Old 01-03-2007, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 10308491 Efizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legend

Default Dowry Issues!!!

A friend of mine got engaged over the New Year holiday.

Background:

The woman: The woman is a Nigerian girl who has been raised in the United states. Her parents (and extended family) are Nigerians living in Nigera for the greater majority of their lives hence are very traditional with regards to traditions and custom. The woman is the oldest of five children and graduated from law school two years ago and has since been a practicing lawyer.

The man: The man is half American (mother) and Half Nigerian (father). He was born and raised in the U.S. he graduated from college 4 years ago with a degree in accounting. but has recently decided to embark into the teaching profession.

The couple: Did a formal introduction at the girls parents house at which time they were presented with a list that detailed what her family expected in terms of DOWRY. Upon review of the list it was discovered that the monetary value of the items totaled out to 32,000 american dollars.

MY QUESTIONS. . .
HOW REASONABLE AND NORMAL IS THIS IN REGARDS TO CUSTOMS AND PRACTICES THAT YOU ARE FAMILIAR WITH.
WHY IS THE FAMILY ASKING FOR SO MUCH?
WHAT ARE THE IMPLICATIONS FOR THE UPCOMING NUPTUALS???

Old 01-03-2007, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1007408 kulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legend

Is the bride to be Igbo?

I think UBA now offers dowry loan at 25% APR
Old 01-03-2007, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 6,000.00
Rep Power: 135809 Kugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legend

32,000 Dullas. The girl na Igbo girl abi, them don calculate the cost of her educational achievements, na only Igbo people dey do that one
Old 01-03-2007, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)

too much. waaaaaaay too much.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 426.71
Total Points: 1,082,039,011.86
Rep Power: 21474916 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Originally Posted by efizzybaby

Background:

The woman: The woman is a Nigerian girl who has been raised in the United states. Her parents (and extended family) are Nigerians living in Nigera for the greater majority of their lives hence are very traditional with regards to traditions and custom. The woman is the oldest of five children and graduated from law school two years ago and has since been a practicing lawyer.

The man: The man is half American (mother) and Half Nigerian (father). He was born and raised in the U.S. he graduated from college 4 years ago with a degree in accounting. but has recently decided to embark into the teaching profession.

The couple: Did a formal introduction at the girls parents house at which time they were presented with a list that detailed what her family expected in terms of DOWRY. Upon review of the list it was discovered that the monetary value of the items totaled out to 32,000 american dollars.

MY QUESTIONS. . .
HOW REASONABLE AND NORMAL IS THIS IN REGARDS TO CUSTOMS AND PRACTICES THAT YOU ARE FAMILIAR WITH.
its a rip off
its an abuse of the tradition
na becos dem pickin na lawyer so na high price

mennn bobo fit ja oooo

ibo pipu sha

hmm now if the babe marry di guy and she make am vex, bobo go vex sound am oo becos when im think of im 32k.

i like my tribe just buy ogogoro for the elders and you are good to go

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Na wa ...I thot Dowry was just symbolic nowadays

I mean even when my parents were getting married it was symbolic ...i.e not a lot was asked .

But I guess her family is hungry

Old 01-03-2007, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Originally Posted by kulata
Is the bride to be Igbo?

I think UBA now offers dowry loan at 25% APR
LMAO.

I suspect they are Igbo sha... if this is a true story.

But in all honesty, at this point, Bride Price is symbolic. I know they must feel that since they educated a lawyer, they are "giving away" something valuable but $32K is extremely retarded.

I think they are simply trying to put an end to this engagement after all, how's a teacher going to afford all that?

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:31 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 255,209,992,857.44
Total Points: 255,210,297,127.44
Rep Power: 21461295 Ms Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legendMs Tolace is a legend

32,000...hmmmmmmmm they wanna just sell her off so he wont return her
Old 01-03-2007, 05:31 PM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

na wa oh.. so friggn ridiculous. @ dis day n age.. so d man gotta pay for her educational achievements.. na beans? shooo n dem go dey talk abt love.

Old 01-03-2007, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 6377664 Kikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legend

Say who die?He needs to go buy some yam.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:32 PM   #11 (permalink)

Total Points: 9,667.30
Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend

Originally Posted by efizzybaby

Background:

MY QUESTIONS. . .
They are Igbo.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Crazy Bitch

Bank: 154,068,370,988.54
Total Points: 154,068,371,288.54
Rep Power: 21367489 FekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legendFekNr is a legend

Is dowrey necessary in this day and age? It seems so primitive to me sha, I hate the idea of someone buying me.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

Location: At Capri's Place with 2face sipping on some RED BULL
Bank: 107,447,729.42
Total Points: 107,667,777.32
Rep Power: 5109570 WT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legend

all of you saying igbo ARE CORRECT. they are the only ones that do that. dowry in my village is 400 naira 200 each for the parents. the stuff they ask you to bring isnt much either.
shey you know.
when pimples and black spots have eaten away at your skin.. or when you are about 5'6-- 200+ --come on be realistic thats all I'm saying.. dont quit your day job-- just cause Kulata said u look like a model.. dont mean you can be a model.
Originally Posted by ndi_amaka
So cuz I'm overweight I have family sized vagina?

Sometimes you go too far
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience!
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:33 PM   #14 (permalink)

Rep Power: 6377664 Kikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legendKikelomo is a legend

Originally Posted by Ms Tolace
He better get warranty sef.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

Location: At Capri's Place with 2face sipping on some RED BULL
Bank: 107,447,729.42
Total Points: 107,667,777.32
Rep Power: 5109570 WT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legend

Originally Posted by Ms Tolace

and the girl may turn out useless sef
shey you know.
when pimples and black spots have eaten away at your skin.. or when you are about 5'6-- 200+ --come on be realistic thats all I'm saying.. dont quit your day job-- just cause Kulata said u look like a model.. dont mean you can be a model.
Originally Posted by ndi_amaka
So cuz I'm overweight I have family sized vagina?

Sometimes you go too far
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience!
WT is offline   Reply With Quote