Old 01-13-2007, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 666,871.24
Total Points: 688,802.14
Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend
Default Some thoughts going through my head

We need God to help us see through the dark
We need God to be our protection when the Devil attacks
We need God to be our provision when we lack
and when our best falls short, we need God to pick up the slack
by lending a helping hand
So why is it so hard to say a little thanks
instead we become skeptical and question his existance
And just by a show of hands
How many people actually paid their tithes
Yet, at the sign of trouble, we expect him to make it all right
we start doing everthing today, which should have been done in the fortnight
Vigorous vigils and prayers accompanied with a standard 3 day fast
And if God was to take a vacation
we would all be stranded
in a perpetual state of helplessness
on an island surounded by fear, despair and hatred
and if being united means the laying aside of our major difference
that might not be possible even in a million years
cause if we're not segregated by age, class or whatever else
then at the very least the color of your pigment
And the foolishness causes me to laughter
Cause I'm too discouraged to acknowledge that I want to cry tears
Why people always find something over which they can fight
and the disagreement goes beyond verbal arguments
and character assasinations to characters being assasinated
and instances of meaningless blood shed
Yep, always something to fight about, that's what I said
So very true if you peep the trend
Nigerians because of tribal affiliations
harbor hatred and unforgiveness
Towards others and vice versa
So even in the absence of violence
A cold war is represented
in the attitude of the ignorant minded
expressing this animosity in not so subliminal threads
over the internet
And pardon me If I completely changed the subject
I'm just emptying down the truth as it is in my head
And if you are a friend to me
then I have no choice than to reciprocate your friendship
But I'm aware of the fact that all snakes crawl on their belly
but we don't always recognize which one carries the poison
If you're a friend let it show in your actions not just in your words
cause eventually no matter how you hide it
what you think in your heart is gonna come out in your words
I believe our problems have triabalism at its core
and Niaja's worst problem is tribalism at its worst
Now after reading this, let me know your thoughts
whether you dis-agree or concur
Oh...but before I round up
I would just like to say God is love
....so be careful what you post cause I'm not
Just joking
We are made in his image
so we are made to love not war
Old 01-14-2007, 05:43 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1732215 Laydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legend

I'm a poet....i love poetry...any type any form...verbal,written,drawings i love it all but mayne!!!!!!!!! dis is to long i lost concentration jor.
Old 01-14-2007, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 6,414.09
Total Points: 7,072.29
Rep Power: 0 Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!

An advice to a respected poet

What is a poem without consistent rhymes?
I believe,
it just an ordinary piece of writing
What does well-planned verses do to rhymes?
I believe,
it gives plots to keep it interesting

Don't make it too long or short, keep it precise
Poets are artists without the paint brushes
Poets paint in attractive words to commute ideas
You've got the skills but keep it short or precise

It is the ability to communicate in short lines
That separate poems from other form of writings
Old 01-14-2007, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Olukoso
An advice to a respected poet

What is a poem without consistent rhymes?
I believe,
it just an ordinary piece of writing
What does well-planned verses do to rhymes?
I believe,
it gives plots to keep it interesting

Don't make it too long or short, keep it precise
Poets are artists without the paint brushes
Poets paint in attractive words to commute ideas
You've got the skills but keep it short or precise

It is the ability to communicate in short lines
That separate poems from other form of writings
ISE!!
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Thanks for the input, but understand, this isn't nursery school rhymes...and it only takes about a minute, if even, to read so what's the stress and I've seen long poetry...and like I said...this is an account of thoughts going through my head. I just felt like sharing them.... so pardon me if it's too long but I think in paragraphs not phrases. The gradual change in subject from God to tribalism is a reflection of my raw thoughts and how unpredictable the human mind is.... If you're gonna comment on the lenght.... I'm not taking complaints... But anyone is welcome to comment on the content. Chikena.
Old 01-15-2007, 03:41 AM   #6 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by Rotimi
Thanks for the input, but understand, this isn't nursery school rhymes...and it only takes about a minute, if even, to read so what's the stress and I've seen long poetry...and like I said...this is an account of thoughts going through my head. I just felt like sharing them.... so pardon me if it's too long but I think in paragraphs not phrases. The gradual change in subject from God to tribalism is a reflection of my raw thoughts and how unpredictable the human mind is.... If you're gonna comment on the lenght.... I'm not taking complaints... But anyone is welcome to comment on the content. Chikena.
well, i dont see no paragraphs sha.

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 03:57 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1732215 Laydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legend

Babe..i finally read through your writing. guess what i noticed it seems like two poems in one. if you make them two separate poems it would be less harsh on the eyes. keep in mind poetry is an aesthetic. it must be appealing to the eye. it must turn on its viewer and provoke thought. you achieved the thought provoking but not the other aspects of poetry...
Old 01-15-2007, 04:07 AM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!Olukoso is a rep whore!

so pardon me if it's too long but I think in paragraphs not phrases.
Then make use of it.

.....without the verses your poem seem to have lost any reasonable meaning. Your cluster of words [should I say sentences] make it hard to make head or tail off your piece of writing. The first few lines are interesting then you lost it and made it too hard for readers to proceed to the end.

Paragraphs/ stanzas/ verses are very important in any write up.

Last edited by Olukoso; 01-15-2007 at 04:10 AM..
Olukoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 05:31 AM   #9 (permalink)

Ok.. poetry is first and foremost thought provoking.... Once again, if I was reciting it, it would last but a minute...all this talk about poetry is aesthetic...there is nothing appealing to the eye in poetry except for the thought process displayed on paper and the articulation and choice of words by the author.

This is not visual art...and even in visual art, the most important factor is for the painting to be beautiful and make sense in the eyes of the artist..not the audience.... That is art 101.... and this is not art 101 so if you're gonna give me tips on the lenght, once again.....poetry does not have to be short it has to provoke thought.... and if your attention span isn't strong enough to sit through this short sentences and gain something from it.... then leave it for those that will.....

Am no longer accepting complaints on the lenght.... Ya'll are missing the points of the poem.... I know art especially poetry is expressive, what ya'll are doing now is limiting that and tryna put rules on expression. Poetry in it's purest and most interesting form is straight off the mind onto the paper because it is a precise representation of the artist's opinions and thoughts....when you edit and try to refine it... you have lost the origin and the point is defeated...

Poetry and paintings are very similar....a painter paints a portrait with a brush onto a piece of canvas for the eyes to appreciate..... A poet paints images with his words on the wall of a listener's mind for the ears to appreciate. You're not gonna say the painting is too big or ugly likewise you lack full understanding of art if you say a poem is too long. You are all just saying this cause you have to read it... if it was recited it would be a different story.....Know what I call that? laziness. Therefore, too bad.. pele... get over it.

Either appreciate the content or don't...Am no longer responding to comments about the lenght.
Old 01-15-2007, 06:15 AM   #10 (permalink)

Ok.. poetry is first and foremost thought provoking.... Once again, if I was reciting it, it would last but a minute...all this talk about poetry is aesthetic...there is nothing appealing to the eye in poetry except for the thought process displayed on paper and the articulation and choice of words by the author.

This is not visual art...and even in visual art, the most important factor is for the painting to be beautiful and make sense in the eyes of the artist..not the audience.... That is art 101.... and this is not art 101 so if you're gonna give me tips on the lenght, once again.....poetry does not have to be short it has to provoke thought.... and if your attention span isn't strong enough to sit through this short sentences and gain something from it.... then leave it for those that will.....

Am no longer accepting complaints on the lenght.... Ya'll are missing the points of the poem.... I know art especially poetry is expressive, what ya'll are doing now is limiting that and tryna put rules on expression. Poetry in it's purest and most interesting form is straight off the mind onto the paper because it is a precise representation of the artist's opinions and thoughts....when you edit and try to refine it... you have lost the origin and the point is defeated...

Poetry and paintings are very similar....a painter paints a portrait with a brush onto a piece of canvas for the eyes to appreciate..... A poet paints images with his words on the wall of a listener's mind for the ears to appreciate. You're not gonna say the painting is too big or ugly likewise you lack full understanding of art if you say a poem is too long. You are all just saying this cause you have to read it... if it was recited it would be a different story.....Know what I call that? laziness. Therefore, too bad.. pele... get over it.

Either appreciate the content or don't...Am no longer responding to comments about the lenght.

My dear u are wrong poetry is an aesthetic! Most art forms are

Poetry (from the Greek ποίησις, poiesis, "making" or "creating") is a form of art in which language is used for its aesthetic qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its ostensible meaning.

ur being to sensitive poetry is all about critiques
Old 01-15-2007, 06:35 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Laydee-B
My dear u are wrong poetry is an aesthetic! Most art forms are

Poetry (from the Greek ποίησις, poiesis, "making" or "creating") is a form of art in which language is used for its aesthetic qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its ostensible meaning.

ur being to sensitive poetry is all about critiques

Granted.... poetry is a form of art in which words are used for their aesthetic quality... Great.. but the aesthetic effect is on the ears and mind not on the eyes..... back in ancient times in the days of Homer the public forum provided people with audiences (listeners not readers) and the poet or orator or fableist would recite their work.

The aesthetic effect is on the mind and is fully realized when the listener understands the words and the context in which they are used....this has nothing to do with lenght... and if you read my response you would know that I acknowledged that.....

And about being too sensitive.... I'm not.....it's just annoying that the poem itself and the content is overlooked and you're focusing on the lenght.... if it's wisdom...take it as it is.... Or have I writen a thesis paper? It's 55 short lines
Old 01-15-2007, 06:42 AM   #12 (permalink)

Hopefully, this lets you know that I know the aesthetic aspect of poetry, I said that.....If you read carefully..... anyway....criticism well recieved... by the way....most of the time...people criticize the content not the lenght.... but I am keen to writing long poems cause I rarely just pick up a pen and write... I usually have to be inspired and then just unload.... Therefore I have alot to yab about..sorry that's just my style...

Last edited by Rotimi; 01-15-2007 at 06:44 AM..
Rotimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:47 AM   #13 (permalink)

i said more then once the topic is nice thought provoking wise whatever else u wanna call it ur being too sensitive like i said take this to any other forum and see what they say damn people can't take advice and run wit it instead they wanna be on da defense abeg oooo u can't tell me anything about poetry i don't know.
Old 01-15-2007, 07:03 AM   #14 (permalink)

Allright... Queen poet.... listen, I'm not defending anything, I'm disagreeing..theres a difference..... And talk about someone tryna school people... you're here tryna give me poetry 101.. for what? Listen... your comment(s) are appreciated but I disagree.... for the most part anyway....
Old 01-15-2007, 11:19 PM   #15 (permalink)

You seem to know all about poetry. ..just a question.
-If you were appointed to judge a poetry contest, what are the qualities you would be expecting to find in any [even from a stupid poet] poem?

{still the same question}What are the qualities of writing that make up a poem?