Old 01-15-2007, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend
Default Traditional Medicines (Jazz/Juju/Black Magic) vs. Traditional Remedies

This morning I was thinking about going over to a friend's house when I was young (maybe like 9 years of age) and we were playing hide and seek. So I went to hide in what I thought was a closet, and when I pulled it open my jaw dropped open. The whole closet, from floor to ceiling had shelves filled with all kinds of powders and liquids of all colors. Red, blue, green, orange, black, brown. You name the color.. it was there.

So my friend saw me standing in front of the closet and ran over and slammed the closet shut, saying "You are not supposed to see that......it's bad for your eyes."

It was later when I went home that I told my mum and I realized it was juju. My friend's family was LOADED.........filthy rich which made me wonder whether that's how they kept getting richer every year(always moving to a newere and bigger house ever year, travelling 2 or 3 times a year etc). They were the sweetest people though.

This was my one and only experience of ever seeing juju medicine.

So my question is: Is all juju bad? Or can they ever be used just for non harmful purposes like dealing with headaches, colds, aches and pains etc?

Have any of you ever used it yourselves or anyone in your families?
Has any of you ever gone to see a "native doctor"?
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 01-16-2007, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

buhahahahhahahahha poor Nimo

Old 01-16-2007, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

lol that must have scarred you for life.
we've used traditional remedies before...like that bitter tasting drink to cure fevers and palm oil for insect bites....minor stuff like that.

Old 01-16-2007, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

I know some family members that drink that leaf stuff (Agbo or something like that). That's the Naija version of Green Tea.

Ohh...you can put palm oil on a bite? Does it help reduce scarring or is it to clean the bite. I've heard of putting salt but not palm oil.

Anybody have any more home remedies that work?
Old 01-16-2007, 08:05 PM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,210.20
Rep Power: 41216 tigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legend

Juju 4 riches and stuff like that is compeltely different from herbs that cure ailments
Old 01-16-2007, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
I know some family members that drink that leaf stuff (Agbo or something like that). That's the Naija version of Green Tea.

Ohh...you can put palm oil on a bite? Does it help reduce scarring or is it to clean the bite. I've heard of putting salt but not palm oil.

Anybody have any more home remedies that work?
yeah i remember when i was little and i got bit by a wasp my mum put palm oil on the bite.
And also if your baby swallows something poisonous by accident, give the child palm oil, it helps to neutralize the poison.

Old 01-16-2007, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by sapphire
yeah i remember when i was little and i got bit by a wasp my mum put palm oil on the bite.
And also if your baby swallows something poisonous by accident, give the child palm oil, it helps to neutralize the poison.
yup....so i hurrd.....i think anybody can drink the palm oil
also urine to cure apollo

Old 01-16-2007, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sophia
yup....so i hurrd.....i think anybody can drink the palm oil
also urine to cure apollo
Abeg...Sophia please clarify this one.....I've never heard of this. You mean pee in somebodies eye????!!!! I know urine is a disinfectant, but in your eye? Ewww...

@Tigress....yeah I know they are completely different, but I just wanted to ask who has had experience with both kinds.

Ok...another question for ya'll.....

Truth or Myth:

Eating Mango and Garri in the same day is poisonous and will kill you. Till this day I don't eat the two in the same day because it was drilled into our heads when we were kids that you will die if you ever try this! (now as an adult I question the validity of this, but I'm too scared to try it.....I'm too young to die.)
Old 01-17-2007, 12:35 AM   #9 (permalink)

buhahahahahhaha u pee in a cup n put the pee for apollo eye

Old 01-17-2007, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

the first urine of the day o

Old 01-17-2007, 01:27 AM   #11 (permalink)

yep i've heard that one before. i've also heard that drinking urine once a week cleanses your system.
yuck!

Old 01-17-2007, 01:45 AM   #12 (permalink)

yep i've heard that one before. i've also heard that drinking urine once a week cleanses your system.
yuck!
too much

Old 01-17-2007, 01:46 AM   #13 (permalink)

Sapp if i send u material with my size u fit hook me up with a gown or skirt n blouse? i luv u

Old 01-17-2007, 02:22 AM   #14 (permalink)

skirts i can do. i've never been good at blouses. i plan on taking a refresher class this summer, so i go hook you up well well

Old 01-17-2007, 02:44 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

very true, remember when i was younger and was baby sitting, the kid drank kerosene and i was pertified that she was gonna die. My neighbour told me to give her palm oil, i did and she was good as new; no one ever found out.