Correct Urhobo Man ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
Before you rant, YES I know that there's a recipe thread going already.. But that thread is so long that looking for a specific recipe is like looking for a needle in a haystack.. So ladies (and maybe gents
) please share your egusi and okra soup recipe with me.. I know how to make egusi soup but i'm tired of the one i've been making for the past couple of years and is looking to try another person's method.. As per okra soup, never really made it but I LOVE it to death.. I know the Igbos have a reputation of making good okra soup so Sophia, Askimoli,etc please share.. Thank you in advance..
others prolly have berra recipes, but me sef i like easy cooking, so here it goes
beef smoked fish stock fish maggi palm oil' ground egusi spinach boil your beef and smoked fish together, add salt, pepper, maggi and crayfish; this is your base cook your stockfish seprately, cos it takes forver to cook, just add small salt and peppr to it sha, don't overcook add small water to your bowl of ground egusi and mix till it becomes a paste (this is what i do sha to prevent lumps of uncooked egusi) add the palm oil to your base waith 5 min then add the egusi to the pot, at this point add your cooked stock fish wait a while, as it simmers then add your spinach at the very very end and turn of the heat, the residual heat will cook your spinach then ur done |
Correct Urhobo Man ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanx Cyclone.. But i dont cook with palm oil due to its high contents of saturated fat and cholesterol.. It's really funny how other AFricans say that Nigerians like to cook with variety of meat.. you just demonstrated that in your recipe..
Hey Omo I have several ways I do my egusi soup. I am not sure if you tried this method before..
Using the same ingredients Aymix listed or which ever one you use to cook your soup. For your eguisi (Hoping you have the original type of eguisi oh) Bring water to boil and then squeze your egusi in big balls with your hands and drop them in the boiling water. Amt of water you boil depends on qty u dey cook allow it to keep boiling maybe for about 30 to 45mins pending on the amount you are cooking and keep adding water as needed cos it drinks water really fast after a while the eguisi should start forming in lumps. you can also add salt and maggi while its boiling. When it looks ready you pour it into the meat and the other assorted you already cooked. I don’t like to use palm oil as well so what I do is separately with olive oil, I fry fresh tomatoes and peppers with a little of tomato paste. When its ready I pour into the soup as well I been cook one this weekend but my dear I no get energy/patience to dey do all these pictures peeps dey do. I have better things to do with my time ![]()
![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
Abeg no yab my camera phone. I no fit afford Digicam.
![]() Omodelta, this is my picture-recipe. Some good ol' stockfish ![]() And your meats--Beef, chicken, Goatmeat, Smoked turkey..whatever. ![]() ![]() 2) In the meantime, blend a mix of tomatoes, onions, crayfish, okporoko(dried shrimp) and peppers. Pour palm oil in a pot, and when it is heating up, add the blended mix. At this stage, you should add the broth from all the meats that you previously boiled and add your maggi and spices. ![]() 3) Let the tomato and palm oil cook for a little while, then add your cooked meats and the stockfish. ![]() 4) In a seperate frying pan, heat up some palm oil (Do not let the oil bleach), and fry your egusi...DO not let it burn o. P.S:- This is optional sha, you can just add the egusi to the main pot w/out frying it but my mama always fries hers. ![]() 5) Add the fried egusi to the pot, and then add some spinach. ![]() Mix it in. ![]() 6) Leave to cook for a bit, taste and blah blah and voila, your egusi is ready. I hope this is helpful.
#11 (permalink) |
Okro. Sorry no picture recipe for this one...
![]() 1) Boil your meats- Goatmeat, beef, whatever. 2) After boiling, Drain the meat broth from the pot OR remove the meats from the pot and put them in a seperate container/pot. Then add a blended mixture of peppers, crayfish and okporoko to the meat broth. 3) Stick your stockfish in the mix and leave it to boil. Here's a tip I borrowed from Nappy Chick, soak your stockfish for hours ahead of when you want to cook..it softens up the fish a lot so you don't have to cook it for too long. 4) Add palm oil and maggi/spices to the stockfish cooking in the mix. 5) When the fish is getting soft, add your already cooked meats and the diced okra. Leave it in for a bit, taste it and blah blah and voila, your Okro is ready.
Oops. True that....wetin be the name for dried shrimp again. I don forget sha, but Omodelta that's what I mean.
Thanks. Quick correction:- The plural for meat is meat. Please ignore all instances of the word 'meats'. ![]()
#15 (permalink) |
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
hummmm CSC na real underG cook o
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski