Old 11-28-2006, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474933 Misty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legend

Default Questions...Questions....Your love for your country

1. What do you love about Nigeria? Why are you proud of being Nigerian?

2. Do you have any future plans of investing in Nigeria? In what way?

Let me start...

1)
-The main thing I love about being Nigerian is our love and compassion for others. We have a big heart, we are very blessed and we love to share, we are very open to our neighbors and those around us. We suffer, we have problems, yet we still smile. We are rich in culture comprising of 250+ tribes that speak different languages, yet we are still one nation. I love the traditional wear, we look so beautiful in it, all the colors and the styles, the gele high up in the sky

-I love Nigerian Men. They stand strong like real men should, protecting their families in whatever way they can. The look so good when they go from their suits to their traditional wears.

-I love to visit Nigeria, see the daily hustle. We are really strong internally. You begin to appreciate the life you live now when you are in the midst of that hustle. People jumping okadas daily and putting their lives in danger only to make 10 000 naira a day. You can practically get anything you want in traffic. People hawk everything from gsm sim cards to foodstuff.

-We have great business minds. I love how we can make business out of anything. Visit Nigeria during the US lottery time and you will see little camps set up to take ur passport picture and fill out the forms online instantly.

-We know how to Party! The way we love dancing, from our own local musicians to hip hop to reggae. We do it all. We hold parties for any reason and keep it going on till daybreak.

2)

I'm not very much into politics so for the most part, the way I plan to invest in my country is by helping others. I have always had plans of doing something in Nigeria relating to charity for children. I'm not very sure how to go about that yet but it is definitely somewhere in my books. It hurts to drive by the road and see little kids that are supposed to be getting an education hawking food on the streets in tattered clothes, looking really sad and hungry.
I'm still thinking of ways to establish a business in Nigeria when I have the means. Employ a couple of people with degrees and at least get them off the streets. We have great talented people and I feel we let it go to waste when they have to turn to the streets to survive.

Last edited by Misty; 11-28-2006 at 07:33 PM..
Old 11-29-2006, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474933 Misty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legend

nobody can answer these questions?
Old 11-29-2006, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)

i will. soon.
Old 11-29-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Asa
African Chikito #1

Bank: 10,990,320.60
Total Points: 10,991,846.40
Rep Power: 4305638 Asa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legendAsa is a legend

I will ansa soon too

Yes Auntie.

A na Le ke ebe inuo?
Asa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)

are u guys writing essays or what?
Old 11-30-2006, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 775,664.13
Total Points: 122,412,435.55
Rep Power: 21474881 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

1. I love Nigeria simply because I'm Nigerian. I think you've said it all, Misty. But I really like that 'respect' value that our parents imbibe in us as children. I'm proud because I have no choice but to be proud of Nigeria. I have no other home

2. I'd like to invest in the children/youths. They/we are the future of that nation and it displeases me so much when I see a Nigerian with under-utilised potentials. That being said, I'll invest my time, resources and brain juice into any organisation that stands for forward movement of the nation.

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 32.00
Default Nigeria is still home.

I love Nigeria because there is no place like home. Nigeria has a lot of potentials. Intelligent Individuals, Beautiful people, and people with great hearts. Nigeria itself is a beautiful country, from the east to the west, north and south. True nature, nice houses, nice villages with peaceful astsmophere. From River Niger to River Nile and the sahara desert, Nigeria has it. Great mountains, hills and forest. lots of farm land and just because it is in Africa. Nigeria is indead Beautiful. I will like to go back to Nigeria for investment because, I want to be part of the people that will bring out the beautiful of our father land.The music is wonderful, entertainment is great and the traditionals wears OH MY GOD, They are georgeous. the diversity of Nigeria in Ethnicity and religion makes us unique and is indeed a very
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY.
Dudukora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)

Nice Entries so far!

Mzz Nita and Ziengo, I'm still waiting to read urs
Old 12-02-2006, 09:24 AM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Misty it's obvious no one likes naija, go away
Old 12-02-2006, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

I love the tenacity of Nigerians, against all odds we keep doing what we do. We are such creative individuals and very brilliant. When i hear stories of how people survive it's amazing. Yes even 419 people I also love how we love each other, no matter how divided we seem, at least here we put up a united front the best we can. And our parents are forever trying to match make us so we don't lose our culture

Someday I'm going to start an export business for Aba shoe makers. And also start a fundraising org that operates like mary kay/ avon/ warm spirit. Only a large percentage of the profits will go to helping deserving charities/ individuals. and If i ever have enough capital to pull it off, a power generation plant.
All big dreams, i hope at least some of them come thru

Old 12-02-2006, 10:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
IvanaHumpalot

Originally Posted by lummie
1. I love Nigeria simply because I'm Nigerian. I think you've said it all, Misty. But I really like that 'respect' value that our parents imbibe in us as children. I'm proud because I have no choice but to be proud of Nigeria. I have no other home

2. I'd like to invest in the children/youths. They/we are the future of that nation and it displeases me so much when I see a Nigerian with under-utilised potentials. That being said, I'll invest my time, resources and brain juice into any organisation that stands for forward movement of the nation.
well said
Old 02-28-2007, 12:48 AM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 85,740,772.41
Total Points: 85,760,572.41
Rep Power: 3117803 Correctman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legendCorrectman is a legend

Originally Posted by misty

Let me start...

1)
-The main thing I love about being Nigerian is our love and compassion for others. We have a big heart, we are very blessed and we love to share, we are very open to our neighbors and those around us. We suffer, we have problems, yet we still smile. We are rich in culture comprising of 250+ tribes that speak different languages, yet we are still one nation. I love the traditional wear, we look so beautiful in it, all the colors and the styles, the gele high up in the sky

-I love Nigerian Men. They stand strong like real men should, protecting their families in whatever way they can. The look so good when they go from their suits to their traditional wears.

-I love to visit Nigeria, see the daily hustle. We are really strong internally. You begin to appreciate the life you live now when you are in the midst of that hustle. People jumping okadas daily and putting their lives in danger only to make 10 000 naira a day. You can practically get anything you want in traffic. People hawk everything from gsm sim cards to foodstuff.

-We have great business minds. I love how we can make business out of anything. Visit Nigeria during the US lottery time and you will see little camps set up to take ur passport picture and fill out the forms online instantly.

-We know how to Party! The way we love dancing, from our own local musicians to hip hop to reggae. We do it all. We hold parties for any reason and keep it going on till daybreak.

2)

I'm not very much into politics so for the most part, the way I plan to invest in my country is by helping others. I have always had plans of doing something in Nigeria relating to charity for children. I'm not very sure how to go about that yet but it is definitely somewhere in my books. It hurts to drive by the road and see little kids that are supposed to be getting an education hawking food on the streets in tattered clothes, looking really sad and hungry.
I'm still thinking of ways to establish a business in Nigeria when I have the means. Employ a couple of people with degrees and at least get them off the streets. We have great talented people and I feel we let it go to waste when they have to turn to the streets to survive.

This is obviously the musings of someone who hasn't been to Nigeria for sometime and is palpably homesick.Making 10k a day..?You have to be f---ing kidding me,what part of 9ja do u live?

Nigeria is S--t,the system is rubbish,the people(most of them) will kill for paltry sums and the Police dont give a fcuk.In fact Police will rob you and tell you that you should have been more careful.That na part of their own hustle just like everyone else hustles anything regardless of who's hurt or killed.Young people all want to ''hammer'' for the sake of it with no obvious means since that's the thing to do now.

I advise anyone with plans for their lives to steer clear of that death trap called Nigeria..as for me i consider myself an exile(political/economic) and a displaced person,i thank God for the opportunity to have escaped all these years. Until they physically remove me from this country..(i'm not saying where),na from far i go dey view 9ja.

From being a firm believer in the potentials of Nigeria and the qualities God has imbued its people with,i have become a hopeless,despondent victim of the lawless,anyone-can-do-what-they-like-as-long-as-they-have-money mentality called Nigerian life.I beg i cant bring up my kids in that sort of environment.Yes i grew up there in the 70s and 80s(& partly 90s) but things were a lot different then and values were different but now....God forbid bad thing!!!

Read my lips,steer CLEAR OF NIGERIA O or if you must go,perfect your aversion/deception techniques,make nobody know your waka odawyse...your people fit mourn o..!!A word they sayis enough for the wise...but then again, to each his own

Last edited by Correctman; 02-28-2007 at 01:00 AM..
Correctman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 04:13 AM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 666,871.24
Total Points: 688,802.14
Rep Power: 5292729 Rotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legendRotimi is a legend

Originally Posted by Correctman
This is obviously the musings of someone who hasn't been to Nigeria for sometime and is palpably homesick.Making 10k a day..?You have to be f---ing kidding me,what part of 9ja do u live?

Nigeria is S--t,the system is rubbish,the people(most of them) will kill for paltry sums and the Police dont give a fcuk.In fact Police will rob you and tell you that you should have been more careful.That na part of their own hustle just like everyone else hustles anything regardless of who's hurt or killed.Young people all want to ''hammer'' for the sake of it with no obvious means since that's the thing to do now.

I advise anyone with plans for their lives to steer clear of that death trap called Nigeria..as for me i consider myself an exile(political/economic) and a displaced person,i thank God for the opportunity to have escaped all these years. Until they physically remove me from this country..(i'm not saying where),na from far i go dey view 9ja.

From being a firm believer in the potentials of Nigeria and the qualities God has imbued its people with,i have become a hopeless,despondent victim of the lawless,anyone-can-do-what-they-like-as-long-as-they-have-money mentality called Nigerian life.I beg i cant bring up my kids in that sort of environment.Yes i grew up there in the 70s and 80s(& partly 90s) but things were a lot different then and values were different but now....God forbid bad thing!!!

Read my lips,steer CLEAR OF NIGERIA O or if you must go,perfect your aversion/deception techniques,make nobody know your waka odawyse...your people fit mourn o..!!A word they sayis enough for the wise...but then again, to each his own

Reality is always depressing, but let's try and stear clear from the economic hardships, the lawlessness, security issues, and political corruption/life hazards and let's focus on....well...I talk enough now, u too contribute....

No actually, Naija is full of beautiful people, culture, kind hearted individuals, but we're only humans, we too have breaking point now, but all these originated as a result of a select few.....

As to my naija pride......Ajo ole da bi Ile....serious...Naija is it for me.....I love it with all part of me....everything Nigerian - the above mentioned.....

I don't know.....I can't really even quantify it in words....I just love my country man.....the food na to die for...the outfits na to die for.....the cultures na to die for....the parties.....spraying na to die for (specially if armed robbers dey near by....

Things wey no be to die for, but go still kill person.............Roads......pollution.....hunger....armed robbers....police.....islamic fundamentalists.....health care......Politicians.....Cult members.....sorrow (result of having to buy water...when you have no money, no job, school fees not paid, sleeping with professor for grade.....graduate with grade and still no job......girlfriend leaving you for chief...)