Old 11-04-2006, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Default New Yam festival

We call it "Iri Ji" and we celebrate it in August

Do ur tribe celebrate it too?

Please tell us abt urs....ours used to be fun until they started inviting pastors to pray and u know the elders did not take it well.....will detail later

I miss Olokoro and Ohuhu's own...their Ekpe is off da hook

Old 11-04-2006, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
One in Town

Bank: 74,483.08
Total Points: 88,707.93
Rep Power: 1427219 Ariya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legend

Originally Posted by Sophia

Please tell us abt urs....ours used to be fun until they started inviting pastors to pray and u know the elders did not take it well.....will detail later

I think it's common to most areas in southern Nigeria. It's called "odun isu" or "odun ijesu" in Yoruba-speaking areas and it's celebrated at the same time (during August harvest). Ijesas/Ekitis, Igbominas, and Egbas celebrate it mostly, from what I know, because that's the area where yam grew best historically. Other areas may celebrate it too.

I know Efik, Ibibio and other Cross Rivers people celebrate the new yam crop as well.
Ariya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Ariya
I think it's common to most areas in southern Nigeria. It's called "odun isu" or "odun ijesu" in Yoruba-speaking areas and it's celebrated at the same time (during August harvest). Ijesas/Ekitis, Igbominas, and Egbas celebrate it mostly, from what I know, because that's the area where yam grew best historically. Other areas may celebrate it too.

I know Efik, Ibibio and other Cross Rivers people celebrate the new yam crop as well.
kool
ours was/still off da hook....it used to be celebrated more than xmas....everyone will come home in August for it...back then our parents will buy new wrappers for all the females as we tie our wrapper on our chest and use tiro to decorate our body....as we got older we started dressing like our moms white blouse and wrapper with slippers
ours is always on afor market as my culture believes in afor(can't remember the meaning behind this)....so 5 days or so b4 afor we will do the pre-iri ji...stay home eat and then prepare for "the main the main" as we used to call it back then

Old 11-05-2006, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Bekee

Bank: 141,863.54
Total Points: 155,980.09
Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

Ohuhu all the wayyy baby!

..tho Ekpe no be iri ji o..abi u jus wan mention am?

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Xpensyv_Bodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Xpensyv_Bodi
Ohuhu all the wayyy baby!

..tho Ekpe no be iri ji o..abi u jus wan mention am?

but for olokoro they do both i know ohuhu's ekpe is in December or so

Old 11-06-2006, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 326.35
Total Points: 379.96
Rep Power: 82739 kong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legendkong is a legend

LOL
kong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 08:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Bekee

Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

Cool

but for olokoro they do both i know ohuhu's ekpe is in December or so

Ohuhu's ekpe starts late december until 2nd week january. Its strictly a masquerade festival...not for new yam. Our iri ji is around August-Sept ..I think. Didnt know Olokoro celebrates Ekpe...maybe it means another thing for them shaa

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 11-20-2006, 09:49 AM   #8 (permalink)

Ohuhu's ekpe starts late december until 2nd week january. Its strictly a masquerade festival...not for new yam. Our iri ji is around August-Sept ..I think. Didnt know Olokoro celebrates Ekpe...maybe it means another thing for them shaa

yeah....love ekpe...we don't celebrate it but our ekelenke is off da hook...every 3 or 4 years can't remember...then we have okonko(ti jam jam ti jam jam)

kai i miss 9ja

Old 11-20-2006, 01:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Bekee

Talking

Sophie iwu local babe oo..chei hehehe!

do u remember some of those local ekpo songs/chants?

nwayi afo ime
iganu imu na eke
iganu imu na orie

ogalanu imu oo
iyoo yoo yoo yoo yo!
ogalanu imu oo
iyoo yoo yoo yoo yo!

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 11-20-2006, 01:18 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474936 Okpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legend

we celebrate Garlic festival in America....
Old 11-20-2006, 03:27 PM   #11 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,973,055.18
Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

never did da new yam thing, the yam is offered as sacrifice to teh gods.
Old 11-20-2006, 04:42 PM   #12 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,121.65
Rep Power: 286074 Chioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legendChioms is a legend

New yam festival? never been to one but i know my people celebrate it in september not sure what it's called though!!!
Chioms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 06:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Dat Igbo-Tottenahm Guy

Bank: 144,309,197.96
Total Points: 144,393,483.63
Rep Power: 21474878 Mr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legend

We Celebrate in in september.....and call it 'Ikeji'

(Arochukwu)

Old 11-20-2006, 07:30 PM   #14 (permalink)

Sophie iwu local babe oo..chei hehehe!

do u remember some of those local ekpo songs/chants?

nwayi afo ime
iganu imu na eke
iganu imu na orie

ogalanu imu oo
iyoo yoo yoo yoo yo!
ogalanu imu oo
iyoo yoo yoo yoo yo!

what can i say....typical village babe
I love traditions sha....and funny thing is that i used to have nightmares in those days....so my mom would not allow me to go and watch them...kai i used to cry myself to sleep and get sick from crying kids.....buhahahahhha i have some pics....what was i thinking

chioms...sup with you?

9ja dude...nice pics...tanx

Old 11-20-2006, 07:32 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Odogwu
never did da new yam thing, the yam is offered as sacrifice to teh gods.
give to oga ceaser that which is of him