Old 11-16-2006, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1732215 Laydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legend
Default Simply Put

Simply Put

Simply put I lie between happiness and sadness

I live with grief but rejoice so often

Simply put I live with the struggles of my people in mind

I live in a galaxy which is stuck in time

I still see the riots and raids

The beatings and hangings

I still follow the big dipper and try to make it through the under ground railroad
seeking freedom
I’m still putting castor oil on the wounds
I still say master and misses

Simply put I’m back on the boats shackled at the foot

Simple ways simple days no event in African history can be simply put

Yet they try and recreate our struggles in history books

Never stating all the facts. Just “simply” putting it.

We’re people from a complex background stemming from the soil of Mother Africa

We worshipped different Gods this made us animalistic beast

Why didn’t such an inhuman race fight back against our upheaval?

Why we let them take us away?

And take the stings of the whips

Why didn’t we seek the help of our Gods?

Mix up a spell to make them disappear

They stayed for days and even years they made camps on our sacred grounds they disrespected our ancestors

They took us away they robbed me they robbed us of our culture

Fela said they try to take the Africanism out of our people

Now they wonder why it’s so hard for Olaoluwa and Funmilayo to survive

Simply put from the day the boats reached the shore we’ve been fighting for our survival

Don’t approach us with cameras trying to analyze our minds

Writing editorials about our tragic events

Giving us special names

Separating us so we feel we’re not all the same

Africa can never be simply put in any terms

Stop rediscovering us over and over again

stop saying we’re corrupt

Your disruption caused our corruption

Brainwashing us into believing the right way of life is the "Western way"

Now we're lost and can't find the us which was once in Africa

Last edited by Laydee-B; 11-17-2006 at 03:14 AM..
Laydee-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 10308491 Efizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legend

Originally Posted by Laydee-B
Simply Put

Simply put I lie between happiness and sadness

I live with grief but rejoice so often

Simply put I live with the struggles of my people in mind

I live in a galaxy which is stuck in time

I still see the riots and raids

The beatings and hangings

I still follow the big dipper and try to make it through the under ground railroad

I’m still putting castor oil on the whips

I still say master and misses

Simply put I’m back on the boats shackled at the foot

Simple ways simple days no event in our history can be simply put

Yet they try and recreate our struggles in history books

Never stating all the facts. Just “simply” putting it.

We’re people from a complex background stemming from the soil of Mother Africa

We worshipped different Gods this made us animalistic beast

Why didn’t such an inhuman race fight back against our upheaval?

Why we let them take us away?

And take the stings of the whips

Why didn’t we seek the help of our Gods?

Mix up a spell to make them disappear

They stayed for days and even years they made camps on our sacred grounds they disrespected our ancestors

They took us away they robbed me they robbed us of our culture

Fela said they try to take the Africanism out of our people

Now they wonder why it’s so hard for Olaoluwa and Funmilayo to survive

Simply put from the day the boats reached the shore we’ve been fighting for our survival

Don’t approach us with cameras trying to analyze our minds

Writing editorials about our tragic events

Giving us special names

Separating us so we feel we’re not all the same

Africa can never be simply put in any terms

Stop rediscovering us over and over again

stop saying we’re corrupt

Your disruption caused our corruption

Brainwashing us into believing the right way of life is the "Western way"

Now we're lost and can't find the us which was once in Africa
Thats true..Yeye people wey no get culture.
Old 11-23-2006, 04:17 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1732215 Laydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legendLaydee-B is a legend

tell me about it
Old 01-10-2007, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)

people be sleepin on my poems!