Old 10-09-2007, 01:56 AM   #901 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Thai Ginger Pepper Chicken.........

Ingredients>::

Hot Thai Curry

Fresh ginger (1 tbs finely grated)

Bell/Green pepper

Onions

Garlic

Crushed red chili pepper

Olive Oil

Potatoes

Shredded coconut (unsweetened)

Raisins

Italian seasoning

Salt

Black pepper

>>>>>

Flash fry chicken (don't cook) strictly for brown crust and sealing in flavors.

Add curry, onions, garlic, peppers, seasonings and potatoes and 4 spoons of Olive Oil

Cook for 10 mins

Adjust seasoning

Add Potatoes

Add Shredded coconut and raisins

Add crushed chili pepper

Adjust seasoning and simmer for 10-15 mins.

Good Luck..............

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 04:23 AM   #902 (permalink)

Total Points: 3,585.35

I've been known to make really good curry chicken. But that madras curry spoils the taste. I use the good old fashioned Nigerian curry powder. Yumm!
Old 10-10-2007, 11:18 AM   #903 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 607,753.14
Total Points: 122,189,524.56
Rep Power: 21474880 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

Thank you, Alhaji.

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 12:15 AM   #904 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

edit...........

@ lummie, anytime

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 11-02-2007 at 08:01 AM..
Old 11-03-2007, 12:56 AM   #905 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,278,099,913.40
Rep Power: 21474864 djmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legend

Alhaji baba sheri, my name is kabiru seriki from number 27 amokomowo street ketu. I'm a big fan of your show and follow you closely . My question today is: I'd like to cook cat fish stew (obe ata) this wkend since i finally grew tired of goat meat. how do you suggest i go about seasoning the fish proper? a good friend of mine (a ryder and good cook) recommended i first soak the fish in salt water for a short period of time - i guess to let the salt penetrate the fish well well..any ideas? and also at what point in time should i add the fish to the boiling stew in roder to avoid the fish disintergrating all over the soup by the time stew is ready. I'd appreciate any input

Last edited by djmightymike; 11-03-2007 at 01:01 AM..
djmightymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 11:49 AM   #906 (permalink)

Originally Posted by djmightymike
Alhaji baba sheri, my name is kabiru seriki from number 27 amokomowo street ketu. I'm a big fan of your show and follow you closely . My question today is: I'd like to cook cat fish stew (obe ata) this wkend since i finally grew tired of goat meat. how do you suggest i go about seasoning the fish proper? a good friend of mine (a ryder and good cook) recommended i first soak the fish in salt water for a short period of time - i guess to let the salt penetrate the fish well well..any ideas? and also at what point in time should i add the fish to the boiling stew in roder to avoid the fish disintergrating all over the soup by the time stew is ready. I'd appreciate any input

Thank you very much Mr kabiru seriki

Ok let's take it from the soaking part (Good Idea)

What level of thickness are you gunning for? Thick or runny?
I prefer thick> mid thick sha.

Clean, season and get your fish ready.

Slice some tomato, garlic and onions

Heat up some olive oil (optional)

Add your tomato, garlic and onions. 1-2 mins

Add 1-2 small cans of tomato sauce (No need to blend up stuff. Try Target Brand T.Sauce, I thinks it's the best...great price too)

Simmer for 5-8 mins

Add your fish

Add water and check for desired level of thickness.

Adjust seasoning and simmer/cook for 5>10mins

Don't stir cos you don't want to disturb and breakup the fish, just lean the pot side to side to get the sauce all over the fish.

1 dash of Italian seasoning

Taste and adjust seasoning

Simmer for 10 > 15 mins

P:S Don't boil if you don't want your fish to overcook, break up and looking cloudy.

Do not stir

Checkout some samples...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 11-03-2007, 12:36 PM   #907 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,278,099,913.40
Rep Power: 21474864 djmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legenddjmightymike is a legend

dang! alhaji you shouod open a restaurant . i will def be referencing this back and forth. Thanks
djmightymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 04:59 AM   #908 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 607,753.14
Total Points: 122,189,524.56
Rep Power: 21474880 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

Originally Posted by djmightymike

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 06:36 AM   #909 (permalink)

Bank: 89,416.97
Total Points: 93,325.49
Rep Power: 4659054 La Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri
Thai Ginger Pepper Chicken.........

Ingredients>::

Hot Thai Curry

Fresh ginger (1 tbs finely grated)

Bell/Green pepper

Onions

Garlic

Crushed red chili pepper

Olive Oil

Potatoes

Shredded coconut (unsweetened)

Raisins

Italian seasoning

Salt

Black pepper

>>>>>

Flash fry chicken (don't cook) strictly for brown crust and sealing in flavors.

Add curry, onions, garlic, peppers, seasonings and potatoes and 4 spoons of Olive Oil

Cook for 10 mins

Adjust seasoning

Add Potatoes

Add Shredded coconut and raisins

Add crushed chili pepper

Adjust seasoning and simmer for 10-15 mins.

Good Luck..............

alhaji
I just made this. I can't stop eating it. Alhaji

Originally Posted by askimoli
a whole ND, aka ji aku 1 of NR, onwa n'etiri ryders, osisi n'ami mkpuru gold, otimkpu 1 of ndi nwere vshape?
La Reine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:06 PM   #910 (permalink)

Originally Posted by La Reine
I just made this. I can't stop eating it. Alhaji
Good

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 12-05-2007, 05:13 PM   #911 (permalink)

Make your own HOT curry mix

Curry blend
::Tumeric, Italian seasoning, pickling spice, powderd ginger, powderd grand masala, powderd mustard, powderd onion, cayenne pepper.

HOT Chicken Curry Fusion

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 12-06-2007, 02:22 AM   #912 (permalink)

Bank: 42,853,909,660.79
Total Points: 42,884,445,183.85
Rep Power: 21474897 Icegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legend

Hey Alhaji, quick question.

I just got some allspice and I'm a lil hesitant to use it.

What do you know abt it flavorwise and wat other seasoning complement it.

Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer!
Old 12-06-2007, 02:22 AM   #913 (permalink)

Bank: 42,853,909,660.79
Total Points: 42,884,445,183.85
Rep Power: 21474897 Icegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legend

n you gotta put the recipe up for the hot curry fusion up there

Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer!
Old 12-06-2007, 06:44 AM   #914 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1978494 Shylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legend

curry fusion.wow.
Old 12-07-2007, 07:33 AM   #915 (permalink)

Bank: 1,836,162,920.28
Total Points: 1,836,482,490.28
Rep Power: 21474886 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

will definately try the fish sauce. tilapia
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN