Old 06-08-2009, 04:03 AM   #1711 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by ~Zeta~ View Post
alhaji, which type of fish is best for pepper soup and which is best for frying and stew...the tastiest...not them mahi mahi bitter ish

Cat fish is the best fish for pepper soup. I know some folks don't like cat fish/non scaly fish so feel free to substitute with tilapia.

Tilapia, and Red snapper are great for frying and stewing, try to stay away from heavy fleshy fish as they tend to break apart easily and takes for ever to fry through....

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 04:15 AM   #1712 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Abula::Amala With Beef Stew, Ewedu And Gbegiri....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 01-02-2012 at 02:25 PM..
Old 06-08-2009, 11:37 PM   #1713 (permalink)
1Naija

Bank: 847,731,652.22
Total Points: 847,745,703.12
Rep Power: 21474860 nflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri View Post
Abula::Amala With Beef Stew, Ewedu And Gbegiri....

alhaji
alhaji were did you get ewedu in America, what is the english name?

“The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in times of great moral crises maintain their neutrality." -- Dante Alighieri
nflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 02:02 AM   #1714 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 807,073,710.71
Total Points: 807,479,740.86
Rep Power: 21474915 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Cat fish is the best fish for pepper soup. I know some folks don't like cat fish/non scaly fish so feel free to substitute with tilapia.

Tilapia, and Red snapper are great for frying and stewing, try to stay away from heavy fleshy fish as they tend to break apart easily and takes for ever to fry through....

alhaji
bruv dat aint peppersoup, that is fish in water with dry pepper.

you need to ask an urhobo or itsekiri to show u how to cook peppersoup. Na the spices wey dey unique

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 02:04 AM   #1715 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Rep Power: 21474915 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

you have a thing for New world wines

vintage nko?

French, italian?

Old 06-12-2009, 11:58 PM   #1716 (permalink)

Originally Posted by nflow View Post
alhaji were did you get ewedu in America, what is the english name?

I think it's called saluyot, try your local Vietnamese or Philipino store....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 06-13-2009, 12:29 AM   #1717 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Lanju View Post
bruv dat aint peppersoup, that is fish in water with dry pepper.

you need to ask an urhobo or itsekiri to show u how to cook peppersoup. Na the spices wey dey unique

lol. You're right, I fix those all the time, they just don't look too good picture wise.

I try as much as possible to make my spices less visible, I go for strong, bold flavors and cool aesthetics by blending the spices with other fine ingridients.
About vintage wines..

I don't care for them, I hardly mess with anything 5+yrs..especially whites. Red is cool for aging but they tend to get too alchie and less vibrant.

I enjoy fresh 1-3yr red and white Californian, you just have to excuse my bias, French and Italian are so so not jelling and happening...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 06-13-2009, 12:37 AM   #1718 (permalink)

Blackened And Crusted Salmon With Roasted Peppers And Veggie Basmanti...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 06-13-2009, 01:32 AM   #1719 (permalink)

Bank: 1,965,545,873.04
Total Points: 1,965,569,947.73
Rep Power: 21474876 manilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legendmanilah is a legend

I think it's called saluyot, try your local Vietnamese or Philipino store....

alhaji
Alhaji...please share the recipe for the beef stew and the gbegiri.

nflow:Ewedu is also called JUTE LEAVES...you can get this at the African Store

Originally posted by Devilsadvocate
Ololu fe mi Manillah Owon,

Ku iro le o Omoladun! bawo ni, mo hope pe alafia lowa? Omoladun, O de wa se mi bayi ni tori olohun. Fun Ojo meje ni mo fi gbawe..ti mo se adura kara kara pe ki o gba temi ki a di Okan Soso. Omoladun, Onidi-ileke ki lo wa de? Mo feran e now...sleepulex nite lo kan fun mi ti emi mi se GBIGI GBIGI ..ti ori mi daru bi mo se think about e. Olohun, Mo ni fe e gan now..gba temi ki a rush marriage yi, ki a bi mo bi ekute..ki a loff ara wa. Truth be toldu, mi o le sun layi ma wo Foto e to wa lori wall me..you are beauriful and O deservu eyan Pakati bi emi no, baby lets do this..you are the only star in my sky, the sugar in my alpacino coffee, the only buttons on my comuputer keybordz.

Ni ose(last week) to ko ja, mo ko leta si egbon e(ya older sis) ko ba e soro ni pa mi. Omoladun, OWO mbe..OMO mbe..sugbon agba ni a'n da yi now..a o kin se omode mo. Wo side mi ki emi no wo side e ki a je ki kini yi work...Mo ni fe re now, olohun! Oti di Leta kefa ti mo ma send si e..o dey fun mi ni at least one reply...OMO to da ni mi now, ayam a fine hanshome bwoy..omo na bounce ni mi now...Mo da igboro mo..ma'a de toju e baje..gba bi mo se so fun e..maa spoil e bi Milik ose meje.

Manilah Omoladun...I luff you babbee, wo side me now. maa ma reti reply e..take it easy again mon dear

yours sincurrly
DIzzul Omoba the Great
manilah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 02:44 AM   #1720 (permalink)

Originally Posted by manilah View Post
Alhaji...please share the recipe for the beef stew and the gbegiri.

nflow:Ewedu is also called JUTE LEAVES...you can get this at the African Store

Right about that........

Saluyot (Jute Leaves)

Gbegiri>>>Serves 3-4

Reg' naija beans or black eye peas
Salt
Black pepper
1 habanero
1 Fresh Tomato
1 Onion
1 tatashe or Red Bell pepper
Maggi (optional)
Palm Oil
Beef stock of water

Soak beans overnight and remove skin.

Boil beans in salted water or beef stock.

Add palm oil (feel free to pre-heat your palm oil) and blended mixture of habanero, onions, red bell pepper and fresh tomato.

Adjust seasoning or add maggi.

Cook till very tender/completely broken down (mushy). Proceed from here by mashing with hand held fine potato smasher till smoot, or blend in a blender to get a smoother texture or finish.

(add water or stock according to desired consistency)

PS: Cook with neckbones to add extra flavor and dimension.

Beef Stew>>>>>>Serves 2-4

This is a narrowed down 1-2 steps party stew...

1 1/2 lb Beef (I used Tri-tip) (cut)
1 can Tomato sauce
2 fresh tomato (cut)
I onion (cut)
2 cloves garlic (chopped)
1 habanero (chopped)
1 red bell pepper (cut)
Salt and or maggi
Italian seasoning
Black pepper
1/2 cup beef stock

Boil and lightly fry beef and set aside.

Cook cut onion, tomato, red bell pepper in palm or vegetable oil.

Add tomato sauce (or blended stuff if you must) and cook @ med heat for 4-5 mins.

Add Beef and beef stock (don't add too much liquid, you don't want to cook and reduce forever)

Add salt, maggi and Italian seasoning.

Cover and let simmer @ low heat till cooked down and thickened.

Be very patient and keep an eye on it as much as possible, do not use high heat, just cover and let cool @ low heat.

Enjoy........

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 06-13-2009 at 02:48 AM..
Old 06-13-2009, 05:56 AM   #1721 (permalink)
*Naija Geisha*

Bank: 208,547,155,304.47
Total Points: 208,547,217,902.17
Rep Power: 21474869 Kofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legendKofoworola is a legend

in philippines we call it slimy leaves...
alhaji.. fried catfish is also good for stew or smoked one.. my dad na catfish farmer and na wetin we dey use make stew be that...deep fried and it shuld be the last ingridient u add so it doesnt break...

yeah the peppersoup looks too red like lanju said... alhaji try adding ya to peppersoup.. its heaven i swear
Old 06-16-2009, 04:15 PM   #1722 (permalink)

Bank: 7,492,828,361.79
Total Points: 7,492,844,632.27
Rep Power: 21367487 Nerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legendNerdstress is a legend

Coq au Vin is a very technical and classic french dish, your reward is a pot full of vibrant flavors, just be patient......

Ingredients

4 - 6 chicken thighs and legs (stewing chicken)
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbs unsalted butter
1 cup red wine, preferably shiraz or pinot noir
1 tbs tomato paste
1 onion, diced
1 stalks celery, diced
2 large carrots, diced
4 cloves garlic, crushed
1tbs Italian seasoning
1 bay leaf
1 cup chicken stock
1tbs butter
1/2 cup of olive oil
mushrooms

season chicken with salt and black pepper and let rest for 15 mins
place seasoned chicken in a bowl and add 1 cup of red wine
let marinate for 1-2 hrs
after marinating, dust chicken with flour and quick shallow fry in olive oil till lightly brown.
remove chicken and set aside
in the same pan, add diced onion, carrot, celery, Italian seasoning and chopped garlic
let fry for 1 min @ mid' heat
add left over wine from marinade and let cook for 4-5mins
now, grab an oven proof dutch oven and transfer everything.
add chicken and adjust seasoning
place in oven and cook for 2hrs @ 325 degrees F
Once the chicken is done, remove it to a heatproof container
cover, and place it in the oven to keep warm. Strain the sauce in a colander and remove the carrots, onion, celery, thyme, garlic, and bay leaf
Return the sauce to the pot, place over medium heat, and reduce for about 30-40mins till lightly thickened (Depending on how much liquid you began with.
Add mushrooms and carrots and let set for 10 mins

Serve and enjoy with chardonnay or rose blush wine.

Note: If the sauce is not thick enough at the end of reducing, you may add a mixture of equal parts butter and flour kneaded together. Start with 1 tablespoon of each. Whisk this into the sauce for 4 to 5 minutes and repeat, if necessary.

alhaji

Thanks! I'll try this soon and let you know how it turns out

Back in service

oh gosh! i thot dat was str8t 4ward but i thot wrong. ngwa its like this...

mama nkechi fit die of heart attack, headache, stonmach ache, depression mana...

Star jones no fit die of those cos she gets TV show on courTV! pple watch dat! she will loose audience and money! dats a HUGE loss. plus, she jes got married. and all dat weight will be a waste. after wat sh e went thru. gerrit now? plz say yes
Nerdstress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:38 AM   #1723 (permalink)

Bank: 120,612,333.36
Total Points: 120,719,473.56
Rep Power: 21474866 Ardeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legendArdeur is a legend

alhaji..you know if you ever needed someone to eat the food after you've taken the pictures..i can volunteer my services

Originally Posted by Koan
We ask the Father for forgiveness, give thanks to the Son, and are convicted by (and say doh to) the Spirit.
Ardeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:40 AM   #1724 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 607,753.14
Total Points: 122,189,524.56
Rep Power: 21474880 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

Spring Shrimp Festive..................

Fiesta Shrimp Spaghetti...............

Shrimp Fajita.......

Shrimp Paella With Fried Plantain.........

alhaji

recipes for all three, pretty please?

loving this thread allover again

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:03 AM   #1725 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

visit his blog all the info is there