Old 10-11-2006, 12:06 AM   #16 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
My recipe for Yam Pottage. Ingredients:
1/2 tuber of Yam
1 Maggi
4 Tablespoons of palm oil
2 Plantains ripe or green (optional)
1 Sweet potato (optional)
1 Tablespoon of crayfish
Stew or Tomatoes (optional)
One bunch green vegetable/Green/Kalalou/Spinach, chopped up
Pepper
Salt to taste

Cut the yam and sweet potato into chunks and start cooking it. Only use the sweet potato if you want your pottage to have a "sweet" taste. When it is about three quarters way done, you can add all the spices, oil and tomatoes or stew if you want. Some people don't use this but I do, just to give the pottage more "body" and to add more color than the palm oil can give it.... also add the plantains at this point because it doesn't take plantains a long time to cook. When the yam is done, open the pot and add the chopped up "green"... the steam from the yam pottage would cook the "green"... mix the "green" up with the yam pottage and let it cool down a little. Serve with a cold bottle of palmi or beer

Old 10-11-2006, 12:08 AM   #17 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474937 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by African Athena
My recipe for afang...really couldn't be arsed typing it all over again, so here's the link:

African Athena come in here

And for the benefit of those who could care sod all to click the link, I've copied and pasted it for you (I'm magnanimous like that )

First of all, you blend pepper (fresh!!!), put that aside, pound the okazi (or blend it if you can't pound it) then put that aside as well, wash and chop up the spinach (ratio of spinach to okazi is round about 3 : 1) and put that aside.

Next put the meat and other meat parts and okporoko on the fire (with VERY LITTLE WATER!!!), add the condiments (i.e maggi and salt and such) and steam this.

That done, add the okazi to the pot of meat, add about half a cup of water and let that cook for a bit as well (okazi is a very tough veggie to chew and a such needs a long time to cook. That's why you add it first. You need to watch it though cos it soaks up water and could burn easily if you're not careful)

Afterwards you now add the chopped spinach and add the pepper on top. leave this to simmer down (you'll know this when the spinach darkens and reduces). Afterwards, stir the contents and leave for a further 10 - 15 mins. Then add the palm oil as required, stir it in and leave on low heat to simmer.

When ah get power small ah go add more recipes

Old 10-11-2006, 12:09 AM   #18 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
Recipe for banga soup. Ingredients:
Aku/Palm Kernel (if you are in Naija)
One can of palm kernel mix (if you are abroad)
Meat (cow leg, shaki, Okporoko, dry fish, Ice fish, beef....)
1 teaspoon curry
1 teaspoon thyme
2 tablespoons of crayfish
1 onion chopped up
1 teaspoon fiery salt (naija one, like the ground red ose)
1 - 3 tablespoons of flour (any type, optional)
Salt to taste
One bunch of dry bitter leaf (extremely optional. I've never used it but I heard people use it)

First off, cook your okporoko (we all know how long that takes!!!)... when okporoko is almost done, cook all your remaining meats. Make sure you season your meats with the spices listed above to give it some flavor. Also add the chopped onions.

When the meat is half way done, add the can of palm kernel mix to the pot. For those in Naija, put the palm kernel in your odo and pound it very well, not enough to crack the nuts though! Then put all the kernel and skin through a seive with a little water. Whatever mix you get should be used as your palm kernel mix for the soup.

While the soup is boiling, add your crayfish to the mixture. By this time, the soup might be watery. In this case, you can thicken it with a little bit of flour. Not to much oh!! You don't want it to be thick like egusi, that is not the essence of banga soup Anyhow, add your fish now (you don't want to over cook your fish) and add salt. Let soup cook for about 20 minutes. If you care (some folks do), add your dry/wet bitterleaf to the soup. If you are adding bitterleaf, please, rinse it very well so all the sand can get out. However, in the case of dry bitterleaf, soak it in hot water for a while before you add it to the soup. It cooks it up a bit. Let cook for another 5-10 minutes. Taste to make sure it is well seasoned and done. Remove from heat and serve with eba or iyan or tuwo or elubo or what have you... enjoy

Ps. If you made this in Naija, hmmm, we all know that the inner nut in the palm kernel is good for many purposes. As a kid (and even a teenager), I used to gather the nuts and crack it open to get the inner nut (it is smaller than the nut of the almond tree but oh, so sweet). Anyhow, these nuts make a good snack. Especially when they are fresh

Old 10-11-2006, 12:12 AM   #19 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Xpensyv_Bodi
MoiMoi Ukpor (Corn-meal/Banana Pudding)
CornMeal

Ripe banana (chiquita..dole..ohafia..its ok)

Red Onions

Fresh red pepper (habanero)

Pailmoil or Veggie oil

Salt

A cup of water

Maggi, Knorr or Goya seasoning

Ground Crayfish
Peel Banana
Dice Onion/Fresh pepper
Pour all into a processor and Blend into a smooth paste

--Pour banana mixture into a mixing bowl
--Measure/add the cornmeal (how many cups depends on how much u wanna make. u can always eye ball it)
--Add ground crayfish..maggi..pailmoil
--Start mixing; if too thick..add some water
--When u have the desired thickness u want, add some salt

--Fold aluminium foil into mini cup shapes
--scoop mixture and fold/tighten the edges
--place individual wraps side by side in a non-stick pot
--Add some water to the pot, cover and let it boil for 45 minutes

--VERY HOT
--Open lid and let it evaporate oo..I dey warn u...but if u are strong...grab some wraps and face the fan...lol!! the cooler it gets..the more it solidifies

****It's very important that the banana be well ripened b4 use...that's what gives it the sweetness. NOT decaying banana oo..just when the first few little dark spots show on the skin.

na this cornmeal me I dey use..e dey good

Old 10-11-2006, 12:14 AM   #20 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MIprincess
Quick egg stew

heat up some oil on pan
add chopped up onions, stir for like a min
add chopped up tomatoes(cut it tiny bits), stir some more
add seasoning: thyme, curry, pepper and salt
stir some more, like 3mins
on the side of the pan, fry your eggs scrambled style
and then b4 the eggs are done, mix with the rest.
I usually also add like cut up sausage links too

I like mine oily, but it depends on u

Serve with plantains or yam or even rice!
Love it, love it!

Old 10-11-2006, 12:16 AM   #21 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bigtallman
let me contribute to this thread, the little things i know how to make

EGUSI SOUP

Pics by Sophia

Ingredients:
meat of your choice
crayfish
ground melon
ground cayenne red pepper
salt
onions
palm oil or vegetable oil
bitter leaf or spinach
tomatoes
maggi

blend tomatoes and onions together
put your meat of choice on the stove and let it cook, add ur seasonings of choice to the meat cooking
take ur blended tomatoes and onions and fry it for just a little while with oil, i use corn oil
add ur grounded melon to the tomatoe and onions that ur frying and let it fry for a little while
add ur meat that you've been cooking to the pot with the melon, tomatoes and onions
add ur crayfish
i usually add more red pepper at this time
add ur maggi
let cook for a little while
then add ur spinach

and there u have it, I'll put up my okra soup too

Old 10-11-2006, 12:18 AM   #22 (permalink)

wow...how did i miss this thread....

Ibadan style gbegiri

beans
ata(ground pepper)
iru
palm oil
seasonings
onions

first soak the beans in water for like 30 minutes, then peel it. once peeled cook it in a pressure cooker for a REALLY LONG time.cook it till its almost mush like,add salt when you cook it. once you get the mushy like consictency, pour it in a really fine metal seive and seive it out till you get a very smooth "yogurt like" consictency. while ur beans was cooking, you should make pepper like you would for any stew but use palm oil instead of oil...if u are health concious, u can mix the vegitable oil with just a lil bit of palm oil. once your stew is ready and seasoned, mix your bean paste with the ata(you want them to be almost equal in parts but with a lil more bean paste than ata). add Iru if you want,its optional. then just let it cook till its ready.
it is traditionaly eaten with amala but its great as just a soup by itself.
enjoy!!

Old 10-11-2006, 12:18 AM   #23 (permalink)

moin moin elemi meje(well not really meje but hey )
pic by Nappy
ewa oloyin(beans)
seasonings
boiled eggs
sardines
seasonings
ata(peppa)
foil pans/milk cans.

moin moin is really easy actully but it can be a lil time consuming when it comes to steaming it the right way.
soak your beans in water for like 30 min and then peel it. put it in blender with some onions and blend it till its very smooth. also grind your pepper(ata).
once your have your ground up beans and ata, mix the two very well(you want equal parts but with a lil more beans than ata), i've heard that some peeps dont cook theres with ata(pepper) so it really depends on which way you like to cook it, but for me we've always made our with ata. once your paste is mixed, add your seasonings(maggi etc), then add ur sliced boiled eggs and mashed up sardines(you can add whatever else to make it elemi meje ).
now the tricky part is how to steam it, traditonaly its is steamed in leafs but some dont have access and i even find difficult to pour it in the leaves,i never get it right, there are many options out there, some pour it into lil foil packets or some use milk tin cans, there many creative things out there for u to pick and choose. what i like to use are these lil minture foil pans, the once that come with the white cardboard covers, so i pour the mixture in the lil foil contaniers. you wanna use a nice big pot with a tight cover, add a lil water, you dont want the water level to pass the level of the containers, as in you dont want your containers to be buried in water.set the containers in the pot and let it cook/steam, you want to have a tester container because you are going to be checking it constantly to make sure it is cooked to the right consictency. your gonna keep refilling the pot with water till its cooked right, it will prolly take a while so be patient.
it is traditionaly eaten with eko andd pap/akamu, but it can be enjoyed alone.
kay enjoy

Old 10-11-2006, 12:21 AM   #24 (permalink)

Pepper Soup
Originally Posted by Lady1
1/2 cup cooking oil (palm oil if possible)
1 or 2 onions, quartered
1 to 3 pounds of stew beef (or chicken, goat, lamb or mutton), cut into bite-size pieces
2 or 3 hot peppers, cleaned and chopped
2 or 3 tomatoes, chopped
1 small can tomato paste
1 sweet green pepper, chopped (optional)
1 teaspoon thyme
1 or 2 Maggi cubes or Maggi sauce,
Salt (to taste)
Black pepper (to taste)
Cayenne pepper or red pepper, optional (to taste)
Pepper Soup Seasonings:
2 ounces anise seed
2 ounces pepper
2 ounces atariko;
2 ounces uda;
2 ounces gbafilo;
2 ounces ginger (dried);
2 ounces rigije;
2 ounces uyayak
• Combine all seasonings and grind in a clean coffee grinder to a smooth powder.
• Heat the oil in a large stew pot
• Fry the onions for a few minutes.
• Add the meat to the pot. Add water to cover.
• Bring to a boil and allow it to cook until the meat begins to become tender.
• Reduce heat.
• Add all other ingredients and seasonings. Stir well. Add more water to attain soup consistency.
• Simmer for thirty minutes or until all ingredients are done.

Old 10-11-2006, 12:22 AM   #25 (permalink)

Suya
3 teaspoons finely ground roasted peanuts
2 teaspoon cayenne pepper or red pepper, or red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger ½ teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1 or 2 pounds of meat (beef, chicken, etc.), cut into bite-size pieces
1 onion peeled and cut into chunks
1 tomato cut into chunks
1 green or red bell pepper, cleaned and cut into chunks (optional)
• Make the ground peanut powder: Remove shells and skins from roasted peanuts, if necessary.
• Grind the peanuts into a fine powder (briefly pound them in a mortar and pestle; crush them with a rolling pin; or use a food processor).
• Be careful not to grind them into a paste. If the peanut powder is oily, wrap it in absorbent paper (paper towel) and squeeze for a minute or two.
• Stir the spices into the powder, mixing well.
• For really spicy hot suya, use more cayenne pepper; for a milder dish, substitute paprika for some (or all) of the cayenne pepper.
• Divide the peanut-spice mix into two parts, putting half in one bowl and half in another.
• Set one bowl aside.
• Dip and roll the meat in the other bowl of the peanut-spice mix, making sure the meat is completely coated.
• Allow meat to marinate for thirty minutes or more. (Get the outdoor grill going or preheat the oven while you are waiting.)
• Place the meat on skewers (alternating with the onion, tomato and sweet pepper, if desired).
• Broil in a hot oven, or grill over hot coals, until meat is done.

Old 10-11-2006, 12:23 AM   #26 (permalink)

Efere Ibaba
INGREDIENTS QUANTITIES

Beef 8 Medium pieces
Partially smoked fish 1 large size
Stockfish head (cooked) 1 medium size
Perewinkle (without shell) 2 cups.
Ibaba (ground) 3 tablespoon
Tender Pumpkin leaves 1 small bunch.
Uyayak (whole or ground) 1 small piece
Pepper medium size
Maggi Crayfish 2 tablets
Palm oil 2 cooking spoons
Water 2 litres
Salt to taste

METHOD

- Add water to the partially cooked beef. Stir.
- Add the stockfish head, smoked fish and palm oil.
- Stir and allow cooking for about 10 minutes.
- Make a paste of the Ibaba by gradually stirring in 1-tablespoon palm oil to the 3 tablespoons of Ibaba.
- The paste should be very smooth.
- Stir the paste into the pot.
- Add Maggi Crayfish, pepper and stir. Cook for 10 minutes.
- Stir and reduce the heat. Simmer for about 5 minutes.
- Add the shredded tender pumpkin leaves and stir.
- Add salt if necessary after tasting.
- Simmer for few minutes remove from heat and serve.

Old 10-11-2006, 12:24 AM   #27 (permalink)

SPECIAL EFO RIRO
INGREDIENTS QUANTITIES

Liver (Cubed) 1 cup
Tripe (cooked and shredded) 1 cup
Crab (dressed) 4 med. size
Smoked fish (shreds) 1 cup
Stockfish head (cooked & shredded) 1 small size
Shoko (blanched) 1 large bunch
Fresh tomato (ground) 4 med. size
Onion (ground) 1 med. size
Fresh pepper (ground) 6 med. size
Onion (finely sliced) 1 med. size
Maggi Crayfish 1 tablet
Palm Oil 1½ Cooking-spoons
Water 2 cups
Salt to taste.

METHOD

- Heat the palm oil for few minutes.
- Add the ground tomato/onion and pepper mixture.
- Fry for about 10 minutes.
- Add the water, liver, tripe, crab, smoked fish and the stockfish head.
- Stir and add Maggi Crayfish tablet.
- Allow bubbling thoroughly
- Add the blanched leaves.
- Stir.
- Reduce the heat and add salt to taste.
- Simmer for about 5 minutes.
- Remove from heat and serve.

Old 10-11-2006, 12:25 AM   #28 (permalink)

ISI EWU
The soup can be served with cassava fufu or eba or pounded yam.

Ingredients Quantities
Chicken cut into pieces 1 whole fowl
Smoked fish 1 medium size
Dried meat 12 small pieces
Crayfish 3 tablespoons
Pumpkin leaves 2 medium sizes
Onion 1 small bulb
Akparanta seed 1 cup
Dried pepper (ground) 1 tablespoon
Palm oil 3 cooking spoons
Maggi cube 3
Water 3 litres
Salt to taste

Method
• Cut the chicken into small pieces
• Wash thoroughly with salt and hot water
• Place in a pot and add water
• Wash the smoked fish and add to the chicken in the pot
• Season with 1 Maggi cube and finely chopped onion, allow to steam for about 15 minutes
• Heat the apparanta seed in very hot sand till the colour changes to pink
• Remove from heat, break the outer shell to remove the seeds
• Grind or pound to a fine powder
• Add the remaining water to the pot containing the chicken and fish stir
• Add the crayfish, pepper and palm oil, stir
• Allow to boil for about 5 minutes
• Dissolve the akparanta powder in cold water and stir into the soup
• Stir thoroughly and cook till the soup thickens
• Add the remaining Maggi cube and the shredded pumpkin leaves
• Stir and add salt to taste
• Simmer for few minutes, remove from heat and serve with eba or cassava fufu or pounded yam.

Old 10-11-2006, 12:25 AM   #29 (permalink)

OFE UGBA WITH POUNDED YAM
INGREDIENTS
½ kg Beef
1 medium size Smoked fish
4 medium size Stockfish (cooked)
1 small bunch Ugu leaves
6 wraps Ugba
1 small size Onion
20 medium fingers Okro
1 tablespoon Dry pepper (ground)
a small piece of Potash
2 cooking spoons Palm oil
3 Maggi Cubes
2 litres Water
Saltto taste

METHOD
Season the beef with few slices of onion and a little salt, steam for about 10 minutes or till the juice dries up.
Add the remaining water and continue cooking
Add the pepper, Maggi Cubes, Fish and stir
Shred the Okro and add
Heat the potash, then crush and add 1 tablespoon of water
Stir in the palm oil till the colour changes to yellow
Add the Ugba and stir
Pour into the pot of soup and stir thoroughly
Add the shredded Ugu
Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir and add salt to taste
Serve with the pounded yam

Old 10-11-2006, 12:26 AM   #30 (permalink)

DESIGNER STEW
Originally Posted by Baby Dee
How to make DESIGNER STEW.......(if anyone has eaten Bank Olemoh rice in Surulere ..u would understand what i mean)

Recipe:
Palm oil,Tiny pieces of meat, shaki,gizzard (or any type of meat u choose to use)
maggi, salt,
ground pepper (tomatoes, onion, pepper....which could be very hot..depending on ur standards..they could be fresh...or just brought out from the freezer)

Depending on the amount of meat u want to use, put a large quantity of palm oil in ur pot..and heat till it is bleached...(i mean bleached....until it is as clear as veg oil....cos that's were the smell n the taste comes from)..

Some people may be worried about smoke alarms or neighbours...but u can heat...n let it cool down ..before heating again..it takes along time...maybe up to 30mins or more....

U should have seasoned the meat properly with onion and all the spice u want to use....Pour the seasoned meat in the bleached palmoil (be careful..don't let it catch fire oooo...u can remove it from the cooker before pouring the meat)...

Simmer the meat on low heat in the palm oil..(don't add water....just allow cook till meat is tender.... After a while the meat would cook and fry in the same oil....(dat's y u have to make sure the palmoil is much....

When the meat is fried to ur standards..pour the ground pepper and let cook till the pepper is fried....all u need do is add maggi n salt ....no spices necessary...

Serve with boiled rice