Old 10-26-2006, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend
Default I cheated.....I feel so guilty. I need advice

Sigh.....I cheated on my hairdresser. I went to somebody else today. The guilt is killing me sha cuz I've been going to her since I was 11 yrs old.

But the new lady was so attentive, and friendly.
-She greeted me when I walked in (my stylist never does, usually just hisses when people walk in)
-I walked in and I didn't have to wait even though I didn't have an appointment booked (my stylist you have to wait like 45 minutes to 1.5 hours even when you have an appointment)
-She was cheaper $65 for relaxer vs. $75 at my regular lady.
-She talked to me and joked with me. My regular lady usually just grunts and gestures and points and barely speaks to me.
-She explained everything she was doing, and why she did it that way.
-She gave me some tips on taking care of my hair.
-New lady is Ghanaian and my regular stylist is West Indian (not that this really matters, but Africans tend to be friendlier in my experience)

It was just a great experience. Only thing is she's so old school with styling. I told her I wanted a chic and trendy style, and even showed her a picture. But I came out wit a Shirley temple hairstyle. :frustated I combed it out and spiked it when I got into the car sha but my hair is so soft and silky.

What do you guys think? Should I go back to my regular lady since she's pretty good at doing hair, but the service is da absolute worst. Or should I support this new lady and give her another chance?
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 10-26-2006, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 107,685.62
Total Points: 123,654.04
Rep Power: 6526 lulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legend

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
Sigh.....I cheated on my hairdresser. I went to somebody else today. The guilt is killing me sha cuz I've been going to her since I was 11 yrs old.

But the new lady was so attentive, and friendly.
-She greeted me when I walked in (my stylist never does, usually just hisses when people walk in)
-I walked in and I didn't have to wait even though I didn't have an appointment booked (my stylist you have to wait like 45 minutes to 1.5 hours even when you have an appointment)
-She was cheaper $65 for relaxer vs. $75 at my regular lady.
-She talked to me and joked with me. My regular lady usually just grunts and gestures and points and barely speaks to me.
-She explained everything she was doing, and why she did it that way.
-She gave me some tips on taking care of my hair.
-New lady is Ghanaian and my regular stylist is West Indian (not that this really matters, but Africans tend to be friendlier in my experience)

It was just a great experience. Only thing is she's so old school with styling. I told her I wanted a chic and trendy style, and even showed her a picture. But I came out wit a Shirley temple hairstyle. :frustated I combed it out and spiked it when I got into the car sha but my hair is so soft and silky.

What do you guys think? Should I go back to my regular lady since she's pretty good at doing hair, but the service is da absolute worst. Or should I support this new lady and give her another chance?
LOL, i know the feeling...you wouldn't even know the excuse to give if she asks what you've been doing to your hair.

I say stick with your old hair dresser...you obviously like her level of work. The new one might begin to piss u off if she keeps up with the wack hairstyles for $65...just extra $10, plus you'll come out much more satisfied
FAILURES KEEP YOU HUMBLE
SUCCESS KEEPS YOU GLOWING
BUT ONLY GOD
KEEPS YOU GOING!
lulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Ok....I guess the devil you know is better than the angel you don't.
Old 10-26-2006, 03:41 AM   #4 (permalink)

Eya, that sucks. Service vs end-product. If it were me, I'd stick with the new person cos service is very important to me. Like you did, I'll just comb out my hair when I leave.
Old 10-26-2006, 03:45 AM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 57,941.52
Total Points: 67,647.92
Rep Power: 493447 gogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legendgogetter is a legend

i dont even know how u can let someone nasty work on ur hair...if im paying u, u better be smiling at least when u do ma hair...and since i was 11, heiffer plz...go with the new person jare...na familiarity dey breed comtempt or check out someone else who knows the work and has great customer service...

Shit happens!...Move The FUCK On!!

They say I talk with so much EMPHASIS....

uuhhh..They so SENSITIVE!!!
--------Kanye West
gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 04:33 AM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 64,730,249.23
Total Points: 64,779,753.77
Rep Power: 1039236 ~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend

$65 for relaxer...u get money o...i just found dis lady that relaxes hair for $25 compared to my hairdresser's $50 and she does it better

dont feel bad now if d new pesin is cheaper and treats u better
~Abeke~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 04:39 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

why don't you take the new hairdresser a picture of a hairstyle you want next time and see if you like her...

Old 10-26-2006, 05:42 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by gogetter
i dont even know how u can let someone nasty work on ur hair...
I know, but she's the best black styist in the city and she knows it so she overcharges, and has horrible service. She's not easy at all....you should hear how much she charges oyinbo people to put weave in their hair.

Sapphire-I really like this new lady, but the style was something even my grandma would refuse to rock. I showed her a picture of balck celeb with an asymetric type of short bob, but when she finished styling me I looked more like Madea.

Mzz Nita-
Maybe I will go to the new lady for relaxing and conditioning, and my old lady for cutting and styling. If she asked me who's relaxing my hair, I will lie and say I did it myself at home.

Molly- Relaxing is expensive where I live. Sometimes when I'm short on cash, I'll buy a kit from Walmart and pay a student or small girl to do it for me for like $25 but not too often sha because at home chemical relaxing dey fear me small.
Old 10-26-2006, 05:57 AM   #9 (permalink)

u wanna lie 2 ure hairdresseeer? lol. like she dont know u cant perm ya hair yaself. lol

stick w/ ure old person. have a convo w/ her, dat ud appreciate her being nicer. if she gets mad...leave. and dont stick w/ d person who gives u nasty end results. im sure u can find som1 else
Old 10-26-2006, 07:32 AM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 *DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend

who cares if d hairdresser is nice or not..abeg..i love hairdresses like her who dont talk..just do ma hair as i please and lemme dip......nothing personal all business baby
pshh no time for fakeness or small talks...could care less
i say stick 2 ur old one

d ghanian one is smart..she knows her ass cant do hair so she tryna be nice and make y'all feel guilty so u can go back 2 her none hair doin ass!!

Old 10-26-2006, 09:53 AM   #11 (permalink)

Total Points: 72,057.05
Rep Power: 4541627 shayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legend

there is nothing i loathe more than hairdressers wif an attitude...its like i'm ur customer dude...what happend to customer service....i remember this one time i went to get my hair braided where all the braiders were senegalese...chei...see the looks i got when i enterd...they didnt even smile and they all borke out speaking that french ish....i was soooo irritated and i walked out....like worraheck...yall definately aint touching my hair......

Old 10-26-2006, 10:53 AM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

pleasantries are a part of the service industry. my hairdresser peck me on the cheek everytime i see her, and so does my senegalese hairdresser. neither one is over priced though.
Old 11-09-2006, 06:24 AM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 247.00
Rep Power: 32 that.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant futurethat.chick has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by *DiamOnd*
d ghanian one is smart..she knows her ass cant do hair so she tryna be nice and make y'all feel guilty so u can go back 2 her none hair doin ass!!

Getting your hair done should be pleasurable. You're paying someone to dote over you. But no one will know your pain when you show up with that nice 'do. It's a tough call.

In any case, I say give the new lady a chance. Take a picture and be very specific. This is a new slate, so there's an opportunity to set yourself up as a "direct and specific" customer right from the start. Also, if you ask for a bob, and you see her putting in curlers, refer her back to the picture!! You can also ask for a portfolio to see if she can actually style.
that.chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 01:29 PM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 7,308.55
Rep Power: 1724015 EastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legendEastWind is a legend

I understand, but it is, what it is. I was going to one for a while, and they were cool, and one day, I give them money and they don't give me back change, then they repeat it, thinking I don't know the price the next time. So I go in there, and go to the others, just ignoring em. Come to figure out, others do equally a great job if not better, and always charge me fair price plus with my change back to me. If I want to tip, let me tip, don't take it yourself.
Old 11-09-2006, 07:32 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 3,555,035.56
Total Points: 3,555,966.56
Rep Power: 226252 Motunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legendMotunrayo is a legend

@Molly-Where the hell do u live? $25??? Girl you'd be lucky to get a wash n set for $40 the only ppl who do that are those cosmetology students & I'd rather not cause their learning & I like to be consistent with who does my hair

@Nimotolai- I left my old hairdresser because of her nasty attitude but I'm sure you can find someone else, especially for the price ur paying. I started going to this South African guy who does my hair really well but he always has a million ppl waiting for him, even when u have an appointment. I remember one night I left the shop @ 1:30am....In short I had to leave him after a year...although he is very sweet & knows what he's doing. I found someone who not only has good service but she explains everything like the new lady you went to but...yes there is a but there's a price, good thing is once she gets to know u she gives great price breaks & sometimes even does ur hair for free...At the end of the day what really matters is what's best for you.

Motunrayo is offline   Reply With Quote