Old 10-08-2006, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 184.00
Rep Power: 0 tonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/hertonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/hertonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/her
Default Looking for love

Dear Abi,

I broke up with my last boyfriend three years ago, just before i moved to the United Kingdom. Since then, I haven't been in a serious relationship because I haven't met any good guys. I'm getting a bit worried because i live alone, and because i've just moved to a tiny white town in UK by myself, I don't get to go anywhere.

Do you have any suggestions as to how i can get to meet serious-minded Nigerian guys. I really would like to settle down

P.S: i live in a very small, all-white town becos of work.

:frustated
Old 10-09-2006, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Start making friends with the Nigerian folks who live near your town. You can also make friends with your white workers and stuff. You don't know if THEY know any Nigerians. It's time to broaden up your horizons a bit. Are you an introvert or extrovert? What kind of activities do you like to do?? Are you okay doing certain activities alone??? These kind of questions would determine the answers that Dear Abi would give you... I was just putting in my two cents
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 10-09-2006, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,787.30
Rep Power: 0 dlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legenddlbonano is a legend

Is it compulsory u gt 2 be with a nigerian, what abt others they be goat?
dlbonano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1240992 Trespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legend

*smh*

Old 10-09-2006, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by tonibertha
Dear Abi,

I broke up with my last boyfriend three years ago, just before i moved to the United Kingdom. Since then, I haven't been in a serious relationship because I haven't met any good guys. I'm getting a bit worried because i live alone, and because i've just moved to a tiny white town in UK by myself, I don't get to go anywhere.

Do you have any suggestions as to how i can get to meet serious-minded Nigerian guys. I really would like to settle down

Dear Toni,

As a woman who prefers Nigerian men as well, I understand. However, you might want to broaden your outlook. Keep an eye out for fellow Africans, if you want to stay as close to your roots as possible.

Now as for meeting Nigerian men, I would start out by finding the nearest Nigerian church (assuming you're a christian. I'm not sure how muslims practice their faith). More often than not, there are more than enough Nigerian guys in those churches eagerly waiting for the right woman to join the congregation. And if not that, the members of the church will know other Nigerians in the area and you can branch out.

Either ways, you need to put yourself out there, because nobody will find you if you're just sitting down at home. I don't think you should go out with the express purpose of finding a man (desperation is oh-so-sad). Make sure you're going out to find and make new friends first. Eventually, I believe you'll meet someone.
Old 10-09-2006, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 30.00
Rep Power: 133 Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!Baby Dee is a rep whore!

Originally Posted by Mzz Nita
Dear Toni,

As a woman who prefers Nigerian men as well, I understand. However, you might want to broaden your outlook. Keep an eye out for fellow Africans, if you want to stay as close to your roots as possible.

Now as for meeting Nigerian men, I would start out by finding the nearest Nigerian church (assuming you're a christian. I'm not sure how muslims practice their faith). More often than not, there are more than enough Nigerian guys in those churches eagerly waiting for the right woman to join the congregation. And if not that, the members of the church will know other Nigerians in the area and you can branch out.

Either ways, you need to put yourself out there, because nobody will find you if you're just sitting down at home. I don't think you should go out with the express purpose of finding a man (desperation is oh-so-sad). Make sure you're going out to find and make new friends first. Eventually, I believe you'll meet someone.

I totally agree with Mzz Nita...(Mzz Nita...u should be an agony aunt)....well...dat's d truth...u 'd hardly meet any1 by staying indoors...n try to visit naija as soon as u can...ur man may be waiting 4 u there...
Old 10-10-2006, 06:45 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 120,035.02
Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

Dear Abi,

It would have helped more if I knew what your age range was and what's your profession? A working woman or a student? But here's my advice nevertheless.

It always amuses me how females (especially nigerian ones) desperately seek companionship after a given while...for the most part of it, it distracts them and predisposes them to make wrong choices as per partners are concerned...some jumping at any attractive man that professes his "love" for them,uses them and leaves them heart-broken and vengeful...but I digress.

There are single mothers I know who have lived for almost 10 years without even thinking a bit about their relative loneliness because they FOCUSED on their careers and raising their children up properly. you should do the same...FOCUS.

Focus on what is more important to you i.e improving yourself, if you are a career woman, settle your mind on your career,if you are a student...get busy with school-work.

Self-improvement is the key term here...you might end up being a desperate love-searching wreck if you don't redirect your attention...no one wants to have a long-term relationship with a wreck (at least I don't)

While on the road to self-improvement, you should also be more outgoing and social a...to fill in the social void...nd keep true to yourself while at that.You would definitely find someone of your type if you follow this path.

As per restricting your options to just nigerian men, I can vouche for myself and some of my nigerian brothers...however, I feel you should expand your criteria for a spouse. I would advise you look more at personalities and compatible beliefs rather than culture, race, etc...but your preference is your decision at the end of the day

Good luck.

~Don

Last edited by crAzy Don; 10-10-2006 at 06:51 AM..
Old 10-10-2006, 06:46 AM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 42.04
Rep Power: 183 eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!

Dear Abi,

i wish u the best
Old 10-10-2006, 07:02 AM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 184.00
Rep Power: 0 tonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/hertonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/hertonibertha is hopless... must suck to be him/her

Thanks everyone. i really appreciate your advice and i'd try to put it into practice. As CrazyDon said, i really should try to develop myself as a person and as a spouse (time to start practising all thsoe recipes!). Thanks
Old 10-10-2006, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

Dear Abi,

wot part of the uk u at at? if you have any frenz in london go out wif them there and start to build ur connections from there

also seeing as ur in a tiny town, ur guna have to broaden ur type in guys coz the saying 'beggars can't be choosers' really comes to my head right now. im not saying u should settle for any tom, dick and harry but im saying that white guys aint all bad boo.
Old 10-11-2006, 03:13 AM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

why r u gettin negged toni bertha?
Old 10-12-2006, 10:09 PM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 95,883.41
Total Points: 95,914.41
Rep Power: 22981 niajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legend

hang in there. I'm in the same boat as you. I am 25 and live by myself in NJ. I try to go out every weekend not necessarily looking for anyone. Just to have fun. I'm meeting a lot of people but no one that interests me quite yet in that way. I'm not giving up though.
Old 10-13-2006, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Originally Posted by niajersey girl
hang in there. I'm in the same boat as you. I am 25 and live by myself in NJ. I try to go out every weekend not necessarily looking for anyone. Just to have fun. I'm meeting a lot of people but no one that interests me quite yet in that way. I'm not giving up though.
Where in NJ do you live?? Do you come to NYC a lot?
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 10-14-2006, 02:33 AM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 1.57
Total Points: 30,341.92
Rep Power: 21474850 obolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legendobolewu is a legend

Dear Abi,

To sey na Yanki U dey I for hook U up wiff my uncle wey dey drive Cabby for Delaware
on a serious note though one of the easiest ways to find out 'serious minded' people is to mingle with Nigerian WOMEN who know some of these folks especially married Nigerian women who may have husbands that invite their single friends to stuff.Folks who wont waive off family type events as 'bullshit' have the tendency to be a little bit more serious than those who only find fun in clubs
WA WA GBA'PE EPON MI TOBI --REGEDU!
obolewu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 03:34 PM   #15 (permalink)

Total Points: 176.00

Originally Posted by obolewu
To sey na Yanki U dey I for hook U up wiff my uncle wey dey drive Cabby for Delaware
on a serious note though one of the easiest ways to find out 'serious minded' people is to mingle with Nigerian WOMEN who know some of these folks especially married Nigerian women who may have husbands that invite their single friends to stuff.Folks who wont waive off family type events as 'bullshit' have the tendency to be a little bit more serious than those who only find fun in clubs
e be like say u nkwo no enyting u yanky u dey fine boynfrend try to come back home.
by raul o.o.u
raul o.o.u is offline   Reply With Quote