Old 11-21-2006, 09:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
IvanaHumpalot

Default Does anyone know any traditional Edo recipes

I only know igbo, ibibio and some yoruba recipes
Old 11-21-2006, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
TheBendelite

why u wanna know
Old 11-21-2006, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

The only Edo food I remember chopping is Ema and stew (pounded yam).

Boil Yam (with small salt)
Use pestle and mortar to pound until you get the right consistency.

The pestle and mortar might be an obstacle here....I don't have one, and I hate the pounded yam made from the powder. I've heard you can make pounded yam using your boiled yam....if you have a stand mixer with a paddle attachment....Never tried it but I hear it works and has a nice consistency
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 11-21-2006, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 0.69
Total Points: 3,783.29
Rep Power: 97084 Bayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legendBayelsagrl is a legend

bush meat pepper soup, with exotic spices..
Old 01-20-2007, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 9,918.53
Total Points: 11,563.12
Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

I'm not sure if they are traditional but umm...
the garden egg stew recipe i posted a while back i'm not sure the spelling. i dunno if it's make by other ethnic groups in naija...
Owo i think it's traditional... it's basically really smooth blended tomatoes, crayfish, and onions with pepper... u cook it for like 20 mins to thicken it then let it cool for a while not too long,, add ikan hun and palm oil u have to do it slowly it's tricky to make sha.. too much ikan hun or palm oil will completely change the taste. it should have a nice light to mid orange color
eyon obo ... it's basically a well seasoned meats(tripes, gizzards, livers, hearts if that's what u like) the stock from the meats then add blended tomatoes, onions, crayfish, and a little bitterleaf... my momsie always made it and it's delish!!!
Old 01-20-2007, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Originally Posted by omoge86
I'm not sure if they are traditional but umm...
the garden egg stew recipe i posted a while back i'm not sure the spelling. i dunno if it's make by other ethnic groups in naija...
Owo i think it's traditional... it's basically really smooth blended tomatoes, crayfish, and onions with pepper... u cook it for like 20 mins to thicken it then let it cool for a while not too long,, add ikan hun and palm oil u have to do it slowly it's tricky to make sha.. too much ikan hun or palm oil will completely change the taste. it should have a nice light to mid orange color eyon obo ... it's basically a well seasoned meats(tripes, gizzards, livers, hearts if that's what u like) the stock from the meats then add blended tomatoes, onions, crayfish, and a little bitterleaf... my momsie always made it and it's delish!!!
owo is the ish especially when eaten with yam or boiled plantain
Old 01-21-2007, 03:08 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

Originally Posted by askimoli
yes ooooooo owo and yam ....... owo and roasted yam that's what we eat in my village during Itihyan oooooo it's worth taking a trip to the village for mehn...with bushmeat and everything

Do igbo people make it or is it only Edo???
Old 01-21-2007, 07:32 AM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Originally Posted by omoge86
yes ooooooo owo and yam ....... owo and roasted yam that's what we eat in my village during Itihyan oooooo it's worth taking a trip to the village for mehn...with bushmeat and everything

Do igbo people make it or is it only Edo???
igbo's don't make it, my "in-laws" are edo
Old 01-22-2007, 03:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Detroit Queen

Bank: 3,046,352.12
Total Points: 3,056,533.77
Rep Power: 99096 Belinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legendBelinda is a legend

men where is AK1 when u need her ehn

Don't praise God from the Victory but praise him for the Victory cause he says that victory is already ours for the taking
</b></marquee>

Stop telling God how big your storm is. Instead tell your storm how big your GOD is.
<b>F</b>ear is <b>E</b>vidence that <b>A</b>ppear <b>R</b>eal
Life is too short but Eternity isn't
I don't believe in Weakness it cost too much
Stop talking about your past and start inviting your future
if u tell life what u want then u limit it

<marquee><b>Detroit's First Ultimate DYME DELTA DIVA Ryder And The Notorious Detroit Queen Ryder " Belindalicious " THE QUEEN OF HER DOMAIN</b></marquee>

FAMOUS WORDS FROM OYOSE

because frog wey cross python front for daylight dey do so at im own risk!
Hyena wey disturb lion as im dey chop runs the risk of becoming part of the meal !

The Infamous Thread

My Testimony

http://www.naijaryders.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=41170
Belinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 11:08 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Belinda
men where is AK1 when u need her ehn
AK1 is Edo(BINI)??
Old 01-23-2007, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
most dzireable ryder

Bank: 0.77
Total Points: 146.58
Rep Power: 2786788 Queen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legendQueen Dx is a legend

Originally Posted by askimoli

4 real. That ish can make u teef. Thanks omoge for the recipe
Queen Dx is offline   Reply With Quote