Old 03-12-2009, 12:46 AM   #1621 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474843 CoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legend

so i made this last night sooo good.

yam(ji) peeled and boiled
shrimp(optional)
onions
Seasoning salt(don't forget to salt the yam)
tomato(seeds removed and rough diced)
olive oil
Italian seasoning
chili powder
red pepper

after cooking ur yam drain and set aside, in the same pot add olive oil, onions and the seasonings and let the onions cook for about 3-5min then add tomato, cook for 10-15 on med-high heat, then add ur yam.

i call this my yam and onions porridge!

I'll give you love, I'll teach you how to ...

Erotic, erotic
Put your hands all over my body
All over me, all over me

Last edited by CoalcityDiva; 03-12-2009 at 12:48 AM.
CoalcityDiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:59 PM   #1622 (permalink)

ALhaji, how did you get into this business? I am very curious

I wish you lots of success!
okwuokwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:40 PM   #1623 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474866 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by CoalcityDiva View Post
so i made this last night sooo good.

yam(ji) peeled and boiled
shrimp(optional)
onions
Seasoning salt(don't forget to salt the yam)
tomato(seeds removed and rough diced)
olive oil
Italian seasoning
chili powder
red pepper

after cooking ur yam drain and set aside, in the same pot add olive oil, onions and the seasonings and let the onions cook for about 3-5min then add tomato, cook for 10-15 on med-high heat, then add ur yam.

i call this my yam and onions porridge!

Looks so so yummy, well presented too.

Thanks for the recipe, I've been putting this off for some time now. Now I need to get me some yam and get with it...lol

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:45 PM   #1624 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474866 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by okwuokwu View Post
ALhaji, how did you get into this business? I am very curious

I wish you lots of success!

Thanks okwuokwu.

what business? cooking, restaurant or both? lol.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 03-15-2009, 03:19 PM   #1625 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ardeur View Post
hey alhaji i have a question...when i cook/bake fish..i usually just use seasoned salt but it doesn't taste flavorful. Any suggestion?

This is very common, seasoning salt one dimensional, you want to introduce other flavors/seasonings and herbs like Italian seasoning (parsley, thyme, marjoram, oregano and basil) black pepper, sea or kosher salt and bay leaf.

Best methods of cooking in my opinions is steaming or baking.

Slit your fish on both sides to create easy flavor channels and heat absorption.

Mix and combine your seasoning with some EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil) and marinade your fish for 45-60 mins.

Set your fish on a large cut out foil paper (Feel free to add other ingredients) and fold (almost but not completely tyte) and place in a shallow/water filled pot, baking pan or skillet.

Warm up your oven and bake for 20-30 mins @ 350 - 400o or till done....

Give it a shot and let me know what's up......

Here is a sample......

Baked Crocker with grilled peppers, shrimp scallops...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 03-15-2009 at 03:26 PM.
Old 03-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #1626 (permalink)

Another sample....

Steamed Blue runner fish, coconut rice and grilled plantain.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 03-16-2009, 10:44 PM   #1627 (permalink)

Sweet Garlic, Herbs And Tomato Baked Chicken....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Last edited by alhajibabasheri; 03-16-2009 at 10:46 PM.
Old 03-17-2009, 11:04 AM   #1628 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474888 ogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legend

Mehn, dat chicken looks good

I know not this NR you speak of.
ogologo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 05:15 PM   #1629 (permalink)

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri View Post
Thanks okwuokwu.

what business? cooking, restaurant or both? lol.

alhaji
Well the restaurant business. I assume you either learned to cook from ya mama or you picked it up as a bachelor playing in the kitchen...
okwuokwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:14 PM   #1630 (permalink)

Originally Posted by okwuokwu View Post
Well the restaurant business. I assume you either learned to cook from ya mama or you picked it up as a bachelor playing in the kitchen...

lol. I got you....

Give me a min'...

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 03-20-2009, 09:21 PM   #1631 (permalink)

Yam Yam Yam..................

CoalcityDiva, thanks for the recipe....

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 03-23-2009, 01:38 AM   #1632 (permalink)

Rep Power: 707229 Asabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legendAsabi is a legend

alhaji
This is what you call "Isu ata yan yan" lol
Old 03-23-2009, 01:49 PM   #1633 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474879 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

Gosh dude, can I marry u?
U make me so proud with the way u present Nigerian food.

CoalcityDiva, thanks for the recipe....

alhaji

Old 03-25-2009, 04:47 PM   #1634 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 Beloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legendBeloved is a legend

Alhaji,

the fish looks good. Could you please give me a step by step layout of how I can make baked fish but tasted like its fried but still moist? Please suggest seasoning I can use as well.
Old 03-25-2009, 09:25 PM   #1635 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474889 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

alhaji
Looks yummy... It doesn't help that I'm hungry right now

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.
Verizon DSL is America's NEPA.

Current Jams: Yori Yori & Dis Beat
Currently watching: You're Beautiful & Autumn's Concerto

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote