Old 12-27-2006, 04:45 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,455.45
Rep Power: 0 souljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legend
Post SAP

My background is DBA with a dash of network administration. I'm trying to get my foot in the door with SAP (consultancy) and its really frustrating because there seems to be no entry level positions or even internships in the Atlanta area, hell - i'll even settle for a decently priced training program with some sort of adavance placement.

SAP folks, how did you break in?
souljah061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

that's the million dollar question. I don't know why there's so much hush hush over SAP, if u have the opportunity u could find a way to get hired by Accenture , they'll train u and u'll get ur experience from there. Also if u wanted to get certified or trained then South Africa would be a place to look into , that'll sorta jumpstart ur career as an SAP consultant.

Old 12-27-2006, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Bank: 80,870,671,406.80
Total Points: 81,873,241,486.80
Rep Power: 11047517 Anygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legend

Originally Posted by souljah061
My background is DBA with a dash of network administration. I'm trying to get my foot in the door with SAP (consultancy) and its really frustrating because there seems to be no entry level positions or even internships in the Atlanta area, hell - i'll even settle for a decently priced training program with some sort of adavance placement.

SAP folks, how did you break in?
First of, what db back end do u support ?....It's not easy for pure DBA to cross over to SAP....it would be a lot easier if you've supported an ERP system...then you'd understand the methodology and SDLC of an ERP system. Even with training, you need practical experience to be considered. I'll advice you to get acquainted with other ERP like PeopleSoft, Siebel and start administering those application..then maybe....just maybe SAP opportunity would come your way.

Think Blue

"So misunderstood, but what's a world without Anygma"
Anygma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1007408 kulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legend

Check SAP website. They have a bootcamp thingy for new hires and Thailand and India offer the cheapest official training at the moment
Old 12-28-2006, 03:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Rep Power: 11047517 Anygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legend

Originally Posted by kulata
Check SAP website. They have a bootcamp thingy for new hires and Thailand and India offer the cheapest official training at the moment
Kully, make we take couple months off and fly to the Phillipines or India for some cheap training...I'm seriously thinking of doing that in 07.

Think Blue

Old 12-28-2006, 03:41 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 souljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legendsouljah061 is a legend

my background is mostly in Oracle. walai...I'm willing to mop floors for even a chance at an opportunity, 5 out of every 10 jobs is looking for someone with SAP enterprise exp and quite frankly its getting aggravating. I'm actually looking into peoplesoft right now as its more accesible, any good resources that folks can point me to?
Old 12-28-2006, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Originally Posted by souljah061
my background is mostly in Oracle. walai...I'm willing to mop floors for even a chance at an opportunity, 5 out of every 10 jobs is looking for someone with SAP enterprise exp and quite frankly its getting aggravating. I'm actually looking into peoplesoft right now as its more accesible, any good resources that folks can point me to?
pm ur info...

Think Blue

Old 12-28-2006, 02:00 PM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1007408 kulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legendkulata is a legend

Originally Posted by Anygma
Kully, make we take couple months off and fly to the Phillipines or India for some cheap training...I'm seriously thinking of doing that in 07.
I am getting all official SAP ytaining materials from an insider on DVD and I'll holla at you when he reach my hand. I already have the DMO environment on DVD. So na to attempt self study first b4 we spend money on travels

Abi u get babe for Thailand?
Old 12-28-2006, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

Location: At Capri's Place with 2face sipping on some RED BULL
Bank: 107,447,729.42
Total Points: 107,667,777.32
Rep Power: 5109570 WT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legend

Anygma i still dey wait u oh.

@ Kuli u useless well well
shey you know.
when pimples and black spots have eaten away at your skin.. or when you are about 5'6-- 200+ --come on be realistic thats all I'm saying.. dont quit your day job-- just cause Kulata said u look like a model.. dont mean you can be a model.
Originally Posted by ndi_amaka
So cuz I'm overweight I have family sized vagina?

Sometimes you go too far
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience!
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Originally Posted by WT
Anygma i still dey wait u oh.

@ Kuli u useless well well
Actually, i been wan ping you now. cypm

Think Blue

Old 01-16-2007, 10:51 PM   #11 (permalink)

bump...any other industry insiders?