Old 04-14-2007, 06:42 PM   #76 (permalink)
The Apprentice

Bank: 293,366.82
Total Points: 308,183.02
Rep Power: 693731 NnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legendNnekaLawal is a legend

Originally Posted by shakara

we actually have the same culture where if a family does not have male sons, the eldest daughter is not allowed to marry..but has to bear children so that they can carry on the family name. The kids do not have to come from a monogamous relationship either.
Also, if a woman cannot bear children for her husband, she marries a "wife"...and the "wife" bears children and those children are considered hers.. this is just so tha tthe family name can be continued. the "wife" is not considered the husband's wife though.. she is considered "married" to the original wife... its complicated sha... but my mom's God-mother had to do this cuz she couldn't bear children...
I guess Ogoni people do this too.
NnekaLawal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 06:58 PM   #77 (permalink)

Total Points: 60,332,041,959.23
Rep Power: 21474898 Icegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legend

Originally Posted by fancy
wow we are from the same local government area. Since they divided it into north and south i don't even know which one i belong too. Make i go rep you.
lol...My sister ha you dey? My Dad said we're from idemili north.

Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer!
Old 04-14-2007, 07:51 PM   #78 (permalink)

Bank: 31,735,018,227.16
Total Points: 31,759,241,783.76
Rep Power: 1670424 gchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legendgchild82 is a legend

My villa is Asaba in Delta State. I love eating bush meat anytime I go there.
gchild82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:41 AM   #79 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,062,191.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

Originally Posted by icegold
lol...My sister ha you dey? My Dad said we're from idemili north.
I dey oh sista
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 04-15-2007, 06:30 PM   #80 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

Yes oh.. gotta rep IB (Ibadan) & Ogun state ( Ijebu aiyepe)..

Old 04-19-2007, 12:44 AM   #81 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Bank: 52,144,950,425.78
Total Points: 52,145,759,274.20
Rep Power: 2470000000 mel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legend

bama in borno state,
we r actually supposed to be kanuri but we ended up as chibok,a dejavu that historians can't account for.
the intensity of the sun,the ever shining fried grasshopper and smoked fish is a constant welcome signature of my town.
its known that on a blessed day ,water from the tap as early as 6.00 am can do u good eba.
when u visit the market u don't need to ask for meat section,just look for where multitude of flies r gathered.again beef is so so cheap a cow still goes for like 6k

yes i speak ibo cos i lived in the bolori-ibo dominated area and also sojourned in places like ariaria,onitsha and what have u

What a man has,
what he can offer having what he has,
what he can do when he does not have,
and what he can't or won't do with what he has
- defines the man.
.... Mel, inspired by Starlomor
mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 08:45 PM   #82 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1978495 Shylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legend

Originally Posted by Nwamaka
in Ogoni-land, in a family with all female children, the first child is not supposed to get married because she has to continue the family name. she can have children, but they will bear her last name.
OMG.are u freal?i hope ur not the first
Old 11-27-2007, 03:11 AM   #83 (permalink)

Bank: 45,901,807.25
Total Points: 46,752,347.25
Rep Power: 3359838 PALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legend

It is not only an Ogni thing. it is very common practice in traditional Igbo culture. On my Mothers end (ngwaa) my grandmom married a woman to carry her husband's name and same with some cousins on my father's side.
Originally Posted by Mzz Nita
in Ogoni-land, in a family with all female children, the first child is not supposed to get married because she has to continue the family name. she can have children, but they will bear her last name.
Old 11-27-2007, 03:12 AM   #84 (permalink)

Bank: 45,901,807.25
Total Points: 46,752,347.25
Rep Power: 3359838 PALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legendPALADIN is a legend

interesting.. didnt know u were a Delta chic.
Originally Posted by shakara
Nappy, we always passed Ibusa(or Igbuzo(r) when going to my villa in naija and we always made my parents tell us the story.
The word Ibusa is a hybrid of the word "Igbo bi na uzo" (meaning the Igbo's that live on the road) and has been shortened along the way to Ibusa.
apparently, they story goes that in igbo land (central igbo- imo state), a prince accidentally killed a man. because it was an accident and because he was a prince, instead of punishing him in the village, he was ex-communicated and sent away. For his journey, he was given a slave/companion(ohene) who was given some sort of load to carry. their instructions were that they were to walk as far as they could go till they could walk no more and wherever they dropped the load is where they should settle.
They travelled non-stop till they reached what is now modern day Ibusa
where the slave dropped the load which was literally by the side of a road that people used to travel to market etc. which is how they came to be called Igbo bi na uzo-> Igbuzor->Ibusa.....
its quite an interesting story.......(i'm sure i missed some stuff but thats the gist of the story sha..)

My mom is from Ogwashi uku and they and my Dad's pple say Mmeeh or edeke for blood
Old 11-27-2007, 12:56 PM   #85 (permalink)

Bank: 21,843,621.64
Total Points: 21,852,494.38
Rep Power: 21474856 datnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legend

Originally Posted by Misty
I know Nigeria is blessed with a lot of natural resources and sights....please share somn interesting about ur hometown/villa... include the name of ur hometown and state

I'm a ph chick, born and raised but when I was in Nigeria, I used to go to my villa once a year. My villa is Ikare Akoko in Ondo State....growing up, I realized one unique thing dat my village was known for in Ondo state was that it was situated in between 2 mountains....and they call one of the mountains the male and the other one the female and dats actually included in my oriki (omo tako tabo - male and female in my dialect). I can't exactly point which one is which but from my grandma's house (on a hill) you can see both of them. Everytime I go back home, I always up to the top floor of my grandma's house to stare at them. I think they are unique and really beautiful.
My alleged original village is Igboguwi which in the heart of Benin City....all I remember was the sand was really red.
Old 11-28-2007, 09:01 PM   #86 (permalink)

Bank: 89,416.97
Total Points: 93,325.49
Rep Power: 4659055 La Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legend

Originally Posted by Mzz Nita
Happens in Igboland as well...

Originally Posted by askimoli
a whole ND, aka ji aku 1 of NR, onwa n'etiri ryders, osisi n'ami mkpuru gold, otimkpu 1 of ndi nwere vshape?
La Reine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 01:31 PM   #87 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,653.55
Rep Power: 0 Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!Rakel is a rep whore!

i come from wukari, where the tiv and jukuns make the place popular