Old 12-09-2007, 05:53 AM   #916 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by icegold
Hey Alhaji, quick question.

I just got some allspice and I'm a lil hesitant to use it.

What do you know abt it flavorwise and wat other seasoning complement it.

lol. I don't blame you, that's one useless seasoning/spice, it has not distinctive flavor. It's very present in chinese kithen and menu. You can't dash it in your jollof, fried rice, stew and sauces, not even in salads. Well, depending on what you're trying to dash it in sha. Generally for me?, nahh.

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 06:14 AM   #917 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

HOT Chicken Curry Fusion

Ingredients:::

Skinless chicken leg quarters (4-6)

Olive Oil

Butter/unsalted

HOT curry mix (Curry blend::Tumeric, Italian seasoning, pickling spice, powderd ginger, powderd grand masala, powderd mustard, powderd onion, cayenne pepper)

California Raisins

shredded coconut (unsweetened)

1 tsp peanut butter

Salt

Black pepper

1/2 Jalapeņo pepper

Onions

Green bell pepper

Tomato

Garlic

Clove

Nutmeg

Quick steam fry cut up let quarter in Olive Oil (just to sear and seal in flavor)

Add butter (2 tbs)

Add/Fry sliced onions, green bell pepper, tomato, garlic, jalapeņo pepper and cloves.

Add/Fry HOT curry mix and peanut butter (Low heat from now on)

Add chicken stock

Cook for 10 min

Add salt, black pepper, dash of nutmeg, raisins, shredded coconut.

Simmer @ 300 deg' for 15-20 min

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 12-09-2007, 06:17 AM   #918 (permalink)

Stewed Grilled Tilapia

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 12-11-2007, 08:53 PM   #919 (permalink)

Bank: 0.90
Total Points: 5,501.35
Rep Power: 13657475 Premium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legend
Default Spagetti Grill:: With Grilled Salmon and Veggie

Spaghetti Grill:: With Blackened Salmon and Veggie

alhaji
Premium Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:20 AM   #920 (permalink)

Bank: 7,219.25
Total Points: 9,577.95
Rep Power: 0 musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau musibau

Originally Posted by Premium Ninja

alhaji
Interesting...
Damengoro, Alhaji Otta, Shadare, Akala, Ojuwoye, Abiodun, Post Office Rd, Asofiyan, Olateju, Olorunshogo, Ayantuga, Coker, Agunbiade, Railway line, Kelani, Kajola, Awawu, Palm Avenue, Papa Ajao, Ladipo, Sebanjo, Badejo Kalesanwo, Fafolu.
musibau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 01:40 AM   #921 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,531.10
Rep Power: 0 Mahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legend

alhaji
Are the noodles "dressed" in any way?
Mahoganyjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 01:46 AM   #922 (permalink)

Bank: 0.90
Total Points: 5,501.35
Rep Power: 13657475 Premium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legendPremium Ninja is a legend

Originally Posted by Mahoganyjd
Are the noodles "dressed" in any way?

Oh yes::Light Butter Italian sauce. It's a low calorie dish.
Premium Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:30 PM   #923 (permalink)

Bank: 3,996,044.08
Total Points: 4,331,555.08
Rep Power: 21474882 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

Alhaji- your curry is very Indian looking
My own curry is pretty much
whole chicken- of course cut up into about half palm sizes, season with curry mixed with pimento, salt, onions and a lil bit of tomatoes sliced up. I let it sit for about 6 hours if i can.
THen i put a little bit of olive oil ( about one or two table spoons) in the dutchie pot, and let it heat up. then i put the chicken and let it brown for a bit. Make sure it isnt sticking, then i dump the onions and seasoning left in the bowl that i seasoned it in, inside the pot. I cover it and let it cook depending on how much chicken is in there.
I use flour or potato to thicken it. My mom cooks hers with sliced carrots sha.
try curry chicken with white rice, and cole slaw with Sorrel (ZoBo). thats the schnizit.
Old 12-12-2007, 03:28 PM   #924 (permalink)

Bank: 1,694,367.39
Total Points: 1,740,364.09
Rep Power: 21474858 wakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legendwakawaka is a legend

Originally Posted by pynkspyce
whole chicken- of course cut up into about half palm sizes, season with curry mixed with pimento, salt, onions and a lil bit of tomatoes sliced up. I let it sit for about 6 hours if i can.
THen i put a little bit of olive oil ( about one or two table spoons) in the dutchie pot, and let it heat up. then i put the chicken and let it brown for a bit. Make sure it isnt sticking, then i dump the onions and seasoning left in the bowl that i seasoned it in, inside the pot. I cover it and let it cook depending on how much chicken is in there.
try curry chicken with white rice, and cole slaw with Sorrel (ZoBo). thats the schnizit.

That is how i make mine. Jamaican Style. I like to use rice and green peas

I dont mess with curry b/c if not cooked properly, u will spend the whole day on the toilet seat

Last edited by wakawaka; 12-12-2007 at 03:31 PM..
wakawaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:50 AM   #925 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,531.10
Rep Power: 0 Mahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legendMahoganyjd is a legend

Oh yes::Light Butter Italian sauce. It's a low calorie dish.
Nice Did you make it yourself or did you purchase it? If the latter, what brand is it?
Mahoganyjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 12:45 AM   #926 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mahoganyjd
Nice Did you make it yourself or did you purchase it? If the latter, what brand is it?

lol. Yes, every dish in this thread.

Thanks.....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 12-14-2007, 12:47 AM   #927 (permalink)

Originally Posted by pynkspyce

lol. You know I'm swiping your recipe right? Yes you're right, unmistakenly indian, esp' with masala, coconut, raisin and peanut. I do a lot of curry dishes. Thai ginger curry is still my favorite.

I like to brown mine too, I think it intensifies the flavor. I made this (Jamaican curry chicken) for a friend of mine a few weeks ago, minus pimento of course. I jazzed it up with a lil fresh basil and celery.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 12-14-2007 at 01:39 AM..
Old 12-14-2007, 01:37 AM   #928 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 607,753.14
Total Points: 122,189,524.56
Rep Power: 21474880 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

I must try this this winter!

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 11:55 AM   #929 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474882 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

shey to eat it with rice & green peas? nah. White rice and curry is what i was taught, @ least my granny says u cant have too much going on.
Originally Posted by wakawaka
That is how i make mine. Jamaican Style. I like to use rice and green peas

I dont mess with curry b/c if not cooked properly, u will spend the whole day on the toilet seat
Old 12-15-2007, 11:58 AM   #930 (permalink)

yeah, this pix looks more like my style of curry. Sometimes i even drop in chopped ginger and fresh thyme while it cooks. I love the curry when the color is bright.

do you have the receipe for Cocunut rice?
Maybe i should start taking pictures when i cook. You guys have me going now.
Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri
lol. You know I'm swiping your recipe right? Yes you're right, unmistakenly indian, esp' with masala, coconut, raisin and peanut. I do a lot of curry dishes. Thai ginger curry is still my favorite.

I like to brown mine too, I think it intensifies the flavor. I made this (Jamaican curry chicken) for a friend of mine a few weeks ago, minus pimento of course. I jazzed it up with a lil fresh basil and celery.

alhaji

Last edited by pynkspyce; 12-15-2007 at 12:03 PM..
pynkspyce is offline   Reply With Quote