Old 10-27-2006, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474871 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend
Default So I'm going to my first sewing class 2morrow

Yay! I bought my first sewing machine and decided to take a six weeks class to learn the basic stuff. Let's see how that goes

Last edited by pebbles; 10-28-2006 at 01:31 AM..
Old 10-27-2006, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)

what kind of machine did u get ? they have nice practice paper patterns at walmart if u wanted to check them out with loads of cheap fabric

Old 10-28-2006, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474871 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

Thanks, I'll check them out.

Originally Posted by Nene
what kind of machine did u get ? they have nice practice paper patterns at walmart if u wanted to check them out with loads of cheap fabric

Old 10-28-2006, 03:56 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Cool....I'm learning to sew too. It's fun once you get past the fear. The first thing I sewed all by myself two weeks ago:

I saw this hot to death outfit for work at the mall...it was a brown tweed halter vest with matching pants. It was a little $$$$$$ so I went to Walmart and bought some fabric(grey wool) for a whopping $12 and the patterns for about $4. The whole outfit cost less than $20 and it looks so good. It took me forever though because I made lots of mistakes and had to start over again but it was worth it. My coworker could not believe I made it. She said it looked really good.

The pink tulip shaped skirt from this pattern:

and a matching halter style vest

Right now I'm making another outfit (for work again) and instead I'm doing the brown vest with the belt in the picture above and another skirt. I saw the an almost identical vest yesterday on Ugly Betty (I love that show....the extras and characters (except Betty) have super cute and trendy looking work outfits, which gives me cool ideas of what I can wear to work without looking old and boring)......the secretary on there was wearing it with shorts, but it looked really cute, so I'm going
to try it next.

Maybe we can help each other and share sewing tips on here.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 10-28-2006, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

lol form NR sewing club. i am jealous.
Old 10-28-2006, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

hmmm.....might try it out too

Old 10-29-2006, 05:55 AM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 270,638.24
Total Points: 270,655.72
Rep Power: 2954696 xoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legendxoxoluwaxox is a legend

i hate measuring, so i start with what i think it should look like, then i alter it on myself with pins. then sew over th epins and take it out. i do my own patterns too. cuz those patters are awful for black girls bodies

okay real talk...lets a have a mini interfaith sister circle for a hot second....i am very guilty of this my self and i aint preaching to nobody.....may we all learn to be better people but okay here goes

how many times do we ponder if he's thinking about us, if he cares about us......does he think i am pretty...what if he doesnt want me..what did he mean when he said this...and ...blah blah blah..???

and it hit me today sha...like for reals.....the only person that should ever consume those kind of thoughts is God, i mean come now u think of it....he is the one that wakes u up in the morning.....guides you safely through the night....u leave ur door in the morning and u come back at night in one piece....shoo i should be worrying about Gods mercy instead...thanking him...doing all that i can to ensure his love.....looking beautiful for him(the most beautiful are those who are devout in worship to God)
like seriously when i thought about it that way its like what is a XY gonna do for me...he cant even guarantee my every breath...dont get me wrong o..this aint man bashing....but for reals it really redirects priority sha...but we are not all perfect...we are human thus inherently flawed all we can do is try to be the best we can be sha...
xoxoluwaxox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 08:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Bekee

Bank: 141,863.54
Total Points: 155,980.09
Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

I wanna learn crocheting

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Xpensyv_Bodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 72,057.05
Rep Power: 4541627 shayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legend

Originally Posted by Xpensyv_Bodi
I wanna learn crocheting

the woman after my heart.......crocheting is really easy....i like it better than knitting...you dont have to fuss with two needles.......
go to micheals or any fabric store and ask someone to show you....books dont really help...u just have to get somebody to demonstrate it to you....once you pick up some basic stiches...let your imagination run away with you...Good luck

Old 10-29-2006, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)

Nimotalai - can you show us pics of the stuff you've sewn? Such things really intrigue me
Old 10-30-2006, 04:10 PM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Pebbles, you freaking backstabber!!! You know I want to learn how to sew and now it seems you are the one going to be rocking really cool New York styles and I will be stalking the aisles of Marshalls and TJMaxx looking for outfits ... Nimolatai, it's like I am going to learn a lot of things from you on NR.... I don cop your scotch egg recipe and now, you WILL teach me how to sew ... so you bought your sewing machine (abeg, you and Pebbles put link up) and then just went to Walmart and picked out patterns??? More more abeg... I live in NYC and I see sooooo many things I love... kai, if I could sew, if only ... um, enough typing
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 10-30-2006, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

umm Nappy...sewing is not that easy!
BTW please please make sure you set your sewing machines on a table that's not too high or too low for your chair, i still have back pain from not sitting in the proper position cos i always had to bend over.

me i don't trust Walmart go to a fabric store...JoAnn Fabrics, Hancock Fabrics and chat with the store attendants about the best kind of sewing machines. They always have them in mini-sizes and i think the highest priced mini is $150.00
You might also be able to get one that's really good in a mom and pop store.
Oh and get thread that's as close to the material that you need!

Last edited by sapphire; 10-30-2006 at 07:03 PM..
Old 10-30-2006, 07:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

I wanna sew too
Old 10-30-2006, 07:27 PM   #14 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

@ Mzz Nita...I will try and post pics today or tomorrow....be kind....I'm still learning.

@ Nappy.....my sister I'm still learning oh...I'm definitely not an expert. For every 1 thing I do right, I do 3 things wrong, but learning to sew is pretty fun. The sewing machine was actually a gift. I still haven't mastered the machine sef, I only know how to use a few functions on it.

If you want to learn, sewing a skirt is the easiest thing to start with I think. I started with a simple skirt pattern with an old tie/die material, then after that I made the skirt and vest I posted above.

I just bought another paper pattern yesterday that I will attempt to make once I find a fabric I like. I'm thinking of using a Naija lace to do it, but before I try the lace I might use a cheap fabric to practice first:

Old 10-30-2006, 07:30 PM   #15 (permalink)

Sapphire.....thanks for the tips!!!!!

Walmart does have a lot of junk fabrics, but sometimes they have some pretty nice good quality fabric for 1/10th of the price you'll pay at a regular fabric store, so I always check the fabric section when I'm in Walmart in case I get lucky.

Please feel free to post more tips for us beginners.