Old 12-01-2006, 11:28 AM   #256 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Old 12-01-2006, 01:16 PM   #257 (permalink)

Bank: 8,088,592,614.34
Total Points: 8,088,599,269.42
Rep Power: 21474871 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

ohhhhhhhhhhh dat looks sooooooo good. i'd go with penne tho'....

see my life...up @ 4am looking at pics of food...

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri
Spaghetti, shrimp in Velouté vegetable sauce

alhaji
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:30 AM   #258 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Savory pilaf rice, tossed spinach, fried peppers and pan grilled plantain..

Steam grilled White Perch fish, peppers, garlic, onions and tossed apsparagus

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 12-02-2006 at 09:40 AM..
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:42 AM   #259 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by misty
Alhaji, recipe for shrimp biko

4tbs Olive oil
Onion
Cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, peeled and minced
Mango juice
1tsp salt or vegetable salt
1/2tsp allspice
2 tbsp fresh limejuice
1 lb large shrimp, peeled and deveined
Red, Yellow and Orange pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Flour

Dust shrimp with flour and quick pangrill (both sides)
Heat Olive Oil over medium-high heat.
Cook onion, garlic, ginger and peppers
Add spices
Add shrimp
Add 4tbs mango juice
Cook/Toss for 1 min

good luck and post foto/feedback

@hotchoc
Nimotalai
shayo4real
IMED.................................Thanks y'all

@Xpensyv_Bodi, you need napkin?

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:54 AM   #260 (permalink)

Bank: 6.29
Total Points: 222,016.78
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Alhaji u no gree oh, absolutely mouth watering
Old 12-02-2006, 09:54 AM   #261 (permalink)

Bank: 6.29
Total Points: 222,016.78
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

omoge86, iyawo mi, i see u. Nice!!!! when are u inviting me over?
Old 12-05-2006, 07:29 PM   #262 (permalink)

Bank: 61,214,243,713.23
Total Points: 61,214,277,283.23
Rep Power: 21474932 Misty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legend

Thanks. Much Appreciated.
Old 12-05-2006, 07:40 PM   #263 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474932 Misty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legendMisty is a legend

Thanks sweetie..I had to go thru the entire thread to find this one

Originally Posted by Funred55
no prob...I no go get picture sha...
it's a pretty basic one...but I cna't really tell you the measurements..I kinda just toss things in there till it tastes the way I want it to/

Potatoes (I prefer red-skinned)
Salt
pepper
butter
Milk.

Peel potaoes, but leave some skin on (I like the skin in tehm)
shake some salt into the potatoes and boil untill soft
strain water out, and mash with potato masher till smooth
mix in salt, pepper, milk, butter, and whatever extra thing you might want to use...some folks use heavy cream...sha that increases your fat content..I've even seen some recipes where they include mayonaise. Sometimes i add some cheese to it, and garnish with parsley..and you're good to go
Old 12-05-2006, 07:44 PM   #264 (permalink)

Spaghetti, shrimp in Velouté vegetable sauce

alhaji
Alhaji, could you post the recipe for this one or did I miss it?

You are truly blessed. There's nothing better than sharing knowledge.
Old 12-05-2006, 07:58 PM   #265 (permalink)
One in Town

Bank: 70,936.27
Total Points: 83,161.12
Rep Power: 1427218 Ariya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legend

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/8938/dscf0398ma0.jpg

alhaji
Nice--I've got a cod steak dish that I'm making this weekend with similiar ingredients. I'll post it if it comes out photogenic ...
Ariya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 08:16 PM   #266 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Bank: 98,835.64
Total Points: 99,975.49
Rep Power: 13490 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

Savory pilaf rice, tossed spinach, fried peppers and pan grilled plantain..

alhaji
aaah me likes, esp # 2, reminds me of how I love eatin my Ivorian attieke, except I substitute the fish for chicken

Blessed by the Most High

Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words

"Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb-
The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

C'est Dieu qui donne la vie.
MIprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 08:33 PM   #267 (permalink)
One in Town

Rep Power: 1427218 Ariya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legend

Originally Posted by MIprincess
aaah me likes, esp # 2, reminds me of how I love eatin my Ivorian attieke, except I substitute the fish for chicken
That's like garri, right? I think Senegalese people call the same thing. I mistakenly ordered it once in a restaurant. I was like when they brought it out...
Old 12-06-2006, 12:14 AM   #268 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Rep Power: 13490 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

Originally Posted by Ariya
That's like garri, right? I think Senegalese people call the same thing. I mistakenly ordered it once in a restaurant. I was like when they brought it out...
Its like couscous just made from cassava, but its not Senegalese though they prob eat it due to Ivorian influx, unlike other foods that can be found across West Africa, its specific to the Ivorians, its the natl food in the Ivory Coast, attieke and grilled fish and vegetables, or grilled chicken. Everyone, both natives and foreigners in the country love it, myself included

http://www.mymudhut.com/culture/journal/poisson.jpg
http://www.cassava.ethz.ch/diverses/...attieke190.jpg

Its usually made out on the grill, and most people would rather buy it from the open air "maquis"/restaurants than make it at home

Blessed by the Most High

The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

Old 12-06-2006, 12:23 AM   #269 (permalink)
One in Town

Originally Posted by MIprincess
Its like couscous just made from cassava, but its not Senegalese though they prob eat it due to Ivorian influx, unlike other foods that can be found across West Africa, its specific to the Ivorians, its the natl food in the Ivory Coast, attieke and grilled fish and vegetables, or grilled chicken. Everyone, both natives and foreigners in the country love it, myself included

http://www.mymudhut.com/culture/journal/poisson.jpg
http://www.cassava.ethz.ch/diverses/...attieke190.jpg

Its usually made out on the grill, and most people would rather buy it from the open air "maquis"/restaurants than make it at home
Makes sense--there are a lot of mixed Senegalese/Ivoirien (even Guinean) restaurants in Harlem and that's where I had it. The Wolof word for plantain (aloko) sounds similiar to attieke. I was ordering plantains and grilled fish that day and I couldn't figure out what they brought out for me. The waitress said she mis-heard me. Either that or my pronounciation was terrible ...
Old 12-06-2006, 07:06 AM   #270 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Originally Posted by Ariya
Makes sense--there are a lot of mixed Senegalese/Ivoirien (even Guinean) restaurants in Harlem and that's where I had it. The Wolof word for plantain (aloko) sounds similiar to attieke. I was ordering plantains and grilled fish that day and I couldn't figure out what they brought out for me. The waitress said she mis-heard me. Either that or my pronounciation was terrible ...

haha, alloco/aloko/aloco is actually an Ivorian word.
How she confused alloco with attieke baffles me sha.
Now u eat rice the Senegalese/Gambian way in a huge basins, and everyone around it, 20 hands all in the big bowl eating together. When I was younger, a Gambian friend invited me over and I opted out abeg, there were at least 10 hands eating rice, sorry I love family and unity but haba. I made it a point to not come around during food hrs.

Blessed by the Most High