read their stars.
as the steady beating drums.

Last edited by BlueBeauty; 03-21-2007 at 04:09 AM..
Old 03-21-2007, 04:20 AM   #15 (permalink)

2. I know a few people who practice it as a form of religion (although they won't call it that), it closely related to using mediums, they also believe in spells to heal & pretty much practice soothsaying. This is what Christianity is against. If you are taking about a different form of astrology i.e. simply reading the stars to predict weather or an eclipse, like I said before Christianity is not against that. I simply don't see anything in the bible supporting the use of starts to predicts whether you will be successful, get married, or win the lottery.

4. please define worship & we can talk. I don’t not consider Christ God, but I pay reverence to his words. He said miracles can be done in his name Mark 9:39, he also said in John 16: 23-24 that the father will give whatever is asked in his name.

5. good for you! guess you can predict his return even though he clearly stated that no one can; not even him. As for the practice of reading the starts, instead of scuffing the line maybe you should define what you mean by astrology. I’ve pointed out what I understand it to be more than just simply ‘reading the stars’. What the bible is against is the use of mediums & spirits to predict ones future -soothsaying. Christians are expected to look to God for the future, not pay a gypsy to read their stars.
1. Are they really practicing as a religion or are you just inferring that they are because you don't fully understand it?

4. Well if you don't consider Jesus to be God then we are in agreement on that point....but if you pray to him and keep false images to him then that is indeed Jesus worship

5. Well my sister, what he actually stated in Matthew 24:36 was that "No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son,[a] but only the Father" which means that nobody can predict the exact time or day of the "return", but the signs in the heaven will show that it is coming, and the stars do indeed show that, and you could see it if you knew what to look for

And as I stated before, astrology is essentially looking for the signs that God has put in the stars, same as numerology is looking for the signs that God puts in numbers. And also, can you bring up the exact verses where the channeling of spirits is condemned in the Bible?