#31 (permalink) | ||||||||||
Here is my recipe for Ogbono soup.... yes, yes, I know it is the easiest recipe but make I put my own down now....
Ingredients: Ogbono Palm Oil Pepper Crayfish Onions Salt Maggi Curry and Thyme (to flavor your meat) Meats (all kinds) Fish i.e., okporoko Bitterleaf/ugwu/spinach (optional) Okra (optional) A tip for the okporoko, I usually soak it from the night before. This "softens" it up A LOT!!! I cook it for about 45 minutes or so and check the softness. While the okporoko is cooking, I put the meat in a pot to cook and add onions, thyme, curry, salt and pepper for flavor. I then start mixing the ogbono inside hot palm oil while stirring it the whole time. I only stir it for a few minutes just to get it brown and start giving off a "scent"... Meanwhile, the meat should be cooked by now. I remove the meat and then I add the meat water to the ogbono mixture and let it cook for about 30 minutes. Add the fish and meat towards when the ogbono is almost done because you don't want your meats to "over cook"... add the spinach or ugwu or bitterleaf last of all because the heat of the soup would cook them. For those who like okra with ogbono (I have never added it, but some folks do, you should add it before adding the meat. This is to give the okra time to cook)... anyhow, here are my pictures from the recipe ![]() ![]() Some of the ingredients used ![]() ![]() The soup itself when it was cooked ![]() ![]() Small shot of my soup oh ![]() ![]() Hmmmm..., it's time to whack ![]()
||||||||||
#33 (permalink) |
I made some scotch eggs today. (My recipe is posted on page 1 of this thread).
Some step by step pictures: 1. ![]() 2. Wet hands, flour egg, and wrap sausage around egg. ![]() 3. Dip sausage wrapped egg into beaten egg and roll in breadcrumbs. ![]() 4. Place on baking tray and into oven. (You can fry it if you prefer). ![]() 5.Cut in half and serve. Enjoy. ![]()
#35 (permalink) | ||||||||||
Ingredients:
Rice Meats... all kinds 2 Green bell peppers I Package of green string beans 1/2 lb of liver 4 carrots 2 onions Groundnut oil Spices: Curry Thyme Pepper Maggi Salt First off, I cook the meat. Add all the spices and cut one of the onions into the meat. While the meat is cooking, I cut up my veggies and steam them individually. This takes a while but that's because I like using fresh veggies. However, you can use mixed veggies in which case, just defrost, no steaming necessary. Meanwhile, my meat should be done by now. So, I take it out and start baking it. While it is baking, I use the meat water to cook the rice (I don't precook my rice, I don't want it soggy). When the rice is almost done, I start frying the veggies. First the onions, then the liver then the carrots, bell pepper and string beans. By now, the rice should be done. I now bring out a fresh pot and put in one layer of rice, then one layer of the veggies. Then another layer of rice and another of the veggies until it's all done. I guess I could mix it all up at once but I cook it the way I saw my mother do it Voila! it's ready to eat... please add dodo and moi-moi for an exquisite culinary experience ![]() ![]() The rice cooked with meat water. Curry makes it yellow like that ![]() ![]() My fresh ingredients all cut up. ![]() The fried ingredients. ![]() Steaming One layer rice, one layer fried ingredients ![]() ![]() Sit and eat. Kai, all I'm missing is Alhaji's wine ![]()
||||||||||
#36 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: May 2004
i loveee Shitoh.... I put it in almost everything- yam porriage, jollof rice, okra... that ish is da best yo'
#37 (permalink) |
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
Okro soup coming up on Sat..y'all shd contribute naw
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
#38 (permalink) |
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
Ingredients:
Ox tail, beef, okro and collard green, palm oil, pepper, crayfish, salt Cooked ox tail first then the meat with no salt. After the oxtail was done, added palm oil and salt...allowed to cook for minutes....then added crayfish and allowed to cook. After the broth was done...I added okro left it to cook for less than 2 mins and then added collard green...less than 2 mins....ready to eat. ....I don't use a lot of "orishiri" to cook because i hate chewing and since this was a small soup just for me I did not bother to waste my dryfish U can add whatever u want...sometimes i add mushroom but today i wanted a simple okro with green leaf to eat for the week as I am not really in mood for heavy soup...PM me ur address so I can fedex some ![]() okro ![]() The broth ![]() yeah...have it ur way ![]() ![]()
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
#39 (permalink) | ||||||||||
Okay, I went to the Naija grocery market around my area and saw periwinkle and the first thing in my mind was EDIKAIKONG!!! I learned it from my aunt who is Calabar. Unfortunately, you need waterleaf and ugwu... two ingredients not at the store BUT since na "leaf" soup, you can substitute. I used ukazi (a lil' igbo twist right there) and spinach. Okay, ingredients:
Cow leg, Goat meat, Beef, tripe, dry fish, okporoko and kpomo (yes, I threw in a lot of meat here.., abeg, make I enjoy myself, no be only chicken all the time) ![]() Periwinkles One bag of ukazi One bunch of spinach One sliced onion Some palm oil Some crayfish Salt Pepper Thyme Curry Maggi First start steaming the meat. Add the curry and other spices and add the sliced onion. I usually soak my okporoko the night before so by now it's soft... I add the okporoko to the meat as it is cooking. When the meat is halfway done, I added the ukazi. Since it was dry ukazi, I had soaked it in hot water for over 30 minutes to soften it. Then I added the ukazi to the meat water and let it cook for 15 minutes. Then I added the periwinkles, crayfish and palm oil and cooked it for another 10 minutes. Lastly, I added the spinach and cooked for an additional 5-10 minutes. Ah, by now, the aroma was filling my place... hmmm..., so good Okay, some pics for your viewing pleasure: The ingredients I used ![]() The soup in my pot... yum yum ![]() The soup in a plate prior to eating ![]() ![]()
Last edited by Nappy Chick; 11-02-2006 at 03:08 AM.. |
||||||||||
#40 (permalink) |
Mehn this took me way too long. I've been cooking this whole evening. I wasn't paying attention and added too much spinach so I had to make another batch to balance it out. Anyway, I think the recipe was posted on this thread already, but I don't remember. Here it is again:
![]() 2 pounds spinach or 1 10-ounce packages frozen chopped spinach, cooked and drained Meat or fish as desired 1/2 to 1 teaspoon cayenne 2 chopped tomatoes 1/2 chopped onion 1/4 to 1/2 cup palm or peanut oil 1/2 to 1 tablespoon ground dried crayfish salt, thyme, knorr cube smoked fish If using fresh spinach, cook, drain, and chop. If using frozen drain excess water by squeezing. Boil meat or fish in a little water until tender. Drain. Heat oil, dissolve knorr/maggie cube, stir in thyme, pepper and crayfish.. Add tomatoes and onion and cook on low heat until you get a fairly thickened sauce. Add meat and fish and simmer for a few minutes. Add chopped spinach. Simmer briefly to heat and blend flavors. Taste and adjust seasonings.
#41 (permalink) |
this looks extremely good! ![]()
#42 (permalink) | ||
it serves 8 in a large pot, boil meat and/or chicken with seasonings(magi, pepper, etc) add 2 large laidels of smoothe peanut butter, cut up onions, cut up squares of cabbage, carrots, hot peppers, and tomato paste(like a table spoon). let it boil til it's thick enough for your liking. put over white rice.....mmmmm good. i know some people add okro to the stew, but i never tried that. when i cook it i'll add a pic
#43 (permalink) |
Lolo I of Nibo
![]() Join Date: Apr 2002
Mamaput style chicken stew, basic simple naija recipe
Chicken, I love me some chicken but use whatever meat u prefer Fresh tomato (8 tomatoes) Tin tomato (1can) fresh pepper, I use the hot jabanero peppers (4), dat ting na fire oo onion oil salt seasoning (curry,maggi, thyme) Boil the chicken almost covered in salt water, I dont like using fowl like most Naija people do so I use reg chicken, shorter period to cook. Grind the Tomato, fresh pepper and onion and fry it in the vegetable oil till it gets dry. Also add the tin tomato. Add the curry, thyme, maggi cubes. Add the chicken broth, and let it all cook, then add the cooked chicken and cook for a little bit more. Serve with white rice/plantain/yam. Mine usually serves 10-12 people since na the whole house dey chop, so has to last at least 4-5days.While letting it simmer ![]() Ready to eat, come chop ![]() ![]()
Blessed by the Most High Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words "Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb- The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure. C'est Dieu qui donne la vie. |
#45 (permalink) |
Sorry sophia, I know no comments allowed, but I have some questions.
MIPrincess...your stew looks pretty good. 'll be the first to admit my chicken stew needs some help, so pointers would be appreciated. ![]() Question: I never know the correct onion to tomato ratio for stew. So you used 8 tomatoes, but how many onions? Then when you say fry it in the oil.......how much oil and for how long to fry it for? Thanks