Old 02-02-2007, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 2,872,803,668.13
Total Points: 2,873,210,728.13
Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

Default Traditions that defines us and brings us together.

Okay today we will talk about Nigerian Traditions.., We will compare, see similarities, try to understand the idea behind it and most importantly, refresh our memories of that which most of us almost forgot or lost already.

In as much as traditions differ from one place to the other, and with slight or much similarities, it is what defines us, makes and even made most of us what we are today.

So for the Youngins and for the even the old heads like me who might be rusty.., this is a refresher time. Feel free to chip in, tell us about your tradition or how you carry it out, lets compare. Lets us learn how close we all are.

I bet you all never wondered why the Kayo Kayo Festival of the Epe people in Lagos state is celebrated the same way and with the same idea behind the New Yam festival of the Igbo people?? Or why Tubers of yam must be part of a bridal offering from a groom to the brides family of the TIV people, but the Easterners have Kolanuts in place of it. Infact what is the significant of Kolanuts to some cultures in Nigeria??

Why do the next Brother take over the wife/cocunbines of his passed away brother in some cultures???

I will cover Marriage, Celebrations, Beliefs, Way of living, even Foods and many more.

Uncle. DDU
Old 02-02-2007, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Red Devil
Husband to the Husbandless

Bank: 334,150,673.40
Total Points: 3,318,233,865.25
Rep Power: 21474947 blaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legend

are you eyeing a Chieftancy title somewhere?????

WHEN ASHI CHANGE BASE, SHE GO TURN TO CHASIS

A WISE PROPHET MAKES SURE OF THE EVENT FIRST...
blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

Originally Posted by blaze
are you eyeing a Chieftancy title somewhere?????
Actually next year. But nope I'm not eyeing one. Then again trust you with your thinking.

Uncle. DDU
Old 02-02-2007, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

DDU dalu olu!
This will make for interesting reading.
Old 02-02-2007, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)

Nne you welcome.., did you check the Origin of Pidgin English thread yesterday???

Uncle. DDU
Old 02-02-2007, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474933 Misty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legend

good topics DDU, but why don't u open them in the cultural forum?
Old 02-02-2007, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 0.70
Total Points: 2,400.93
Rep Power: 3771038 HULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legendHULK is a legend

http://www.kwenu.com/igbo/moe_kolanut.htm

KWENU! Our culture, our future

Kolanut Communion

M. O. Ené
New Jersey, USA
May 7, 2001

PART I:

Oji, the kolanut, is considered a simple seed from native kolanut tree of tropical woodlands. It may look so, but the Igbo regard it as a fine fruitage from the bowels of earth, a plant produce revered and eaten in a communion of the loved living and the dear departed. It is a socioritualistically symbolic seed like no other on this planet. Probably. There are many dimensions to the rites of kolanut communion. I will discuss these rites, mostly as they should apply in African diaspora communities -- based on what obtains in bucolic Africa, especially in Igboland. Why? After a full-book treatment of this subject, it suddenly dawned on me that I had not scratched the surface of the simple but significant seed.

As promised in "Our culture, our future," I will try and scratch the surface of the kolanut some more and then compress it into a two-part piece. If time permits, I will publish the full-learnt book as well as supply detailed explanations and references. For now, I am sure the following will tidy us up for a week as we celebrate Igbo Heritage Month, keep our minds freed of political problems for a change, and give us a different perspective on how our forefathers lived. I will still revisit Odinani, the Igbo religion. Aspects of Igbo religion fuel mysteries of kolanut communion and the role of women. If you don't know why Ndiigbo "negotiate" or seem to "haggle" cheerfully and even jocosely with deities and spirits rather than submissively "worship" the supernatural, keep an open mind and don't stop reading.

Now let's talk about nuts.

KOLANUT
Kolanut in itself is a seed like many other bounties from Earth Deity. Oji Igbo (cola acuminata) is the species grown exclusively in Igboland. It has four or more disease-resistant cotyledons and comes in four basic, interwoven types. Each type is symbolic, but that is beyond the scope of this essay. Gworo (cola nitida) -- also called oji gworo (a tolerated tautology, since gworo is Hausa for "oji") -- is the abundant and commercial variety consumed in ECOWAS region. Gworo is more disease-prone, but it is readily available and less expensive. It has more cream-colored varieties, which Ndiigbo do not regard as anything near the rare and valued cream-colored "oji ugo." In fact, gworo is neither used to welcome a titled man nor in Igbo rituals. Four-lobed varieties of gworo exist. The Yoruba call it obi abata. Gworo is also called oji Awusa (Hausa kolanut). Strictly speaking, this is not correct: Gworo is grown in Yorubaland, southwest of River Niger, processed, and exported north to Hausaland, where it has certain commercial value. From there, bags of kolanut make their way back southeast to Igboland. Surprisingly, this route remains and says quite a lot about south-south commercial contacts.

It is not only the Igbo who accord kolanut significant reverence. The Edo have similar regards for the kolanut; their link with Igbo rites belongs in the domain of anthropology and history. The predominantly Muslim Hausa and other northerners offer kolanut as a symbol of hospitality, but without elaborate ceremonies. In Yorubaland, it is customary to offer a guest a small basket of kolanut as a sign of good faith. The Yoruba word for kolanut is "obi" (Igbo for "heart"). An Igbo truly believes he offers you his "heart" when he presents kolanut. There are many more similarities than differences. It's a shame we rarely dwell on these issues, preferring instead to magnify our differences. In some communities, however, the effects of time, culture clashes, and immigration/migration have further driven the significance and symbolism of kolanut to the backburner of cultural renaissance.
HULK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 40,900,631,683.04
Total Points: 40,900,926,680.65
Rep Power: 21474953 OmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legend

i hate kola nut
Old 02-02-2007, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Originally Posted by OmoDelta
i hate kola nut
You don't have to eat it, just take some.
DDU, not in full, but will do so.

What Misty said. Please!!!!!!!
Old 02-02-2007, 04:09 PM   #10 (permalink)

Bank: 40,900,631,683.04
Total Points: 40,900,926,680.65
Rep Power: 21474953 OmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legend

Originally Posted by tomapep
You don't have to eat it, just take some.
DDU, not in full, but will do so.

What Misty said. Please!!!!!!!

Take it and do what?
Old 02-02-2007, 06:56 PM   #11 (permalink)

I don't read cultural forum.., I only do 3 forums.., in here.

But really my research is coming to end sha.., soon we will start our discussion people, lets school some lost Naija souls.

Uncle. DDU