Old 11-19-2006, 06:33 AM   #226 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
Hmmm Interesting...sounds good.

MIprincess pretty much nailed it, I think it means velvety, it's an important
sauce to have in your repertoire because from it, you can prepare a myriad of other sauces just by adding a few ingredients (Shrimp and vegetable) 1st you need a roux (equal quantity of fat and flour)...Veloute, with the addition of various other ingredients, acquires new names..

There are three basic or mother sauces (starter sauces).

Béchamel Sauce (White sauce)

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cups milk

1 small onion studded with 2 Or 3 cloves, optional

1 small bay leaf

dash dried leaf thyme, crumbled

salt and white pepper to taste

nutmeg, to taste

In a medium heavy saucepan, melt butter over low heat. When butter starts to foam, add the flour all at once, mixing well with a wooden spoon. Cook over low heat 3 to 4 minutes, stirring constantly to incorporate and cook flour. Remove pan from heat and let stand, up to 15 minutes.
Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, scald milk (heating it until just below boiling point).
Return saucepan with roux to medium-low heat. Add all of the scalded milk at once (to avoid the formation of lumps). Simmer, stirring gently with a wire whisk or wooden spoon. Add studded onion, bay leaf and thyme sprig. Cook, stirring, over low heat, 15 to 20 minutes, until smooth and thickened. Strain sauce through fine-mesh strainer. Add salt, white pepper and nutmeg to taste.

Velouté (Off white sauce)

1/2 cups white stock (veal, chicken, or fish)

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

3 tablespoons flour

Salt & Pepper, to taste

melt the butter over low heat (don't let it burn) and add the flour. Raise the heat to medium and stir the butter and flour together for about 2 minutes. You are making the roux. Take a good whiff and it should have a pleasant toasted smell.

Whisk the simmering stock into the roux and keep heating and whisking. When the stock begins to simmer again, turn down the heat to low and cook until the sauce thickens. A thin skin may form, just skim it away with your spoon. Depending on your stovetop, the sauce may take 5 - 10 minutes to get to your desired consistency.

Season with salt and pepper

Strain if you have a fine mesh strainer or chinois.

and

Sauce Espagnole, Demi Glace (Brown sauce)

1/2 cup diced carrots

1/2 cup diced onion

1/2 cup diced celery

4 tablespoons clarified butter (cook off water and fat solids)

4 tablespoons flour

8 cups beef stock, boiling

3 tablespoons tomato paste

4 large sprigs parsley

1 bay leaf

1/2 teaspoon thyme

Salt, to taste

Freshly-ground pepper, to taste

In a heavy 2-quart saucepan, Slowly blend in flour and stir constantly over medium heat for approximately 10 minutes or until the flour is golden brown. Remove from the heat and add the beef stock all at once, stirring constantly. Stir in tomato paste and add herbs. Simmer very slowly, partly covered, for at least 2 hours. The longer the sauce is simmered the better it will be. Stir occasionally and skim off any fat or scum from the top. When the sauce is the consistency of heavy cream, correct the seasoning and strain through a fine sieve

@IMED
MIprincess
LMJ
Funred55
NnekaLawal
Nimotalai

Thanks, keep the fire burning/

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 06:45 AM   #227 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Fish fillet version.........

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 11-19-2006, 09:55 AM   #228 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116649 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Thanks.....I think the first one sounds easisest, so I'll start with that.

Alhaji....how are you gonna peel a whole plantain and only eat like 4 small little pieces. I know there's a lot to be said for moderation but it's dodo...treat yourself to some more next time. That fish is looking correct.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 11-19-2006, 10:13 AM   #229 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Bank: 98,835.64
Total Points: 99,975.49
Rep Power: 13490 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

Alhaji thanks! You just keep bringing it. yup thats how I make mine, though I'd use low fat butter and soy milk now u make me want to start cooking!!

Blessed by the Most High

Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words

"Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb-
The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

C'est Dieu qui donne la vie.
MIprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 07:30 PM   #230 (permalink)

Bank: 45,420.01
Total Points: 52,991.10
Rep Power: 138771 Teedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legend
Default A Genius in the Making!

All i can say is Wow!
Alhaji i am so impressed with your Culinary Skills.
You are indeed A Genius! Please don't let this Talent go to waste.
Make you do something about it quick, quick!

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri
Grilled Newyork steak, grilled red potatoes, Grilled Onions, Roasted corn, Demi Glace Sauce Espagnole................Recipe available on demand

Wine::1999 San Saban VSS Pinot Noir

alhaji
Teedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 07:34 PM   #231 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1978494 Shylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legend

liar oshi..he prolly peeped his sister.mom cooking it
Old 11-19-2006, 07:36 PM   #232 (permalink)

Bank: 829,241.33
Total Points: 849,106.78
Rep Power: 624843 IMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri
Fish fillet version.........

alhaji
Anything with plantain just kills me.I simply love plaintain, that's one of my onu-utos.Keep doing what you do Alhaji.

Scratch dat, it's hard.
IMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 07:52 PM   #233 (permalink)

Bank: 45,420.01
Total Points: 52,991.10
Rep Power: 138771 Teedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legendTeedra is a legend

Shylaw stop player hating

You see a brother doing something Good and Positive, try and support him.

So far his doing a Fantastic Job!

Originally Posted by Shylaw
liar oshi..he prolly peeped his sister.mom cooking it
Teedra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 09:46 PM   #234 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

what can i say...uz a true chef

Old 11-25-2006, 09:31 AM   #235 (permalink)

@Nimotalai..lol, thanks.
@MIprincess, please don't make me wait
@Teedra, you're too kind.
@Sophia, ese pupo
@NnekaLawal, you dey pay chimaobi too much attention
@Shylaw (larondo) keep up the good work

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 11-25-2006, 09:32 AM   #236 (permalink)

Sweet Potato Casserole
Sweet potatoes
Milk
Nutmeg
Cinnamon
Salt
Sugar
Butter

Crust
Flour
Butter
Nutmeg
Cinnamon

Crust

Turkey Breast Cutlets

Rice pilaf

Pan grilled plantain

Tossed mix vegie

Herb Butter Wine Gravy

1995 Dunnwood Dry Silk Charbono Reserve..................

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 11-25-2006 at 10:01 AM..
Old 11-25-2006, 09:48 AM   #237 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1240991 Trespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legend

i loff u Alhaji

Old 11-26-2006, 05:44 AM   #238 (permalink)

Grilled shrimp and halibut chunks tossed in Mango Ginger Stir Fry Sauce with organic mix...........................
2001 Central coast Virgin Dry Chenin Blanc

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 11-26-2006, 06:01 AM   #239 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Alahaji....thank you for this thread...I am really inspired

Old 11-26-2006, 07:04 AM   #240 (permalink)

Bank: 6.29
Total Points: 222,016.78
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

alhaji not only does ur food look really apetizing, ur presentation is off the chain. Just looking at it makes me want to cook like u, kudos.