Old 10-10-2008, 08:05 PM   #1411 (permalink)
Little Terror

Bank: 6,802,632,460,299.28
Total Points: 6,802,632,460,309.43
Rep Power: 13824209 Missy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legendMissy is a legend

okay i'll leave a message next time

man u girlz should go nd advertise 4 toothpick company instead of wastin ur talent
Beautiful.........Can U remain lik dis 4reva? of u'll fade afta somtime?
Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:53 PM   #1412 (permalink)

Bank: 50,360,967,517.16
Total Points: 50,360,999,777.73
Rep Power: 21474853 yahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legendyahtzee is a legend

when Im looking at this your pics, I swear I could smell em from here...
I wanna make somthing from your recipes but I dont know which one to pick

you said you dont grind your tomatoes or cook it too long..doesnt it have that tangy strong tomatoe taste, since you dont cook it too long?
yahtzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 02:15 AM   #1413 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Luckily as an alhaji, I'm allowed to marry more than one wife......

Thanks y'all....

@ Yahtzee, your culprit is onions, not tomato...Blend and cook them separately and see what happens.

Generally, tomatoes are plum and sweet, we get the funny taste because we blend them with onions. To get rid of the funny bitter taste (depending on what you're cooking) simmer and let the natural sweetness set and flow out naturally, always avoid high heat, high heat creates cloudy look, unappetizing and unpleasant taste.

Sure, I don't blend and cook forever, blending muddles up your desired taste and result, cooking for too long creates the same end result. I prefer tasty and fresh looking ingredients.

I toss a lot to release and impart flavors. (don't hesitate to introduce other ingredients ans seasonings to bring out other flavors and results)

For fish, beef and egusi stews, I simply fry cut up onions, tomatoes, garlic and peppers in Olive or Palm Oil then add tomato sauce an let cook down for like 5 mins before adding beef or chicken stock (you don't want to add too much cos you're gonna have to cook forever to get rid of excess liquid)

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 02:23 AM   #1414 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Sonoma Grill::: Grilled Egg Plants, Sword Fish And Mashed Parmesan Reggiano Potatoes With Roasted Onions And Peppers.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 10-11-2008, 04:42 PM   #1415 (permalink)
March Madness!!!

Bank: 34,975,426,365,932.37
Total Points: 34,975,426,790,615.14
Rep Power: 21474890 voodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legendvoodoo is a legend

Alhaji, someone recommended bluefish to me for cooking stew. What do you think?
(*) (*)
voodoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 06:19 AM   #1416 (permalink)

Originally Posted by voodoo View Post
Alhaji, someone recommended bluefish to me for cooking stew. What do you think?

Oga Voodoo, how now?

Blue fish na one kind funny fish, it has a strong fishy and oily taste..tho not sure how and where you're getting it from, I suggest you get 'em fresh and gut and cook 'em right away cos blue fish tend to deteriorate, change color and get mushy mushy pretty fast.....

I grilled one few months ago, I was looking for "blue runner" and some asian guy (kemah seafood market in texas) suggested blue fish...I didn't like like it at all, it was too fishy and oily.

The preferred cooking methods are grilling, braising and baking. I really don't know much about stewing naija style cos I never try am before....

Try am make we see abeg....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 10-12-2008, 06:27 AM   #1417 (permalink)

Roast Chuck With Jollof And Regova Salad....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 10-12-2008 at 11:23 AM..
Old 10-12-2008, 07:07 PM   #1418 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 807,073,710.71
Total Points: 807,479,740.86
Rep Power: 21474915 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Default Chicken wrapped in promisuitto ham

Ingridients
black pepper
parma ham , any posh ham will do (smoked)
chicken fillets
olive oil
fresh parmesan

grate some parmesan on your fillet
season with pepper
wrap fillet in ham
place in a food bag

smash with a frying pan to flatten
season with pepper

place on gridle pan, splash some olive oil
pierce and cook evenly on both sides

serve on wild rocket or any salad of your choice

(do not use salt, you get salt from the ham)

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:19 PM   #1419 (permalink)

Bank: 1,534,308,946.73
Total Points: 1,534,353,407.28
Rep Power: 21474868 Consultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legend

nice stuff alhaji

Last edited by Consultant; 10-12-2008 at 09:21 PM..
Consultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 05:01 AM   #1420 (permalink)

good stuff Lanju, too bad I don't eat elede...you ate all that by yourself??

@ Consultant, thanks man.........

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 10-13-2008, 05:04 AM   #1421 (permalink)

Creamy Sweet Potato Soup, Grilled Roasted Rack Of Lamb In Reduced Wine Sauce, Wild Basmanti And White And Yellow Cauliflower With Candied Carrots...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 10-13-2008 at 06:47 AM..
Old 10-14-2008, 12:41 AM   #1422 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 807,073,710.71
Total Points: 807,479,740.86
Rep Power: 21474915 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri View Post
Creamy Sweet Potato Soup, Grilled Roasted Rack Of Lamb In Reduced Wine Sauce, Wild Basmanti And White And Yellow Cauliflower With Candied Carrots...

alhaji

my guy i give you 11 out of 10 for this. great stuff

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:12 AM   #1423 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Lanju View Post
my guy i give you 11 out of 10 for this. great stuff
Wow!! Thanks Lanju. I enjoyed the recipe too, it was very complex and intensely flavored.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 10-15-2008 at 01:38 AM..
Old 10-15-2008, 01:23 AM   #1424 (permalink)

Fresh Chicken Tortillas Soup...........

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 10-15-2008 at 01:34 AM..
Old 10-15-2008, 04:35 AM   #1425 (permalink)
Super Woman

Bank: 38,722,735,834.48
Total Points: 38,723,032,037.27
Rep Power: 21474860 SweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri View Post

Fresh Chicken Tortillas Soup...........

alhaji
recipe, please!