Old 12-09-2006, 12:04 AM   #16 (permalink)

Bank: 34,337,963.70
Total Points: 34,365,261.15
Rep Power: 3513670 seen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legend

More Kaba:

seen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 12:07 AM   #17 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3513670 seen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legend

[QUOTE=tomapep]When I went home in April, in Lagos at least, a lot of young girls were wearing "up and down" sewn out of Ankara (Wodin, they call it in Togo & C d'I)[/QUOTE

Yeah- the "Up and Down" clothes- were the older folks wearing it too, or is it something only the young do and is it a trend?
Old 12-09-2006, 12:40 AM   #18 (permalink)

Location: Uncle Seggy aka Daddy's arms smoking weed and sipping....
Bank: 16,601,808.64
Total Points: 16,669,200.64
Rep Power: 21368022 bets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legend

[QUOTE=seen]
Originally Posted by tomapep
When I went home in April, in Lagos at least, a lot of young girls were wearing "up and down" sewn out of Ankara (Wodin, they call it in Togo & C d'I)[/QUOTE

Yeah- the "Up and Down" clothes- were the older folks wearing it too, or is it something only the young do and is it a trend?
Those styles are hot.

ME like
bets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 02:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lil' Bit

Bank: 39,838.77
Total Points: 73,200.62
Rep Power: 21474872 Yetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legendYetty is a legend

Originally Posted by seen
The Kente is the national cloth, and the Kaba is the national attire (what we wear to social gatherings). I am thinking maybe the Kaba means something else but is spelled the same way as the Yoruba word for ankara b/c in Ghana it referrs to a specific type of dress/style. You can have Kente Kaba or Ankara Kaba (

This is how the national attire is usually worn:
just to clarify, kaba doesnt mean ankara in yoruba o.. sheesh. ankara na ankara
Kaba is basically what u said, a style of dress. Could be a dress and not neccesarily a two piece. I remember my aunt liked to accuse anyone who wore a flowing dress of wearing a kaba. I would translate the way she said it to english but it wouldnt be funny anymore.

Anyways, those outfits are very nice. Lovely shapes u ghana ppl have

Full of Grace

Yetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 03:23 AM   #20 (permalink)
BABA iBEJI

Bank: 625,398.98
Total Points: 704,591.79
Rep Power: 21474876 specialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legend

which one are you? All this noobs sef...why are you posting FOTO oni FOTO...olori kemdi kemdi

A

R

E

E

R
specialk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 07:12 AM   #21 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

I think your Kaba is what we fondly call "up and down" as mentioned before. A lot fo Nigerians are fashion forward so they sew "Up and down" with ankara, woodin, george, lace,etc...whatever suits your fancy. Pick up ovation mag or one of those society mags and you'll find several pictures of Nigerians wearing up and down of all fashions.

Nice pics of Kente...I've got a couple of pieces that i sewed up and down with it. I just love the vibrant colors.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 12-09-2006, 05:46 PM   #22 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

What Nimotalai said above. And wanted to add that a lot of people call the ivorien/west african prints ankara, and the foreign ones hollandis.
Old 12-09-2006, 07:39 PM   #23 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Nice thread. Y'all dress like Iviorians...

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 09:18 PM   #24 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Clockwatcher
Nice thread. Y'all dress like Iviorians...
I think it is because the Akan tend to wear the Kaba, and both groups dominate the two countries- 40 percent of Ivoirens are of Akan descent and 45 percent of Ghanaians are of Akan descent. Those in the North of Ghana don't usually wear the Kaba as much as the South.

By the way, nice to see you back.
Old 12-11-2006, 05:53 PM   #25 (permalink)

Northern Ghanaian dress style-reminds me of Nigerian style of dressing.

Old 12-12-2006, 04:21 AM   #26 (permalink)

Total Points: 326.57
Rep Power: 0 JaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

Ohhh mama !!!! african girls really look hot in traditional wears... kaba, kente.. whatever... goooooddd one... :-)
Old 07-22-2008, 10:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Captain

Bank: 848,419,240.83
Total Points: 848,600,815.83
Rep Power: 21474900 Uncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legend

Yes, we do.

NR Tribalists, Religious Bigots, and Enemies of Progress: Your name Here?

Beat the U.S. Financial Crisis
Uncle Sunday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 04:58 PM   #28 (permalink)

Bank: 2,007,966.09
Total Points: 2,014,566.09
Rep Power: 21367499 Ada-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legendAda-ide is a legend

Originally Posted by Uncle Sunday View Post
Yes, we do.
huh?
Old 09-14-2008, 05:51 AM   #29 (permalink)
Pure Sensation!

Bank: 170,555,232.43
Total Points: 170,582,522.63
Rep Power: 21474859 naijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legend

I luv Kente clothes!!!!!
Straight from your million dollar smile
You got me inhaling the aroma of your perfume
And feeling heated
I'm move closer to drop my lines of my introduction
Hold out my hand, grab your hand
Now we touching
Look into my eyes
Are you surprised that it's me?
I wanna make you mine
Sweetheart dont fight the feeling
My only wish is to be with you