Old 06-14-2002, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 170.00
Default fashion phase

i was wondering what if one of your kids suddenlly decides to wear black clothes, black makeup (if you allow them) basically gothic fashion how are you going to help the child see the light, hence try alternative clothing or are you going to accept him or her if they are going through a phase. i mean, oh those crappy tv shows you have make-overs and stuff, is that really helping the person out, if that's how he or she wants to express him or herself. i mean i know people you dress very eccentric and sometimes outrageous but they are one of the nicest people i will ever meet. what does one do? is it a phase some people are bound to go through. i mean, i fashion has changed, i would hope for the better, since i have a better understanding of what suits my body and what does not? what's your take on this
clockwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2002, 06:12 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,874.48

I grew up in Nigeria. Not even in LA, KD or PH, I grew up in Warri. If I had tried the gothic phase, I would have been taken for a series of deliverance sessions.
Back to your question. My parents had a lot to say about what we wore. Phases ko faces ni. My mum had to give you the eye and you would take your behind back quickly to change. As for my dad, we knew better,he shouldnt even see you going through a stupid phase. Any phases we went through, we went through outside the house i.e you changed at your destination
I will lay down the dress code for my kids. Any interesting phases they will like to go through, they better do it outside cos I wont be raising undertakers or children that look like modern art.
All warfare is based on deception. Hence, when able to attack, we must seem unable; when using our forces, we must seem inactive; when we are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away; when far away, we must make him believe we are near. Hold out baits to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and crush him.

If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is tempermental, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant. If he is taking his ease, give him no rest. If his forces are united, separate them. If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.

"The art of using troops is this:
......When ten to the enemy's one, surround him;
......When five times his strength, attack him;
......If double his strength, divide him;
......If equally matched you may engage him;
......If weaker numerically, be capable of withdrawing;
......And if in all respects unequal, be capable of eluding him,
..........for a small force is but booty for one more powerful."
- Sun Tzu ("Art Of War")
[/SIZE]
vinyloae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2002, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
princess

Bank: 1,011.59
Total Points: 1,958.89

Well, we'll have to have a serious discussion.
I don't want my kids to feel like they have to look normal and like everybody else (cos who defines what is normal?) I want them to be able to make good decisions for themselves like "What exactly is my purpose for dressing this way? Is it to seek attention? Why do I need attention? Is there any other way I can achieve what I want without having to dress this way?"

When I have kids, I plan to put my foot down sometimes and let them know what I think is acceptable or not. But when it comes to issues like this, I will leave room for discussion (not negotiation, but discussion) so that they can see if certain things are worth it.

For example, I'd want my child after such a discussion to be able to answer all the above questions and also to feel wiser. Instead of Vinyl's kids who would pack extra clothes, go over to their friends bitching about their mom and then walk around town having pple mutter to themselves "Can you believe Vinyloae let her kids leave the house like that?" (And Vinyl's a** would be in the dark!)

Womanist: A black feminist or feminist of color....
Usually referring to outrageous, audacious, courageous or willful behavior. Wanting to know more and in greater depth than is considered "good" for one...

Appreciates and prefers women's culture, women's emotional flexibility... and women's strength... Committed to survival and wholeness of entire people, male and female. Not a separatist...

...Loves herself. Regardless.

Womanist is to feminist as purple is to lavender.

~ A. W.
miss lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2002, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
princess

Bank: 1,011.59
Total Points: 1,958.89

Originally posted by vinyloae
I grew up in Nigeria. Not even in LA , KD or PH, I grew up in Warri. If I had tried the gothic phase, I would have been taken for a series of deliverance sessions.
Back to your question. My parents had a lot to say about what we wore. Phases ko faces ni. My mum had to give you the eye and you would take your behind back quickly to change. As for my dad, we knew better,he shouldnt even see you going through a stupid phase. Any phases we went through, we went through outside the house i.e you changed at your destination
I will lay down the dress code for my kids. Any interesting phases they will like to go through, they better do it outside cos I wont be raising undertakers or children that look like modern art.
Which one be LA??? I never hear that one b4, and I live for Lagos.
Na only Lag I hear sha, besides even that one e get as e be. Lagos is only two syllables abeg!

Womanist: A black feminist or feminist of color....
Usually referring to outrageous, audacious, courageous or willful behavior. Wanting to know more and in greater depth than is considered "good" for one...

Appreciates and prefers women's culture, women's emotional flexibility... and women's strength... Committed to survival and wholeness of entire people, male and female. Not a separatist...

...Loves herself. Regardless.

Womanist is to feminist as purple is to lavender.

~ A. W.
miss lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2002, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,874.48

Originally posted by miss lady

Which one be LA??? I never hear that one b4, and I live for Lagos.
Na only Lag I hear sha, besides even that one e get as e be. Lagos is only two syllables abeg!
Jesu se anu mi.

ML, because you havent neared Nigeria in a while, I will excuse you for not knowing this. Yeye
All warfare is based on deception. Hence, when able to attack, we must seem unable; when using our forces, we must seem inactive; when we are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away; when far away, we must make him believe we are near. Hold out baits to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and crush him.

If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is tempermental, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant. If he is taking his ease, give him no rest. If his forces are united, separate them. If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.

"The art of using troops is this:
......When ten to the enemy's one, surround him;
......When five times his strength, attack him;
......If double his strength, divide him;
......If equally matched you may engage him;
......If weaker numerically, be capable of withdrawing;
......And if in all respects unequal, be capable of eluding him,
..........for a small force is but booty for one more powerful."
- Sun Tzu ("Art Of War")
[/SIZE]
vinyloae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2002, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Probably just terrible teens

Let them express themselves ....but just put your foot down when it comes to family functions etc if ur that bothered .

But it'll probably go away quicker if u ignore it ....and if it doesnt change /phase out then it was meant to be

Old 06-16-2002, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 4,689.75
Total Points: 4,765.95
Default Re: fashion phase

Originally posted by clockwise
i was wondering what if one of your kids suddenlly decides to wear black clothes, black makeup (if you allow them) basically gothic fashion how are you going to help the child see the light, hence try alternative clothing or are you going to accept him or her if they are going through a phase. i mean, oh those crappy tv shows you have make-overs and stuff, is that really helping the person out, if that's how he or she wants to express him or herself. i mean i know people you dress very eccentric and sometimes outrageous but they are one of the nicest people i will ever meet. what does one do? is it a phase some people are bound to go through. i mean, i fashion has changed, i would hope for the better, since i have a better understanding of what suits my body and what does not? what's your take on this
I would neat their ass, and nothing else to it, and if that fails, they are going to Military school..... With that style of dress I can't send them to naija, they might join a cult......

-bsobit1

"to handicap a student by teaching him that his Black face is a curse and that his struggle to change his condition is hopeless is the worst sort of lynching."

...::"...Alpha is the BROTHERHOOD that brings us all around
But THETA is our home, our love, our manhood training ground
The boot camp of brotherhood, the love for all mankind
Yes, I am my brother's keeper, that's the THETA state of mind."::...

KnOwLeDgE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
One in Town

Total Points: 2,912.48

Originally posted by vinyloae
I grew up in Nigeria. Not even in LA, KD or PH, I grew up in Warri. If I had tried the gothic phase, I would have been taken for a series of deliverance sessions.
couldn't say it berra my sista!

http://www.atoneonline.com

http://www.omogeent.com

Omoge Entertainment will fo eva be doin the damn thing!!!
ConDuctor is offline   Reply With Quote