Old 10-06-2006, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474936 Okpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legend

Default Indian Cuisine ....

Recipies my Indian gf gave me .....feel free to post urs...

Fish Tikka

Recipe for four servings

For marinade:

1 cup plain yoghurt

1/2 onion, finely chopped

2 cm piece ginger, grated

4 garlic cloves, crushed

1 teaspoon ground coriander

2 tablespoons lemon juice

11/2 teaspoons garam masala

1 teaspoon chilli powder

2 tablespoons tomato puree

1 teaspoon salt

500g hake fillets or any fish fillets

2 onions, cut into chunks

1 each red, green and yellow peppers, cut into chunks

1 cup biryani rice, (or any other type of rice), cooked.

Wooden skewers

To make marinade, mix together all ingredients for marinade, cut fish into bite-sized chunks. On a skewer, alternately thread chunks of fish, onion and peppers. Place skewers in a shallow dish, spoon marinade over and turn so that fish and vegetables are coated. Cover and marinate for one hour. Pre-heat grill. Lift skewers out of the marinade and cook for five to six minutes on grill, turning once, or until fish is cooked and firm and both fish and vegetables are slightly charred.

Serve on cooked biryani rice (a mixture of basmati rice, lentils and turmeric).
Old 10-06-2006, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474936 Okpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legendOkpabio is a legend

Bombay-style fish

Recipe:

2 cloves garlic, crushed

3 small green chillies, seeded and finely chopped

11/2 teaspoons ground turmeric

11/2 teaspoons ground cloves

11/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon.

11/2 teaspoons ground cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon tamarind puree or shrimp paste 2/3 cup oil (160ml)

800g kingklip of any other type of fish

400g can coconut cream of fresh coconut milk

2 tablespoons chopped coriander

Mix together garlic, chillies, spices, tamarind or shrimp paste and 120ml oil. Place fish in a shallow dish and spoon marinade over. Turn fish, cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Heat remaining oil in a large, heavy -based frying pan. Add fish in batches and cook for one minute on each side. Return all fish to the pan, reduce heat to low and add any remaining marinade and coconut cream. Season with salt and pepper. Cool gently for three to five minutes or until fish is cooked through and flakes easily. If sauce is runny, lift fish out of pan and simmers sauce for few minutes until it thickens. Then return fish to pan. Garnish with fresh coriander.
Old 10-06-2006, 08:56 AM   #3 (permalink)

Aloo gobi

Recipe for four servings:

3 tablespoons oil

11/2 teaspoons mustard seeds

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1/2 each red, yellow and green peppers, chopped

4 potatoes cubed

1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

11/2 teaspoons garam masala

1 large cauliflower, cut into florets

250g mushrooms

2cm piece ginger, peeled and grated

1 teaspoon sugar

1 cup water

Salt and pepper to taste.

Heat oil in a heavy-based saucepan. Add mustard seeds, cover pan and wait for seeds to pop. Add onion and peppers and sautZ until onions are translucent. Add potatoes and fry until golden-brown. Add turmeric, cumin, coriander and garam masala to pan. Fry for a few seconds, stirring until spices are well mixed.

Add cauliflower and mushrooms and fry until brown. Stir in ginger, sugar and water and seasons with salt to taste. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Serve with papadums or on rice.
Old 10-06-2006, 09:37 AM   #4 (permalink)

Butter chicken

Recipe for six to eight servings

1 cup plain yoghurt

2 cm piece ginger, grated

3 garlic cloves, crushed

75 g blanched almonds

3 tablespoons chicken curry masala

1/2 teaspoon chilli powder

1/4 teaspoons ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon garam masala

4 cardamom pod, lightly crushed

410g can dropped tomatoes

11/2 teaspoons salt

1kg chicken breasts, cubed

4 tablespoons butter

1 onion, thinly sliced

6 tables spoons fresh coriander, chopped

Mixed yoghurt, ginger, garlic, almonds, curry masala, chilli powder, ground cloves, ground cinnamon, garam masala, cardamom pods, chopped tomatoes and salt together in a large bowl.

Add chicken pieces and stir to coat thoroughly. Cover and marinade for two hours or overnight in the fridge. Heat butter in a saucepan, add onion and sautZ until translucent. Add chicken mixture and stir-fry for five minutes or until browned.

Pre-heat oven to 180OC. Place chicken in an ovenproof dish and bake for one hour or until chicken is brown a little on top and sauce has thickened. Serve over cooked rice.
Old 10-06-2006, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)

the Jamaican one is better...but this aint bad

Indian curry chicken

Recipe

3 tablespoons tomato sauce

3 tablespoons plain yoghurt

1 cup water

1 inch cube ginger

2 tablespoons water

4 cloves garlic

1 cut-up, skinned chicken

2 bay leaves

3 tablespoons oil

1 cinnamon stick

5 cardamom pods (green if available)

5 whole cloves

1 teaspoon hot pepper flakes

1 teaspoon turmeric

1 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon lemon juice.

Mix the tomatoes sauce, yoghurt and water and set aside. Blend the garlic, ginger and water until smooth. Brown the chicken pieces in the oil, remove the chicken from skillet and lower the heat. Add the cinnamon stick, bay leaves, cardamom pod cloves and hot pepper flakes. Stir for 30 seconds. Add the garlic, ginger paste and turmeric. Stir for one minute. Add tomato mixture, salt, pepper and lemon juice and stir. Add chicken, cover and simmer for 30 minutes, turning chicken for a few times. Serve with plain rice.
Old 10-06-2006, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)

this is real good...

Chicken masala

Recipe

1 kg chicken

4 tablespoon curd (plain yoghurt)

1 teaspoon turmeric powder

1 cup onion, finely chopped

1 teaspoon ginger powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 teaspoons chilli powder

2 teaspoons coriander powder

1/4 cup oil

Salt to taste

Water

Cut chicken into pieces and marinate with curd and salt, keep aside for an hour.

Heat oil and fry turmeric. Add onion and fry till light brown. Add ginger and garlic mixed in a tablespoon of water and stir well. Add chilli and coriander mixed in four tablespoons water. Stir well until the oil comes out clear. Add the chicken and sufficient water to make good sauce. Cover and let cook on heat till chicken is done. Remove from fire and serve.
Old 10-06-2006, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

NOT AGAIN
IS UR FRIEND NAMED YAHOO BY ANY CHANCE?
Old 10-06-2006, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)

I said my Indian girlfriend gave it to me....

Originally Posted by askimoli
NOT AGAIN
Old 10-07-2006, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 19,884.00
Rep Power: 214711 OuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legendOuSyr is a legend

NOT AGAIN

Lol.....
OuSyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Awaits Alhajibabasheri to come from his Ramadan fast
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 10-08-2006, 08:31 PM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

NOT AGAIN
this babe is heartless freal

Old 10-09-2006, 12:19 PM   #12 (permalink)

haters.....