Custos Mortui
Ehm, whatever happened to those hilarious Igbo movies that Osuofia used to drop sometime in the past? You know, those Igbo dramas set in some Igbo village where Osuofia is usually the protagonist? Well, here's something we can do for fun to let the creative juices flow...
Dramatis Personnae: (this can be expanded with time) Igwe Ezennaya--Igwe of Umuezem Lolo Obiajulu-- Igwe's wife Ichie Okoronkwo---Igwe's righthand man; member of the Igwe's Cabinet Nze Nwakibie----Mortal enemy of Okoronkwo; member of the Igwe's Cabinet Ozo Nzeakolam----another member of the Igwe-in-council; schemer (and we can increase the number of titled men here.. needs more characters) Ichie Nsofor--wisest and oldest man in the village; a great warrior in his hey-days Nwokoye----village shaman Uzoka---Village contrarian.. osuofia-type character.. up to no good, always meddling and getting into tight situations Nwamaka---Uzoka's wife (more can be added as time goes on) The object of this game will be to post a discussion between any of these characters. Remember, every post will be like a snapshot of life in this village; and each post will clearly be a discussion happening between two or more of the characters named above. Remember to keep it relatively short--don't drop a whole book on us We want to be able to view a typical Igbo village through the eyes of our forumites.We can add to the pool of characters after all its a whole village we are talking about. Feel free to set up the scene wherever you want--in the market, at the village square, in the Igwe's obi, by the communal stream, at the shaman's shrine, in Uzoka's dysfunctional compound etc....LOL, one mind tells me many forumites might consider this a tedious and perhaps boring proposition, but I believe we have it in us to showcase hilarious indigenous culture--even if most submissions are simply parodies ![]() NOTE: All conversations should be rendered in Igbo, or as close to Igbo as possible. Yes, some things have no easily discernible Igbo translations and thats excused, but please do try to minimize the English words in the piece. I am sure u know it would be very unrealistic if these village denizens were to start speaking pidgin and bekee oo! 2) Since this is a fun and educational exercise, I realize that you may feel like carrying the non-Igbo members of NR along. Please give your English translations as responses to a block of quoted Igbo text 3) The first responders get the privilege of establishing facts about each character... let's try to keep the characters consistent. If a previous post mentions that Uzoka owes Amadi 300 tubers of yam for instance, let a later post not force Uzoka to pay 200 tubers of cocoyam... consistency ![]() 4) If some well-known facts about a certain character needs to change, build up to it. It should be part of the fun. Ichie Okoronkwo can't flip from being an authoritarian figure in his own house to being passive and pensive in the next post. That's all...now unleash your inner muse!
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
I think I am in love with the thread starter
![]() good idea.....so coming up with sumtin...I hope ![]()
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
At the Obi....
Lolo Obiajulu(entering the Obi (palace) & kneeling down b4 the husband): Nna'nyi ibola chi (*good morning sir*) Igwe Ezennaya(Using his fan to touch his wife): E...Lolom i ga'di (yes my wife) gosh gotta run...someone please take it up from here ![]()
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Lolo Obiajulu:Anyi esi sa'go nri ututu (We have finished cooking breakfast). M' bute ya? (Should I serve it?)
Igwe Ezennaya:Mba. Nri abali dikwa'm ri na afo. (No. I am still full from dinner) Oru tata buru ibu. (There is a lot of work to be done, today). He said with a preoccupied look on his face. Ndi na bia afu'm juru eju. (I am expecting a lot of people) Lolo Obiajulu: Biko, ina ru, ina rota kwa nri. (Please, as you work, don't forget to eat) Achogi'm ka ndi nmadu che na anaghim enye di mu nri. (I don't want people to think that I starve my husband) Igwe Ezennaya: Na uwa! (Not in this lifetime!) He hooted. Nge iji ne si na hopu, onwero uzo afo nmanya'm na ne je.(With the different delicacies you are constantly cooking, this beer belly of mine ain't going nowhere). At that precise moment, there was a knock. Kpoi kpoi kpoi Igwe Ezennaya: O' bu onye? (Who is it?) |
#7 (permalink) | |||
![]() oh umm....as 4 the thread thingie..errr...hmmm...odiegwu o ![]()
This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper Quote:
Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^ ![]() Rest in peace D4Dude.
|||
Lolo Obiajulu: Nn'anyi Nsofor ibiala....i bola chi (welcome, greetings) Igwe Ezennaya (waving his fan at Ichie): I biala...oche dikwa (welcome and have a sit)...nke a i jiri ututu bia ebem...udo odikwa? (this one you came this early morning is everytn' alright?) Lolo Obiajulu: (bowing b4 Igwe and Ichie & exiting)...Igwe i ga adi ndu rue mgbe ebighebi...unu no nkeoma (long live Igwe, you all shd stay well)* shey I don try![]()
#9 (permalink) | ||
Uzoka's hut. made out of raffia leaves. Laying on his front compound are clay pots filled with water from the Idemmiri river. The ground is covered with red clays decorated with prints from the "Omu" broom leaves.
Nwamaka steps out of the little hut carrying her favorite clay pot. hanging across her chest is a raffia bag filled with her beauty supplies like "tiro"(eyepencil), "ude mmanu"(Vaseline), "Nzu" (charcoal), "Owu-isi"(hair-thread) and her pocket knife which she terms "mma mkpuru aka m". She always leaves a note of her absence and her destination on the door way. She does this by inscribing some words with a stick on the ground for her husband to see. She takes the same path to the stream which cuts through 13 neigbouring compounds. She is always entertained by her folk songs or songs that tell tales. (Nwamaka sings as she heads to the Idemmiri river) Utulutu, utulutu utulutu nwa mmadu oh nwa mmadu Biko tupulu m utu Tupulu m utu Utu n'oga aso m n'onu chorus- gene gene ngaanu nu gene gene Onu ogene, onu ogene biko kwepu lu m ukwe kwepu lu mu ukwe ukwe n'oga aso m n'onu chorus- gene gene ngaanu nu gene gene Nne mu o, mma mu o Nne mu o, nwa mmadu oh nwa mmadu biko tupulu m utu tupulu m utu utu n'oga aso m n'onu chorus- gene gene ngaanu nu gene gene... (she got to the river, sets her clay pot gently on the ground facing downwards and balanced her weight on it while unloading her beauty supplies. She started making up her self as she sings the same song aloud in a more soulful voice... gene gene ngaanu nu gene gene... (Ifeanyi leaps out of his hiding place and distrupts her with his sexy voice) Nne gi guru gi Nwakamma Nna gi aguo gi nwakamma Ora obodo na-akpo gi enenebe jere olu Umu okorobia na-akpo gi enenebe jere olu Nwata di mma, Ntutu ya na-eto na eji enenebe jere olu Otoro k' ume ji na-eme ogologolo na-ama pukupuku na-eme ogologolo Onu ya burukwazia onu okwaaaaaaaa Nwakamma Nwamaka- Ifeanyi! chai! ike o na agwukwa gi? Mgbe one ka mu ga-agwa gi na mu anuola di?!! biko chefu mu. je chota nwanyi ga akpo egwu nile a i na aguru m ihe. obughi m.Enwe m di! ahuru m di m na anya. k' o ba gi nti!! (IfeANyi! gosh! do you ever get tired? How many times will i tell you that i am married? please forget me. Go and fetch another girl that will cherish your songs of praises cos i dont. I have a man! and i love him. Let it set in) Ifeanyi- (I need help............anyone plz?? )btw i added a new character..Ifeanyi(admirer of nwamaka, Uzoka's wife) ![]()
This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper Quote:
Last edited by Chickram; 03-02-2007 at 05:08 AM.. |
I am loving this part ![]() Quote:
#11 (permalink) | |||
wat part?![]()
|||
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: land of the Omarichas...........being his Queen and treated as one of a kind
thread a di egwu o! anam agu but the okwu di too long!
![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
(Nwakama resumes on her primping) (Now dat u kno i dont have a twin, is it time u give nkechi a chance to shower u w. her love for you? She is a beautiful girl and fair like u like your women. So what are you waiting for? Nkechi- Ifeanyi's admirer. Daugter of Igwe Ezennaya. Therefore, she is the Princess of the village.
Res ipsa loquitur The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them with our own image - otherwise, we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them. Love comes to those who still hope, even though they've been disappointed, to those who still believe, even though they've been betrayed, to those who still love, even though they've been hurt before. Last edited by Wendydoks; 03-02-2007 at 09:32 PM.. |
#15 (permalink) |
we can't let this die y'all