Old 03-18-2007, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 10,237.85
Rep Power: 363087 AfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legend
Default Afro maintenance secrets

Revised edition:

*Take jet cold showers and rinse your hair/scalp in jet cold water, everyday.

*Trim your hair every two weeks (preferably with sharp scissors) and remember to keep your hair line trimmed. Avoid trimming damp or wet hair.

I also recommend you condition wash every 2 weeks. Shampoo overdries hair (especially curly and kinky hair), just use conditioner.

Last edited by AfroSoul; 05-19-2007 at 12:13 AM..
AfroSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 363087 AfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legendAfroSoul is a legend

b.o.t
Old 03-19-2007, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)

back on top, again
Old 03-19-2007, 12:41 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474868 Omosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legend

here, we use, 'bump'.

lol, u and cold showers, nawa.
Old 03-19-2007, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
TheBendelite

cold shower ke?
Old 03-19-2007, 12:56 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Every single day?
Old 03-19-2007, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by tomapep
Every single day?
If you want it to be easier to comb and look neat every single day.
Old 04-01-2007, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 110.35

Originally Posted by AfroSoul
Everyday

*Take jet cold showers and rinse your hair/scalp in jet cold water
*Trim your hair (preferably with hair clippers but sharp scissors will do) before showering and when you get out, after combing. Preferably, wait some time before trimming the second time (better to trim hair when dry).
why cold? even during winter?
Old 04-22-2007, 04:02 AM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 15.29
Total Points: 841.29

i don't know about those tips. baffing cold water everyday and trimming it everyday? will the hair ever grow?
Kara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by olarizona
why cold? even during winter?
Cold water is very healthy for hair. Among other things, it helps to seal the cuticle which helps retain moisture and results in shiny hair (healthy hair shines). Heat damages hair, it robs it of natural oils which moisturize and protect the hair shaft. If you rinse your scalp in cold water (ie. run your hands forward over your hair a couple of times then stand under the faucet so the water can reach your scalp), it will help circulate blood to your scalp which brings oxygen and nutrients to your hair roots/follicles ( this may help slow down the balding process). If you rinse your hair in cold water, you won't wake up with a pillowhead the next day (from sleeping on your sides, this probably shows how it strengthens hair).

Cold showers in general are very healthy, they promote blood circulation, release endorphins, strenghten the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems etc. Some scientists/doctors think cold showers may help slow down the aging process and they help improve certain medical conditions. Keep in mind, even the steam from warm/hot showers is bad for hair

I'd like to make some revisions:

1) It's not necessary to trim hair before having a shower

2) use sharp scissors instead of clippers. Clippers may generate a small amount of heat which is bad for hair.

Preferably, trimming should be done a couple hours after getting out of the shower (if possible).

will the hair ever grow?
Cold water helps hair grow faster. When you trim you only take off the small, straight hairs on top so it shouldn't make too much of a difference.

Cold water is more important then trimming. Trimming makes hair look aesthetic but cold water makes hair healthy.

Last edited by AfroSoul; 04-27-2007 at 12:19 AM..
Old 04-29-2007, 10:53 AM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Mnnn if yo are advising that the hair should be trimmed everyday then I officially declare yur tips Harmful

Old 04-30-2007, 07:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
TheBendelite

sugar i second that o jare
Old 05-01-2007, 12:11 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sugar
Mnnn if yo are advising that the hair should be trimmed everyday then I officially declare yur tips Harmful
Allright, then every week or two. Everything else is good though.
Old 05-01-2007, 12:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 106,861,079.25
Total Points: 107,291,349.65
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

if you have an afro.. if you can, please post a pic of b4 and after.. and i think that cold shower thing may be for the white people.. black people generally don't age quickly... cold shower everyday may cause pneumonia .. maybe warm/cool you can wash your hair seperately with Ice water

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 01:12 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Starlomor
if you have an afro.. if you can, please post a pic of b4 and after.. and i think that cold shower thing may be for the white people.. black people generally don't age quickly... cold shower everyday may cause pneumonia .. maybe warm/cool you can wash your hair seperately with Ice water
Please, trust me on this.

You can't eat nutrionless/bad food, live a sedentary lifestyle, smoke, drink etc. and expect to have the heart of a 20 year old (or look 20) when you're 40 just because you're Black.

Cold showers will not cause pnemonia. Cold showers strenghten the immune system, promote blood circulation throughout the body, release endorphins into the bloodstream etc. In regards to hair, cold water tightens the cuticle which makes hair shiny and strong. Hot/warm water strips hair of natural oils that it needs.

maybe warm/cool you can wash your hair seperately with Ice water
It would be even better if someone took cold showers as well because the steam from warm/hot showers can damage hair but rinsing the hair alone in cold water is better then nothing

The human body was never developed to withstand warm/hot water. When you boil vegetables, they lose a lot of nutritional value. All water in nature (rain, lakes, oceans etc.) are naturally cool-cold, we couldn't have warm/hot showers if we didn't boil water or invent water heaters.

Last edited by AfroSoul; 05-01-2007 at 01:23 AM..