Old 10-09-2006, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Wink Strictly African Recipes with pictures...

just like the cookbook but with a twist.....u can post ur recipe with pictures ...we want this to be unique
I will hate to delete or move ur post

No comments please but feel free to rep all the cooks

Arinze and others that have recipe with pics feel free to report them here...I want you all to do the honors
Question can be sent through PM or rep message

I guess we can post recipes with no pics and update them later

Last edited by Sophia; 10-11-2006 at 12:07 AM..
Old 10-09-2006, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Default Ukazi soup

Originally Posted by Sophia
Ukazi Soup (my very own recipe)
This soup is for special occasions. It is our main soup in my village and the more things your add shows how wealthy you are…so on my wedding day you will be served this soup

Ingredients:
Eguisi(melon)
Ukpo or Achi(soup thickeners)
Achara(bamboo but the softer one)I don't know what they call it here
Ngara azu(small dry fish)
Ayiya(crayfish)
Azu okpo(dry fish)
Okporoko (stock fish)
Aku agbo(melon balls/biscuit) recipe coming up soon
Mgbe(kind of seafood, don’t know the English name)
Assorted anu (meat), also assorted bush meat and dry meat (kai to die for)
Manu nri (Palm oil)
Ukazi (shredded)

First cook your okporoko and other hard meat like cow leg and ox tail. Boil meat and azu okpo; add pepper and oil as the meat is boiling. Watch the tenderness, you do not want it to be soggy.
After add ukpo or achi…I prefer ukpo because of the taste. Allow few minutes and add ayiya and ngara azu and let it boil…. allow few minutes to boil, and then taste the sauce/soup to see if it is done. Also the color and the thickness of the broth should let you know if the ingredients are done.
At this time your soup should be slightly thick but not too thick like Eguisi soup…be careful adding Eguisi at this time because it also serves as soup thickener.
Allow it to boil for few minutes then add the aku agbo and achara…few more minutes for it to simmer then add Ukazi leaves. I use a little bit more of the leaves because I like to chew the leaves as I am eating my aku agbo.
I can’t estimate the time to use in cooking the soup; mine will be like 30 minutes or less not adding the time to cook the meat. I usually take hours to prepare before cooking, I don’t rush my cooking as it is something I do to “de-stress” sometimes.

Everyone has their own style of cooking it, remember this is my personal recipe

pardon any typos or gaps, i dey kind of busy today
Ukazi leaves

Meat and other stuff(used cow tail mostly and some beef)

Almost ready

Just added the Ukazi leaves

Don't you wish this is urs

Old 10-10-2006, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

Thumbs up Nimotalai...good stuff

from Chef Nimotalai

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
FRIED RICE

This is a pic of the rice I made two weeks ago. It is from the recipe Shayo4real posted. I don't think she'd mind if I post the recipe. I made it and it was delish!

RECIPE:
rice
shrip
chicken
mixveg
knor
butter
seasoning(curry, salt, pepper, thyme)

1) boil chicken with seasoning
2) in a non stick pot, melt butter while melting the butter add your seasoning,thyme and curry(the indian kind not the jamo kind), then pour in rice(you have to eye the amount to make sure the butter is enough.....you dont want it to be too much just enough kinda stir fry the rice)
3)strain the liquid from the chicken that you boiled and add water to it...then pour it into the pot with the rice...let the rice cook...
4)fry your shrimp and cut the chiken into little strips
5) stirfry your mix vegies...
6) just before your rice is done cooking pour your chicken,shrip and mix vegies
7) let it simmer, you can opt to let it finish cooking in the oven....

Old 10-10-2006, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Yummy
SCOTCH EGGS

My hubby loves my scotch eggs. This is how I make my scotch eggs. I normally do mine in the oven (rather than frying it) to reduce the fat. Scotch eggs are really fattening so at least doing it in the oven reduces your caloric intake.

sausage meat (turkey, pork or italian sausage),
Seasonings (optional but I use sage, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper).
8 shelled hard-boiled eggs
1/2 cup flour
1 medium egg, beaten
1 1/2 cups fine breadcrumbs, for coating

-In a small bowl combine sausage meat with sesaonings.
-Divide sausage into 8 equal portions, flatten each portion to about 1/8-inch thickness.
-Roll each egg in flour and place on top of each sausage patty.
-Use each sausage patty to wrap around each egg until it is completely encased, pressing edges together to seal (wet or floured hands make this easier as the sausage geets really sticky).
-Beat the egg in a shallow dish and place breadcrumbs on a flat plate.
-Dip each sausage-coated eggs in beaten egg and roll in crumbs.
-Place on baking tray lined with aluminum foil and bake in oven at 375°F for 25 to 30 minutes. (turn it every 10 minutes or so so it browns evenly). You can choose to fry it if you wish.
- If you want the crust to be really crispy, spray it very lightly with oil spray (like Pam baking spray before baking).
-When I serve them I usually end up cutting them in half (I cut it in half, only because it takes so darn long to make them, and aint no way I can make 30 of these things for a party).

They are delish! enjoy

Old 10-10-2006, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)

just like the cookbook but with a twist.....u can post ur recipe with pictures only...we want this to be unique
If u don't have pics to post, then please post it on the other recipe thread...I will hate to delete or move ur post

No comments please but feel free to rep all the cooks

Arinze and others that have recipe with pics feel free to report them here...I want you all to do the honors
Question can be sent through PM or rep message
I hate to delete ur comments

Old 10-10-2006, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)

this babe is off da hook

MEAT PIE

Another of my most requested recipes. This is always the first to go at parties, and way easier to make than scotch eggs.

Meat Filling
-small potatoes, diced and cooked (to save time, use frozen hash brown potato cubes)
-lean ground beef (or chicken, or turkey)
-frozen mixed vegetables, cooked (I use the peas, carrots and corn mix)
-onion diced
-red and green sweet peppers, diced
- seasonings (salt, black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, knorr/maggie etc...whatever you like)

Dough
1/2 cup butter (1 stick) (it should be cold and hard)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
4-6 tablespoons ice water

-Prepare the filling by browning your meat and spices. WHile it's cooking, stirfry your peppers and onion and veggies. Mix it all together. Taste and adjust seasoning to taste.

-Once ground beef is cooked, add the diced cooked potatoes and heat for 5 minutes. (not too much potatoes). The main purpose is to aborb excesss liquid from the meat mixture, so that you don't end up with soggy meat pies.

-To make dough: Sift together dry ingredients and cut the butter into the dry ingredients with a fork until mixture is crumbly.

-While mixing with a wooden spoon, add water a tablespoon at a time until dough holds together in a ball(you may need more or less water. Just add small amounts at a time). If the dough is crumbly, add a little more water by drops until the dough stays together when you pinch it.
-When dough comes together into a ball roll out the dough until.
-Cut out circles (I use a giant cookie cutter for this). If dough becomes sticky or too soft put in fridge for 10 minutes to cool and then take it out again and continue cutting the circles.
-Place meat stuffing in ceter of pastry circles.
-Fold over and seal using a fork.
-Bake on a lightly greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 35 minutes or until lightly browned.

Enjoy.....

Old 10-10-2006, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)

Shito/sheto/Shitor Din: pronounced SHEE-toe.

I've had a recipe for a while, but have not attempted to make it because, I usually just buy my own from the African store, or ask my mother in law...she makes a really nice shitor......it is the bomb with rice and beans. This is the closest picture to it, that I could find.

What you need (makes a huge batch though)
  • one cup dried shrimp or prawns (ground or pounded)
  • one to two cups dried hot chile pepper (e.g., red pepper flakes, or take dried whole chile peppers and roughly chop, grind, or pound them -- taking care not to turn them into powder )
  • four cups vegetable oil
  • two tablespoons salt
What you do
  • Combine all ingredients in large pot. Cook over high heat, stirring continuously, until ingredients are well mixed. Cover and allow to cool to room temperature. Transfer to clean, glass bottles with airtight tops. Store in a cool place (refrigerator). Can be stored several months. Serve with everything. (I WOULDN'T CHANCE THE STORING IT FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. Frankly with mixing shrimp and oil and all that stuff, you don't want to chance getting botulism (a very serious illness that you get from eating condiments that are oil based, especially if there's garlic in it).
This stuff is the bomb....it's sooooooooooooo good.

Here's another recipe....this one looks better.

Traditional Shitor (smaller batch)
350 ml (12 fl oz) vegetable oil
4 medium onions, finely chopped
100 g (3-1/2 oz) root ginger, finely grated
30 g (2 tablespoons) tomato paste
2 chicken stock cubes
200 g (6-1/2 oz) peeled dried prawns (shrimp)
100 g (3-1/2) tiny prawns (shrimp), ground to a powder
75 g (2-1/2) chilli (hot pepper) powder

Heat the oil in a heavy-based saucepan and fry the onions and ginger for 10-15 minutes until the onions are golden. Stir in the tomato paste and mix thoroughly.
Crush the chicken stock cubes and add them to the pan, without water. Stir to mix. Simmer, stirring frequently, for 3 minutes. Add both lots of prawns (shrimp) and stir for 1 minute. Add the chilli (hot pepper) powder and thoroughly blend in. Cook for 2 more minutes, stirring continuously. Be careful not to burn the mixture at this stage. Remove from the heat and stand for about 1 hour or until it has cooled down. Transfer to a storage jar and keep in a cool place until required.

If you try it, please come back and tell us how it turned out.

Old 10-10-2006, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

another one
Ewa Riro (Beans)

I made some Ewa Riro this afternoon. It was pretty darn good if I do say so myself.

DIRECTIONS
  • two to three cups dried cowpeas (black-eyed peas) or similar boiled in salted and sugared water
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup palm oil (or vegetable oil)
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tomatoes chopped
  • Small piece of smoked/dried fish
  • 3 tea spoonfuls shrimp powder
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt and black pepper (use sparingly as smoked fish can be salty)
  • several ripe or near-ripe plantains (but not overly ripe)
What you do
  • Clean the black-eyed peas in water in a large pot. Soak them in water for at least an hour or overnight. (I usually soak my beans for several hours, and throw the water out, so that all the gas gets out. This controls flatulence from eating beans)
  • If using smoked or dried fish: remove bones and skin, rinse and soak in water, then dry. If using dried shrimp: grind the shrimp (or obtain already ground or powdered shrimp).
  • Place the beans in a large pot, add salt and pinch of sugar fill with water to just cover the peas. Bring to a slow boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer until the peas are tender, thirty minutes to an hour. When cooked, the bean should be moist, but not standing in water.
  • While beans are cooking: Heat oil in a skillet. Fry the onions until slightly browned, then add tomatoes, and fish and dried shrimp (if desired). Mash and stir the mixture to form a sauce. Add salt, pepper, and cayenne or red pepper to taste.
  • Stir cooked beans into the onion-tomato mixture. Add buillon or Maggi cubes. Simmer for ten minutes. Taste and adjust for salt and pepper.
  • Serve beans with fried plantains side by side on a plate

Old 10-10-2006, 11:37 PM   #9 (permalink)

will post another recipe soon
ingredients:
Sugar, Flour, yeast, warm water, groundnut oil and frying pan

Method:
depends how you want to do it

mix yeast in warm water and pour inside floor, mix all together.
It can't be too hard or too soft...then let it rise as desired. (you can mix all togther as once and just add water as need) some don't use warm water, some use milk( i do) is all by choice

then start frying...make small balls so it won't be too oily and messy

Buns is similar just that with buns i don't use yeast but baking powder.
one thing my mom taught me was to manipulate ur cooking to give it a distinguished taste. So i add things and subtract things
like the ones i made today i added couple of things....my friends can tell my puff puff apart because of what i add and subtract
so you may want to follow easy method then after you are comfortable making it then try different methods

enjoy

y'all ladies are not being fair at all

Old 10-10-2006, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Arinze
Moi-Moi - Arinze Style

Adding some oil to my mixed up ingredients

The mix in a pan before it goes on the fire

Moi-Moi don ready ooo

Time to eat!

Moi-Moi with Aki and Salt fish

I won't bother posting my full recipe unless someone specifically ask for it:

Ingredients:
Blackeyed peas
Canola Oil
Corned Beef
Sardines
Ground crayfish
Boiled eggs
Salt
Seasoning cubes
Red bell pepper (for colour)
'Regular' pepper
Originally Posted by Arinze
@Nimotalai + Nappy Chic

Ingredients:
Blackeyed peas
Canola Oil
Corned Beef
Sardines
Ground crayfish
Boiled eggs
Salt
Seasoning cubes
Red bell pepper (for colour)
'Regular' pepper

PREPARATION
Put beans in blender with water and blend for 1 - 2 mins (this process makes it easier to wash the skin off the beans)

Pour blender content into a bowl, wash the beans and rinse the skin off until you completely rid the beans of skin.

Put beans into blender -
->add water
->diced onions
->hot pepper
->red bell pepper
->add seasoning cubes (I like to do this during the blending phase)
*allow to blend for several minutes*

Pour pureed beans into a bowl
->add your oil
->add blended dried crayfish
->add corned beef (use your hand to squash it)
->add sardines (use your hand to squash it)
->add salt
->add water if necessary ( I don't like my puree too thick)
*mix the ingredients together with a cooking spoon*

Some people use foils, some use baking pans, or moi-moi leaf (i wish) to enclose the beans puree for steaming....

Pour the small portions of your bean puree into your container (foil, baking pan, et al) - 1/2 or 1/4 of a boiled egg to each container.

Place them in a pot, add about 1 cup of water to the pot. ( You don't want to add too much water, the goal is to steam the beans and not to boil it)

Keep checking ur pot to make sure the water doesn't dry out.. keep adding a cup or half each time you sense that the water is drying up.

It's a good practise to have a 'test container'. You can use it to determine if the moi-moi is done or not.

VOILA - moi moi don read

ps: I am fond of calling it moi-moi, I know some of y'all use "moin-moin"

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
Moin-moin:
I use black eyed peas but you can use Naija red beans.
Ingredients:
1 bag of Beans
2 Tomatoes (optional for color)
1 big Red Tatashe (if you don't want to use tomatoes)
1 Onion
I can chicken stock (optional)
2 Maggi
1 teaspoon Curry
1 teaspoon Thyme
1 tablespoon Crayfish (or more)
8 Eggs (cooked and cut into quarters)
1 can Sardine
5 tablespoons Groundnut oil
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
Foil or plastic bags for cooking the moi-moi in

Okay, so you soak the beans in water... while the beans are soaking, tear up some foil and fold them into packages (sorry, I no fit put picture up), or you can use those little plastic bags you can put sandwiches in. Take the beans and divide it in two or three and crush it in your blender. Please, use "crush" not "blend". Using "crush" loosens the covering on the beans. It makes it much easier to wash....

After rinsing out all the "eyes" from the peas, blend them all together with onions and tatashe and maggi (my maggi is too strong so I blend it in with the beans). When the beans have been well blended, add all the spices and sardine and dilute with some water. I usually use chicken stock instead of water. Then start spooning the mixture into individual foil packets, add a slice of the egg and place in pot.

I cook my moin-moin for a while. Over an hour. You should realize that moin-moin is cooked with steam so don't fill the pot with water. Just put a little and keep topping it so it cooks more with steam... After about an hour and a half (as I said, I cook mine for a while), drain the pot and remove the cover for the moin-moin to cool down. Peel off the wrapper and enjoy with garri or akamu or custard or even rice and dodo

Last edited by Sophia; 10-11-2006 at 12:04 AM..
Old 10-10-2006, 11:46 PM   #11 (permalink)

Easiest recipe I've posted:

Coat plantain in oil very lightly, just so it doesn't stick to the pan.

Place on a baking tray and roast in oven (alternatively you can roast on the barbecue).

Keep turning till all sides are brown and caramelized.

Grab a handful of epa nuts and enjoy.

A nice filling snack. Ahhh...brings back memories, buying boli ati epa after school for a snack before heading to lessons for 3 hours.

Old 10-10-2006, 11:48 PM   #12 (permalink)

yummy
Easiest recipe I've posted:

Coat plantain in oil very lightly, just so it doesn't stick to the pan.

Place on a baking tray and roast in oven (alternatively you can roast on the barbecue).

Keep turning till all sides are brown and caramelized.

Grab a handful of epa nuts and enjoy.

A nice filling snack. Ahhh...brings back memories, buying boli ati epa after school for a snack before heading to lessons for 3 hours.

Old 10-10-2006, 11:51 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 66,907,133,775.15
Total Points: 66,907,353,896.12
Rep Power: 21474895 Murewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legendMurewa is a legend

that's ewa riro ke?? really?? i never seen ewa looking like dat sha.. interesting

Sophia the pofpof recipe

arinze's moi moi is making my mouth water sha... it looks good!

Some Facts: I totally LOVE me some Rajon R, Dwayne J, Dwight H, T.I. and Chrisette M
I will marry them in a heart beat! that's how serious the obsession is
Murewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 12:00 AM   #14 (permalink)

Pic by Sophia
Originally Posted by Ayoka
recipe for jollof rice

ingredients:
rice, tomato plum , peppers, onions, seasonings, oil or butta

instructions:
cook d rice for lyk 10 mins, den wash it , drain it out

whilst the rice bidness was happening you should of been blend the tomato plums wid d peppers and onions ( or if u wana be extra blend in tomatoes as well) then chuck it in d pot add the oil or butta let it cook n boil for a bit

chuck in the rice in d mixure, chuck in your seasonings and cook till the mixture has blended in a dryed up wid d rice...DONT LET D RICE BURN... oh yea add salt if u want

SERVE!!
Originally Posted by lulu
My own version of jollof rice:

Ingredients: bunch of fresh tomatoes, onions, hablano pepper, chicken broth, curry, thyme, salt, knorr cubes, canola oil

Method:
>>blend all the tomatoes and pepper
>>pour the mix into the pot along with chopped up onions
>>cook for a couple of minutes; don't let it dry out too much before you add the oil
>>add those those little cans of tomato sauce to give it a redder tint
>>then add the curry, thyme
>>pour the rice in and mix it up before finally adding the broth; add the knorr cube right after
>>cook until the rice is done

.....I was at one naija gathering couple of weeks back, and they had this special plaintain mix. They combined diced plantains with light tomatoe stew and little pieces of chicken and shrimp...and kinda fried all of them together. First time i had something like that, and it tasted gooood I don't even know what it's called...anyone know what i'm talking about???

Last edited by Sophia; 10-11-2006 at 12:11 AM..
Old 10-11-2006, 12:03 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MIprincess
Sauce arachide aka groundnut stew
Very simple

peanut butter the one with no sugar
4 hot pepper
about 18-20 small roma tomatoes
meat
salt
oil
half of a small onion

place a small amt of the peanut butter about the size of a ball of eba (lol) and add double the amount of water. Mix it really well until it becomes smooth and then add 1 cup of water. Bring the sauce to a hard boil and add 2 cups of water over a 25 minute period. Add 4 whole peppers. Take about half of the tomatoes, remove the seeds and mash what's left. Add tomato mash and another 4 cups of water to the sauce and contine to boil it. After 50 minutes of total boiling time, add 2 1/2 cups of water, then let it boil gently for 20 minutes. Add ur meat and 1 tablespoon of salt. Boil hard for 35 minutes. Add rest of the baby tomatoes prepared as before, 1 tablespoon of oil, and mashed onion. Let boil at least another 15 minutes.

So its simple, takes a min, and u add the tomatoes over time, not all at once. At least thats my version