Old 11-20-2006, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,650.15
Rep Power: 0 Rodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legendRodi is a legend
Default Nigerian Fraud 'Huge Problem For UK'

Post on YAHOO FRONT PAGE

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/20112006/14...roblem-uk.html

Nigerian Fraud 'Huge Problem For UK' Monday November 20, 04:45 AM

New research says scams operated by Nigerian fraudsters are becoming "a large and pressing problem" in the UK. A report by an independent research body says internet scams, credit card fraud and money-laundering are going unchecked by governments in both countries. Nigerian-style "fee frauds", which see conmen send emails asking for help to spirit looted funds out of the country, are said to cost the UK economy £150m a year - with average losses per victim topping £30,000.

The study, by Chatham House, said corruption is sneaking through the net because it is not seen in Britain as a priority problem.

"Criminal activity is carried out by a small minority of Nigerians, relative to the size of the country and the number of nationals resident in Britain or visiting it," it said.

"But the numbers of people involved are still significant and their successes reflect wider political and logistical shortcomings with the way the British authorities deal with financial crime.

"Nigeria-related financial crime has become a large and pressing problem for UK authorities."

Despite the country's booming oil industry many Nigerians are very poor, which has helped spark a series of criminal networks, the report added.

On a single day in 2005, a check at Heathrow airport revealed £20m-worth of forged cheques and postal orders in courier mail from the African country's capital, Lagos.

And in another incident last year at a parcel centre in Coventry, customs officials seized more than £1m in cheques hidden in a single handbag sent from the country.
Rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Kai mehn .... i swear UK is full of those 419 cats. Very soon they will drastic actions against us if we are not careful, commonwealth/colonial masters or not. This is surely sad. I am scared to hear the immigration restrictions they will have no choice but put in place one day.
Old 11-21-2006, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 326.57
Rep Power: 0 JaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet CelebrityJaspER is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

Kai mehn .... i swear UK is full of those 419 cats. Very soon they will drastic actions against us if we are not careful, commonwealth/colonial masters or not. This is surely sad. I am scared to hear the immigration restrictions they will have no choice but put in place one day.
yeah thats really terrible. I can confirm how much scrutiny i had to go through even with a New Zealand passport (I showed my Nigerian passport because my Canadian visa was in it). Its really sad. Most of us have friends and /or family in the UK and soon but surely, the UK home office will make it extremely difficult for us Naijas to enter that country...
Old 11-21-2006, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 6,000.00
Rep Power: 135809 Kugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legendKugbe is a legend

Bullshit...2 sides to the coin.
Kugbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Originally Posted by Kugbe
Bullshit...2 sides to the coin.
huh ? wat do u mean bullshit ? expantiate small na
Old 03-10-2007, 01:30 AM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 700,023.85
Rep Power: 21367501 buffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legend

oh boy this guy just went crazy .

d for dude. u okay ??????
Old 03-26-2007, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 10,657.52
Total Points: 17,780.92
Rep Power: 0 oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!oshobambam is a rep whore!
Cool

d for dude na wa !!!!!!!! i just go through 6-3-3-4 with you finish.anyways,the 'so called people' that nigerians scam;are they not criminals themselves.cos i can;t imagine someone giving u a fantastic tale of a pot of gold laying somewhere and u swallow that hook,line and sinker......come on u must be so greedy to fall for that!
in my beemaa....X5 2 be exact
wit honies by my side
and homies at my back
oshobambam is offline   Reply With Quote