Old 02-16-2009, 04:49 AM   #1576 (permalink)

Bank: 103,936,307.44
Total Points: 103,958,798.19
Rep Power: 21474850 SkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legend

Congrats on the new restaurant ABS!!! I'm sure you are doing great and will continue to do so...
Old 02-20-2009, 07:50 AM   #1577 (permalink)

Bank: 103,936,307.44
Total Points: 103,958,798.19
Rep Power: 21474850 SkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legendSkYGurL is a legend

Yo! ABS do you have any recipes for sweet potatoes??
Old 02-20-2009, 08:49 AM   #1578 (permalink)
CEO Brostonics Inc

Bank: 0.70
Total Points: 1,511.00
Rep Power: 434134 bigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legend

ALhaji ahh i am so proud of you o. abeg i need the recipe for your shrimp paella.
GOd will bless d works of ur hands o
Old 02-23-2009, 05:10 AM   #1579 (permalink)

Bank: 1.90
Total Points: 26,712.15
Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by CoalcityDiva View Post
ramen noddles ala me. [IMG][/IMG]
Looks so so yummy...

You throw down like that?

Avartsy, nice blog you got going on there, I'm really impressed. Lets colabo sometimes....

SkYGurL, thanks so much...

there;s not much to do with sweet potato...

I like to peel, cut in chunks and lightly bake with butter, sugar and salt. Feel free to add cinnamon or nutmeg. I don't care for both tho', I think they dull your food and render it unappetizing.

Chips is another great option

Chip steak, string, penny or straight style and fry in light oils like cotton seed or grape seed oil and Eat with honey dijon mustard....

Sweet potato soup is cool too....

Just peal, cut and boil your sweet potato with a lil salt and a dash of sugar.

when done, add a lil milk and 1 or 2 tbs of butter. The result should be very very smooth and velvety, almost sinful...

bigmomma, long time. Thanks.

For Paella, you'll need the following...

Shrimp (depending on your choice of Protein)

Parboil rice

Olive oil

Butter

Tumeric

Italian Seasoning

Cumin

Salt

Green peas

Onions

Garlic

Cloves (3 or 4)

Green Bell pepper

Red Bell Pepper

Achiote (Annatto)

Onion Powder

Chicken stock

Quick fry your Onions, garlic and peppers in Olive oil

Add half a stick of butter (tho' optional, it adds flavor)

Add tumeric and achiote or annatto (add enough to get the yellow look/but not too much)

Add your rice (measured for quantity)

Fry your rice with the veggies for a min

Add your stock

Season with salt, Italian seasoning, onion powder and cumin

Cook like regular parboil rice on the stove or in Oven just to be safe

@ about 5 mins before done time, add shrimp and let simmer till done....

Eat with fried plantain and crema sauce and or fried serrano or sweet publano pepper.

Wine=Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc if you drink

Enjoy

alhaji

Naija Bloggers Ring :: alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro

Alhaji's Groove "El Toro Negro"

Happy Lagosian

Abuja Thieves Crooks And Liars Network
alhajibabasheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 05:21 AM   #1580 (permalink)

Bank: 42,853,909,660.79
Total Points: 42,884,445,183.85
Rep Power: 21474897 Icegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legend

ABS - Would you mind giving me a marinade recipe for turkey pieces.

Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer!
Old 02-23-2009, 08:10 AM   #1581 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474859 alhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legendalhajibabasheri is a legend

Originally Posted by Icegold View Post
ABS - Would you mind giving me a marinade recipe for turkey pieces.

What are you doing with it? Are you frying, baking, stewing or smothering?

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 02-23-2009, 08:14 AM   #1582 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474897 Icegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legendIcegold is a legend

Originally Posted by alhajibabasheri View Post
What are you doing with it? Are you frying, baking, stewing or smothering?

alhaji
Baking it

Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer!
Old 02-23-2009, 08:17 AM   #1583 (permalink)

CoalcityDiva, you inspired my dinner choice............

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 02-23-2009, 08:58 AM   #1584 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Icegold View Post
Baking it

I like regular store bought Teriyaki sauce mixed with my own mixture of Italian seasoning, black pepper, salt, a dash of mustard and olive oil.

Orange butter sauce is great if you're basting, just combine 1 cup of fresh orange juice, half a stick of butter, 1tsp salt, half a cup of sugar and boil for 10 mins (don't let it caramelize) feel free to add other flavors as desired..

Marinade don't mean much here because the butter sauce marinade will do the job for you, just pre-season your meat with plain salt and baste every 5 mins @ 300f (low temp/you don't want your food to get burnt cos of the sugar based marinade)

For rustic smoke flavor baking...

Combine Olive oil, 2tbs natural smoke liquid, salt, black pepper, 1tsp ginger powder and Italian seasoning. Let marinade for 45min - 1hr (add a lill cumin for some Spanish flavor if you care)

Try not to marinade over night if you don't want the marinade to overpower and take over your meat.

I think I'm gonna bake some turkey wings tomorrow, I'll post pics too.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 02-24-2009, 02:10 AM   #1585 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 807,073,710.71
Total Points: 807,479,740.86
Rep Power: 21474915 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

alhaji the alhaji

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 07:39 AM   #1586 (permalink)

Baked Turkey Wings Glazed With Orange Butter Sauce.

alhaji

Happy Lagosian

Old 02-24-2009, 09:54 AM   #1587 (permalink)
CEO Brostonics Inc

Bank: 0.70
Total Points: 1,511.00
Rep Power: 434134 bigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legendbigmomma is a legend

alhaji thanks babe, i go take pic hopefully i remember to when i make it.
BTW do you have a recipe for like a braised oxtail or anything? i want to try something different with oxtail.
Old 02-24-2009, 06:01 PM   #1588 (permalink)

Alhaji, that looks sooo yum!

Old 02-24-2009, 06:47 PM   #1589 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,210.00
Smile Yay!!!

Yay!!! I'm like completely flattered that u're impressed by my cooking blog...we shd totally colabo sometime....maybe a cooking showdown via pics on the internet and vote see who made it the best...hmmm...not bad eh...well whatever the case, just let me know...those turkey wings look really yummy!
Avartsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 07:48 PM   #1590 (permalink)

Bank: 26,847.61
Total Points: 43,982.39
Rep Power: 21474844 CoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legendCoalcityDiva is a legend

awww thanks Alhaji, urs look really gud! now i'm really hungry!

def. adding that orange butter marinade to my recipe lists.

oh yah i made this balsamic chicken wing a while back, oh so gud thinking about making some tonight.