Old 01-10-2007, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Onye Photo

Bank: 549,658.54
Total Points: 570,958.54
Rep Power: 2193072 Collins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legend
Default Sounding like a baby

I didn't realize how bad my (spoken) Igbo really is until now that I'm actively trying to speak it around the house.

I know it takes time, but how do you get over the "Crap, I feel like a baby" feeling in your head?

Also, people who are in my situation (trying to learn how to speak at an old age) what kind of time table is typical to carry on maybe half and half convo? I'm going to Nigeria again in December and my grandpa will kill me if I can't hold some semblence of conversation with him, since I promised him I'd work on it.
Old 01-11-2007, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

think in Igbo...it really helps.
And no matter what try starting of conversations in igbo and stutter a little bit before you finally give up and lapse back into igbo

Old 01-11-2007, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Oni

Bank: 90,242.68
Total Points: 106,748.68
Rep Power: 5531336 Oni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legend

hey collins u look kinda high in ur pic u been drinking ...
Oni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Onye Photo

Rep Power: 2193072 Collins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legendCollins is a legend

Are *you* high, Oni?
Old 01-11-2007, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

poor baby

Old 01-11-2007, 12:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Onye Photo

Originally Posted by sapphire
think in Igbo...it really helps.
And no matter what try starting of conversations in igbo and stutter a little bit before you finally give up and lapse back into igbo
Interesting advice. I'll try it out.

Originally Posted by Sophia
poor baby
Ehh, so you have jokes?
Old 01-11-2007, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

*edit*
And no matter what try starting off conversations in igbo and stutter a little bit before you finally give up and lapse back into english

Old 01-11-2007, 12:35 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sophia
poor baby
Ada mmadu you shouldn't laugh now....

Old 01-11-2007, 12:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Onye Photo

Originally Posted by sapphire
*edit*
And no matter what try starting off conversations in igbo and stutter a little bit before you finally give up and lapse back into english
I figured that's what you meant.
Old 01-11-2007, 10:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Oni

Bank: 90,242.68
Total Points: 106,748.68
Rep Power: 5531336 Oni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legendOni is a legend

Originally Posted by Collins

Are *you* high, Oni?
yeah was high on work
Oni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 11:35 AM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Is it possible for you to be around speakers of the language or to listen to/watch stuff in Igbo? I am not sure you want to read in Igbo, so I won't go that far.
Keep in touch with those people you know with Igbo speaking relations, go for Igbo church services (even if you are agnostic) and ask nice trustworthy people to correct you.
On NR perhaps there are one or two people who would be your Igbo phone buddy?

Jisie ike.
Old 01-11-2007, 02:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Bank: 98,835.64
Total Points: 99,975.49
Rep Power: 13491 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

You know babies stumble before they learn to walk well, its ok, dont pay attention to that, just keep trying. Speak to your folks in Igbo, start with basics where you are mixing Igbo words and english words. Try speaking slowly, dont try to rush it at the pace in which you speak English. Like sapphire said, try to think in Igbo, like think of what you want to say b4 u say it. Its a long while till Dec, you can learn a lot during the yr, and given that your folks are Igbo, you prob know more than you think. The brain is a funny organ, what is prob hindering you is the fear of making a mistake, or sounding funny, or having people crack up on you.
Does anyone want to start recording basic phrases in Igbo and simple conversational Igbo. Its something I have been thinking of doing for a min but no time with simple things like
what is your name
how old are you
where are you from
I am hungry
Give me food/water/money
different types of greetings
simple conversation at the market place
simple conversation at church setting
simple things people use like glasses, books, silverwear
Igbo alphabet/numbers

Jan is mad busy but I might be able to do it in Feb, and just record it on mp3, youtube or something.
I know Jem did something like that for Hausa, I think its something folks should do, I'd love to learn some other naija languages a lot better.

Collins, there's a Talk Igbo Now Cdrom on Amazon that has conversational Igbo, its on the basic level though, but will definitely help anyone get a good foundation on pronounciation and structure.

Blessed by the Most High

Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words

"Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb-
The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

C'est Dieu qui donne la vie.

Last edited by MIprincess; 01-11-2007 at 02:15 PM..
MIprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 02:53 PM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

MIP I'd be so down for that! Even if my Igbo is a hodgepodge... Look, I have nominated you to mod this forum for a week, and I am sure you won't disappoint
Old 01-11-2007, 02:56 PM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Originally Posted by Collins
I didn't realize how bad my (spoken) Igbo really is until now that I'm actively trying to speak it around the house.

I know it takes time, but how do you get over the "Crap, I feel like a baby" feeling in your head?

Also, people who are in my situation (trying to learn how to speak at an old age) what kind of time table is typical to carry on maybe half and half convo? I'm going to Nigeria again in December and my grandpa will kill me if I can't hold some semblence of conversation with him, since I promised him I'd work on it.
U no dey shame? after all this time, now, 11mths b/4 u go see ur papa, u realize u sound like a baby?

okay i keed. These links may help Igbo Lessons.
http://www.naijaryders.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=146398 nwere ndidi, it may be a slow process, but with practice u will get there
Old 01-11-2007, 04:04 PM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

LOL any wayz Collins how abt u read a book or something for us in igbo n record it so we can judge n know how to help u